The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Wednesday, December 21st, 2011

Directed by David Fincher
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 2:40

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo
Academy Award® Winner
The first in a three-picture adaptation of Stieg Larsson's literary blockbuster The Millennium Trilogy. Directed by David Fincher and starring Daniel Craig and Rooney Mara, the film is based on...  View more >

R
brutal violent content including rape and torture, strong sexuality, graphic nudity, and language

Starring Daniel Craig, Rooney Mara, Stellan Skarsgård...  View more >

Academy Award® winner for:
* Film Editing

Academy Award® nominated for:
* Rooney Mara - Actress in a Leading Role
* Cinematography
*...
View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  6 50 See Now! Percent
Good  5 42 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  1 8 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  0 0 Stay Away! Percent
12 Total Reviews

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Good ---]by  Dec 26, 2011
It was good. The Swedish version is much better. (You can get it from your local library) It was kind of hard to understand the actress playing Lisbeth- it sounded as if she had a mouth full of marbles.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 27, 2011
I think this was as good an interpretation of the book as the Swedish version. I like it a lot! Rooney Mara is much more sexy in this that was Noomi Rapace in the Swedish version, not because Noomi wasn't sexy, just that's just how they played this character in the US version.

The story is essentially the same as the Swedish version but with some, I think, minor changes. I liked many differences with the US version but I found the Swedish version a bit more suspenseful and melodramatic. I loved the musical opening of this movie. I think one should see both versions of this story. I will see this movie again as I have the Swedish picture.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 28, 2011
An outstanding adaptation of an outstanding novel. Rooney Mara nails the character of Lisbeth Slander and propels the movie forward with high energy. A brutal, suspenseful, and excellent movie.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 2, 2012
[--- Good ---]by  Jan 2, 2012
[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberJan 3, 2012
I would love the see the wedish verison of "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo," but I'll have to settle with this version. And it's a good movie, even for those like me who have never saw the Swedish version. It goes like this; two people were reunited over a series of brutal murders of young women. And they must find out who. Daniel Craig's performance is fine, but I love the performance from Rooney Mara. She play a beautiful character despite the weird hair, the tattoos and the nose rings. It's a good movie, but I would rather see the Swedish version of the movie.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 4, 2012
I read the book first and thought that they did a good job on this movie. They manage to keep the people who did not read the book from asking "What does that mean?" It kept me and my friend (who did not read the book) on the edge of our seats. Very graphic.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Jan 7, 2012
[--- Good ---]by  Jan 12, 2012
Very well done and acted, I thought better than the orginal.
[--- Good ---]by  Feb 4, 2012
Good movie can't wait for the next one from the trilogy to come out
[--- See Now! ---]by  Feb 7, 2012
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP MemberFeb 20, 2012
This film gets a solid "A.." When you are captured by almost every scene and you are transported to Sweden and caught up in a rich family's plots...and you're not even aware that you're in a theater, that's a very good film. If you read the book beforehand, it helps you see who are the "good" guys and who are the "bad" guys.

Reader VoiceMake Your Voice Heard!

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo.




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.