The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster

Remove ads with our VIP Service

Share This Page

Andrew Lloyd Webber's Phantom of the Opera
Academy Award® Nominee
Based on the stage musical, a disfigured musical genius haunts the catacombs beneath the Paris Opera, waging a reign of terror over its occupants.

Starring Gerard Butler, Emmy Rossum, Patrick Wilson...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Dec 26, 2004
Dec 30, 2004
Dec 31, 2004
Dec 31, 2004
Despite the critics' displeasure with the movie format and their "chemistry-of-the-lovers-doesn't-work" lines, this film is wonderful! You'd have to be a stone not to be moved by the lyrics. Because it is a film, you SEE the story more and understand what the lyrics mean. Miranda Richardson (Christine) and Minnie Driver (Carlota) are excellent!

There are a few flaws: the Phantom should probably be a better singer and were he more handsome, you could appreciate Christine's struggle better. By far, the best scenes are the snowy rooftop scene and the organ blasting away when the chandelliar is revived. And the music in the film is just as incredible as it is on stage. Man, if this is low-brow, as some critics are saying, let's have some more! Finally, Miranda Richardson was gorgeous!
Jan 1, 2005
Jan 1, 2005
I sure don't know what movie Mr. James Berardinelli (the Featured Movie Critic) saw, but it sure wasn't the same movie I saw. The acting by everyone (including Gerard Butler) is superb, the singing (with the exception of Gerard Butler) fantastic, the sets unbelievable and the music unforgettable! Joel Schumacher, the director, did exactly what he should have done directing this film. I did find it a trifle long but never boring. I want to see it again! Oh yes, Emmy Rossum is perfect as Christine.
Jan 2, 2005
This movie is good, and usually I don't care for musicals, due to their corniness. So, naturally, because musicals are corny, this one definitely had its parts. However, I put this one above others I've seen, due to a good storyline and a dark feel. It's not typical: The songs aren't happy and peppy. Keep in mind that this is an opera. But the story is good overall, and I liked it. However, I'm not sure if most guys would feel the same. Dare I say, chick flick? But maybe not. ;)
Jan 7, 2005
If you like watching a movie where all of the actors sing their lines from beginning to end this movie should be considered a "See Now".
But if your like me and have a hard time watching a movie that has no talking....it's a "Good".
The music is beautiful and the story is nice.
This movie is made to see on the big screen so if you like musicals...see it soon.
Jan 11, 2005
Excellent movie! I'm going out to get the soundtrack. Enjoy it at the big screen.
Jan 26, 2005
The third remake of "Phantom of the Opera" is a stunning movie based on the broadway hit. The film is beautiful to look at and is loyal to the Broadway musical. Minnie Driver is great as the spolied opera singer, but it was Emmy Rossam that got me notice. A wonderful film. It phantastic!
Feb 15, 2005
It's the BEST and it and the music is addictive. Seen it 4 times and still in AW. It won't be the same on tv, so would go see it on the BIG screen NOW.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Andrew Lloyd Webber's Phantom of the Opera.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2016, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook