The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now


Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, January 11th, 2013

Directed by Kathryn Bigelow

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Zero Dark Thirty
Academy Award® Winner
For a decade, an elite team of intelligence and military operatives, working in secret across the globe, devoted themselves to a single goal: to find and eliminate Osama bin Laden. Zero Dark...  View more >

R
strong violence including brutal disturbing images, and for language

Starring Jessica Chastain, Chris Pratt, Joel Edgerton...  View more >

Limited Release: 12/19/2012
Wide Release: 1/11/2013

formerly Untitled Kathryn Bigelow Project

Academy Award® winner for:
* Sound...
View more information about this movie >


Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Zero Dark Thirty.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by wetback39906 Jan 14, 2013
[--- See Now! ---]by BigScreen Reader Jan 16, 2013

Outstanding film....starts off a little slow but people are making too much out of this statement of whether the movie states that torture worked...I didn't think the movie made a statement either way...in the end, movie says real source was hidden away in 5 year old files anyway...movie really got going when they started tracking the messanger and it was facisnating to watch the developments after that..I was a little surprised to see the seal teams being such a ragged group of cowboys...really thought they would have been much more disciplined and the actual combat scenes seemed very disorganized and chaotic...it was portrayed in the news as being very precise..but that's not what the movie shows..anyway, great movie and well worth the 2.5 hours effort to get through it all. 

[--- See Now! ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberJan 16, 2013

When I heard about a movie being developed that surround the killing of Osama Bin Laden, I asked myself, "So Soon?" But then I I got to see the movie and it was amazing. Director Kathryn Bigelow has put together a powerful movie about the CIA hunt for Laden. The fiulm opens with the sound of people in those towers after the planes has been hit. One onman asked on the phone, "Am I goinbg to die?" before the line went dead. Then the movie proceed to the scenes of torture which may or may not have anything to do with the movie. I watch the news and I learned that torture is useless in situations like that. Getting the criticism out of the way, I found it very entertaining. Jessica Chastain lead a powerful performance as Maya, I woman who leads the CIA efforts in killing Laden. The final hour is pretty intense. We heard on the news about the killing, but as we learned in this movie, it's not as easily as you think. Chastain deserves that Oscar nomination as Best Actress. This is straight out powerful movie. I learned more out of that movie, than from news reports.  

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by richardbrowne VIP MemberJan 18, 2013

Not much happens in this film. A story of a low-level CIA agent who puts together intel to find Osama's courier. The raid, the last 15 minutes, is exciting, but do you ever have to work to get there. 

[--- Good ---]by Ron Higgins VIP MemberJan 24, 2013

Seen after it was nominated for Best Picture, but before the ceremony.

I found the film to be very good, and it kept my attention the whole way through, and I never once felt the movie drag, or looked at the time.

For the most part, we all know the major events this film includes. But what I didn't know is how UBL was found, and all the time and persistence that was put into finding him. The film tells that story very well.

While I wouldn't tell anyone that they must run out and see it, I did find it very good, and would recommend it to those that have an interest. 

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by Wordslinger Feb 17, 2013

You already know the outcome -- OBL gets shot in the end. The story centers on a CIA agent who spends several years of her life trying to find where bin Ladin is hiding. She has no family, no children, no lover (except herself) and is Totally dedicated to finding bin Ladin ... unfortunately the film never tells us why. Maya, as she's called is continually beaten down by her CIA superiors, and we go from one intel frustration to another ... yawn.

In the ending we get a choreographed full on SEAL swat team busting into bin Ladin's digs, complete with four-tube night vision devices (it's another swat team assault like we've seen dozens of time on TV). Maya and her mates don't shrink from torturing suspected terrorists -- just like in real life.

To tell the truth, I had a very hard time knowing just who to root for in this flic. The Jihadists and CIA agents are equally committed to winning and killing each other, and both sides believe their actions are morally justified.

One word works best to describe this film: Yawn. 

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by Sinamax Jun 1, 2013

Very poor acting. Slow so painfully slow story. 




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.