The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now


Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Wednesday, March 31st, 1999

Directed by Gil Junger

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
10 Things I Hate About You
Strict rules in the Stratford household preclude pretty and popular Bianca (Larisa Oleynik), from dating until her older sister Kat (Julia Stiles), an ill-tempered harridan, has a boyfriend.  View more >

PG-13
crude sex-related humor and dialogue, alcohol and drug-related scenes, all involving teens.

Starring Heath Ledger, Julia Stiles, Joseph Gordon-Levitt...  View more >

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for 10 Things I Hate About You.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by Arielle Elizabeth Berghammer Jan 25, 2000

10 Things I Hate About You is probobly one of the best films I ever paid to get in to. It will make you laugh maybe even cry(I did)and if you get really in to movies you'll want to be hiding under your chair half the movie because it's like "Oh, my God I can't belive they just did that!" or "They are going to be so humiliated!" But it is not all laughs, Kat and Bionca went through a couple of hard, sad times in the movie, too. So, if you're in for a barrel of fun and laughs go see 10 Things I Hate About You! Moms and Dads don't worry it's only PG13 who knows you might like it, too. So, don't waste you money on some film you know nothig about, see 10 Things I Hate About You now!!!
By:Arielle Elizabeth Berghammer

 

[--- Good ---]by Mark Welch Jan 25, 2000

1999ís already been a good year for teen comedies and it's just April! Hereís another one that made me laugh. Itís an extremely loose updating of "Taming of the Shrew" and is highlighted by a colorful supporting cast. The adult characters in the film are hilarious (particularly Katís father and Ms. Perky), a welcome change of pace from anyone over the age of twenty-five being a one-dimensional buffoon. Stay through the end credits for some pretty funny outtakes.

10-point scale rating: 7

 

[--- Stay Away! ---]by MAC DADDY Jan 25, 2000

AHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!! Not another one! Please Stop with the teen flicks already. That the only movies came out in 1999 like Varsity Blues, Carrie 2 , Cruel Intentions , Never been kiss, and the upcoming movie American Pie (Which will be the same thing too).

This movie should have been called "10 Things Why I can't think up new ideas". The entire movie felt like a huge re-run that I've already seen in the few years ago. I just don't understand why they ruined a great Shakespeare tale by turning it around into a crappy little teeny bopper flick which is unoriginal. If you want a great shakespeare movie, Go watch Shakespeare in Love instead. And Stay Away at all movies that have teens in them. Because they SUCKED! I am getting way too tired of the same things over and over again. What is hollywood thinking?

What a waste of time?

No Stars

 

[--- Good ---]by NateDogg Jan 25, 2000

laugh riot, 99 remake of Shakespeare's "Taming Of The Srew" is destined to be a keeper. Don't be fooled by looks, this movie is a blast!

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Suzy Jan 25, 2000

This movie was great! I would mostly reccomend it for teens, but I think anyone would really enjoy it. It's the funniest, happiest, cutest movie that I've seen in a long time! See it! And girls... watch for the long haired boy, he's a cutie!! : )

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Jenny Zlotocha Jan 25, 2000

It was relly good. I saw it twice and it has been out for like 3 weekends. If you haven't seen this movie you have to see it. Some people say it is bad but in my opinion it is the coolest movie.

 

[--- Good ---]by Anna Jan 25, 2000

This fun, modern update of Shakepeare's "Taming of the Shrew" was absolutely worth the $$$ to see it in the theatre. Although it is being compared to some of the other 'teen' flicks that are surfacing right now like "Varsity Blues" and "She's All That," it stands above them in one crucial way: it has good acting. Julia Stiles was totally believable in her portrayal of Kat, the "Shrew" of Padua High and Heath Ledger's metamorphosis from loner to lover is well-done. Larisa Oleynik of "Alex Mack" is airheaded, vacucous and rather substanceless altogether--exactly the way I always imagined Bianca. Joseph Gordon-Levitt is as sweetly vulnerable as Andrew Keegan is jerkfaced and manipulative. It was true to life and very, very funny. I highly recommend it to people who are currently coupled, since I (boyfriendless) felt more than a little depressed to be flying solo after seeing this movie. All in all, a great flick.

 

[--- See Now! ---]by Megan Jan 25, 2000

Hi! I'm Megan and I'm a teenager. This movie was really good. Carrie 2 (R) is a horror flick, cruel intentions (R) is meant for adults, but draws kids to it because of its teen-idol actors, varsity blues (R) has to do with teen struggles and the life of a country jock, Never been kissed (PG-13)is a flick that anyone would enjoy. Sure, these movies are ones that teens are going to see and are paying for at the theaters, but they are not like this one. This one shows you how life is in high school. (for some.) It is mostly a teen flick. people who are teens would probably completely understand or would feel cofortable in the movie more than an adult. If the parent goes with you, your teen might not feel comfortable. This movie made me think that if my mom was in the theater with me, she'd probably ask me a lot of questions. I saw this movie with a friend and there were many teens in the movie. A lot of people laughed. I think that you teenagers out there should go see this flick!

 

[--- Good ---]by Beth N. Jan 25, 2000

this movie was very good. though not as good as the recent Notting Hill : )i found this movie to be cute, and very entertaining. a very good date movie.

 

[--- Good ---]by Erik Carollo Jan 25, 2000

Finally a teen flick that doesn't fall into all the usual cliches. Sure theres a few, but they're the ones we've come to expect all the time. This time its more than just guy meets girl, guy likes girl, girl likes other guy. The writing is extremely well done and the cast is terrific. An otherwise corny singing scene is made likable by the charm of the cast. This is a good film with some very funny moments.

Rated- PG13-for language, and sexual dialogue

 

[--- Good ---]by Bryan Jan 25, 2000

A pleasant surprise with a lot more to offer than an average high school romantic comedy. The acting was enjoyable, especially from the father and oldest daughter. I've spent $7 in more foolish ways and went home feeliong like I'd seen a good movie, not just two hours of something on film.

 

[--- Good ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberMay 31, 2003

Ten reason why I like "10 Things I Hate About You." 1) Julia Stiles breakthough performance. 2) Heath Ledger's breakthough performance. 3) Girl Bands. 4)Ledger's sernade in from of Stiles on the football field. 5)Stilles' attitiude. 6) Great direction by Gil Junger, 7) Smart Screenplay by Karen McCullah and Kristen Smith, 8)Better than most teen movies, 9) The Best Teen movie of that period. 10) See it more than once. (I saw it twice) 




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.