The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, March 8th, 2013

Directed by Sam Raimi
Genre: SciFi/Fantasy
Running Time: 2:07

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Oz The Great and Powerful
Disney's fantastical adventure, Oz The Great and Powerful, directed by Sam Raimi, imagines the origins of L. Frank Baum's beloved character, the Wizard of Oz. When Oscar Diggs (James Franco), a...  View more >

PG
sequences of action and scary images, and brief mild language

Starring Mila Kunis, James Franco, Michelle Williams...  View more >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  5 56 See Now! Percent
Good  4 44 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  0 0 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  0 0 Stay Away! Percent
9 Total Reviews

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by   Mar 10, 2013
I can see how it would have been great in 3D. The colors, adventure and the story line explains so much about how OZ became. Nice guys to vilians. Very cool! it keeps you on the edge of your seat. Who could ask for more.
[--- Good ---]by   Mar 12, 2013
[--- Good ---]by   Mar 13, 2013
One of the best 3- D movies I have seen, most rant worth the extra $$.
[--- See Now! ---]by   Mar 14, 2013
Wow! Are the reviewers wrong about this 3D film. We saw it and it was great. The 3D effects were some of the best we have seen. Scenery, action, pace, acting, laughter was above reproach. IT IS GREAT! SEE IT IN 3D. Outstanding.
[--- Good ---]by VIP Member Mar 14, 2013
I entered the movie theatre not expecting much. "Oz:The Great and Powerful" is the prequel to the classic 1939 movie inwhich it is on the list of the greatest movies of all time. Although "Oz" doesn't make the list, it had enough good moments to give a Good vote. James Franco plays the great Oz and I didn't expect him to do much. He's a con man who works at carvival who uses his technology to liberate the Oz from two wicked witches played by Mila Kunis and Rachel Weisz. The film like the 1939 started out as Black and White, then switches to color. There are a lot of connections between the 1939 film and the new movie. That makes watching this movie a lot easiler. Who's the most valuable performer (MVP) of this movie? It's not James Franco, who does a good job of being Oz. Not Mila Kunis, who I love her outfit. (I couldn't stop looking at it) Not Rachel Weisz, but Michelle Williams who as Gilda, who comes off as very appealing. I also love the little girl. She's the best thing in the movie. I saw the movie in 3D. Not because I want to, but because I haven't saw a 3D movie since "Hugo." I could've seen the movie in regular 2D or IMAX or dBox. In any format, I come away with the same response.
[--- See Now! ---]by   Mar 16, 2013
[--- See Now! ---]by   Apr 13, 2013
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP Member Apr 21, 2013
This is one of the best movies of the summer. The visuals are beautiful and the story is magnificent. You can really see this as a prequel to The Wizard of Oz. I saw this in 3D and it was good 3D, but as usual, I would have rather seen it in 2D.
[--- Good ---]by   Jun 21, 2013

Reader VoiceMake Your Voice Heard!

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Oz The Great and Powerful.




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.