Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Traffic
Academy Award® Winner
A film from director Steven Soderbergh (Erin Brockovich, Out of Sight), following the high stakes and high risks of the drug trade, as seen through a series of interrelated stories, some of which are...  View more >

Starring Michael Douglas, Don Cheadle, Benicio Del Toro...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 16, 2001
A gorgeous, difficult and sometimes painful film of intertwining stories related to America's war on drugs.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 18, 2001
Traffic presents the war on drugs in America from 3 different perspectives - the US government, the foreign cartel, and the the US drug smuggler.

The gritty reality will certainly shock some moviegoers, but I would actually encourage parents to take their teenagers to this movie. Drug addiction is not cool, and the depiction of drug use by Erika Christensen, who plays Michael Douglas' daughter in the film, is frighteningly real.

The ensemble cast features excellent performances by Benicio Del Toro as a Mexican police officer, and Don Cheadle and Luis Guzman as DEA agents.

I especially enjoyed Soderbergh's use of lense filters and lighting, which really contributed to the moods of the scenes.

While the movie clocks in at almost 2.5 hours, the action and suspense of Simon Moore's script will keep you on the edge of your seat. See it in the theaters so you understand why it will win the Oscar for Best Film this year.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 31, 2001
good movie
[--- Good ---]by  
Feb 3, 2001
An intense and realistic look at drug trafficing. This not a light featherly movie. If you are looking for a serious well acted movie. This would be the one to see.
Feb 13, 2001
"Traffic" is a powerful story told by three points of views. Each point of view is more heartbreaking than the other two.

One such story deals with a drug czar played by Michael Douglas, who must deal with his druggie daughter at home. This film serves as a sad commentary on why were losing the drug war.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Mar 16, 2001
To quote Keanu Reeves..."Whoa"

A must see!
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Mar 17, 2001
What a spectacular film!

"Traffic" is one of the most daring, moving, and startling pieces of filmmaking i've seen come out of the Hollywood machine in a long time. Steven Soderbergh (the man behind "Sex, Lies, and Videotapes" and the other Oscar surefire of the year, "Erin Brockovich") just keeps getting stronger and stronger in his filmmaking techniques. even the cast's unimpressive actors, such as Michael Douglas and his wife Catherine Zeta-Jones, turn out superb performances in this film.

"Traffic," based on the idea of a British TV mini-series, shows us various points of view on the country's "war against drugs" and where we stand on the issue. it's multiple storylines are beautifully woven together buy designated film stocks all having different color tints (i.e. one storyline is presented in blue tinted stock, and other in pink, etc.). Along with the gorgeous cinematography shot by Soderbergh himself (who was not only signed on as a writer and director but was also the film's director of photography) this film could very well be his masterpiece.

*a warning to those who may be intolerant to any threat of being somewhat cultured!* portions of this film are subtitled which means, yes, you will have to read (god forbid).
Mar 28, 2001
I guess I must have seen a different movie than the rest of you. This one was slow, the acting so-so, and the story, I forget what was it again. And what was with the grainy off color parts of the film?
Apr 4, 2001
A very character driven movie with strong, well acted characters. With Benicio Del Toro and Catherine Zeta-Jones delivering by far the most comprehensive performances.

This is a gripping and chilling account of drug trafficking as seen from 4 different points of view. Clever psychological undertones and classy direction combine so well that you just won’t notice the 2.5hrs the movie runs for.

I thought that the decision to change the style of the film whenever they went to Mexico was brilliant. It served to illustrate the contrast between the humid desolation and despondency of Mexico with the bright, breezy ‘land of opportunity’ lifestyle of America very effectively.

Quite possibly a future ‘Milestone’ in movie making history.

9/10 glenk@foxit.com.au (Feel free to contact me)

Unauthorized publication or distribution without the consent of Glen Kimberley is actively encouraged. (As long as you let me know) I will not track you down, kill your family, rape your dog, burn your house down or bang a supermarket trolley into your car door.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Apr 15, 2001
One of the best drams to come out in a while, Traffic is a depressing movie but a very good one.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jun 16, 2001
Don't get me wrong this is a great movie and should definitely be seen. I just thought that it would be the same if you saw it on the bigscreen compared to renting it, because there was nothing that would make it really good on the big screen, like sound effects or action.

At first I didn't know what to expect of the movie but it ended up being really interesting! There was alot of just talking but it wasn't boring. I liked how you could see everything in the acting that was going on even if they weren't talking, great acting by all the actors!!!

I also liked some of the camera techniques they used, like putting in a yellow filter for whenever it took place in mexico.
May 21, 2003
Oct 13, 2012

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Traffic.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2017, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook