The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

© Copyright 2013 - Lions Gate Entertainment
.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, November 22nd, 2013

Directed by Francis Lawrence
Genre: Action/Adventure
Running Time: 2:26

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
The Hunger Games: Catching Fire
The film adaptation of the second book in Suzanne Collins' runaway bestselling HUNGER GAMES trilogy. Katniss Everdeen has returned home safe after winning the 74th Annual Hunger Games along with...  View more >

PG-13
intense sequences of violence and action, some frightening images, thematic elements, a suggestive situation and language

Starring Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson, Liam Hemsworth...  View more >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  2 29 See Now! Percent
Good  4 57 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  1 14 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  0 0 Stay Away! Percent
7 Total Reviews

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The Hunger Games: Catching Fire.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Good ---]by VIP Member Nov 26, 2013
The Hunger Games series continues to burn bright in "The Hunger Games: Catching Fire," The sequel picks where the first movie left off when Jennifer Lawrence and Josh Hutcherson wen on a victory tour. While they are doing thatm resistance is seen though the district, mainly in District 12 when armies are entering the area to bring down the resistance. Frankly, I'm more intrest in the resistance, than in the 75th Hunger Games. What has happened in the end will get viewers to gear up for the next Hunger Games movie. Jennifer Lawrence is still the real reason why I'm watching the series. At the end of the second movie, The Hunger Games are in a much better position than the Twlight series at the end of it's second movie. I'm looking froward to the third movie of the series. And I'm not say that to every upcoming sequel.
[--- See Now! ---]by   Dec 1, 2013
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP Member Dec 3, 2013
Catching Fire is a great follow-up to the first movie, and it holds it's own, even though it's in the often-awkward middle position in the larger storyline. The tone and style is very similar to the first, so you are given familiar characters and settings to start with.

Most people watching this movie have already read the books (probably multiple times) but I am judging the movies as standalone entities, so I can't vouch for how close to the book this movie stays. Fortunately for people like me, the books aren't required reading to enjoy the movies.

That being the case, I was a little concerned about how they were going to have yet another Hunger Games competition and not have it be a rehash of the first. Without giving anything away, I am happy to report that they were able to keep it fresh and interesting. The setup for the third and fourth movies (that are following the Harry Potter theme of dividing the last installment in two) is well-done but leaves the viewer wanting more but having to wait until November 2014 to get it.

To prepare for seeing this movie, we watched the first the night before, so everything in that movie was fresh in our minds. If the next two movies follow suit, the series will make for great marathon watching sessions.

We really enjoyed Catching Fire, so regardless of whether or not you're familiar with the books, I think you'll enjoy it if you liked the first. I'm looking forward to next November!
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by   Dec 3, 2013
[--- Good ---]by   Jan 8, 2014
[--- Good ---]by   Mar 20, 2014
I liked this one better than the 1st one which I never did figure out what all the hype over it was about! At least in this one there was no killing of children as in the 1st, which is a big plus right away! There was a very slow, rather boring start to this movie and I thought it was going to be long and drawn out but the time went very fast and it left a good feeling at the end and left me wanting to see the next one.
[--- Good ---]by   Apr 24, 2014



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.