The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now


Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, June 21st, 2013

Directed by Marc Forster

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
World War Z
A U.N. employee (Brad Pitt) traverses the world in a race against time to stop a pandemic that is toppling armies and governments and threatening to decimate humanity itself.  View more >

PG-13
intense frightening zombie sequences, violence and disturbing images

Starring Brad Pitt, Bryan Cranston, Mireille Enos...  View more >

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for World War Z.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Good ---]by wetback39906 Jun 23, 2013
[--- Good ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberJun 26, 2013

If I were you, I wouldn't compare "World War Z" to "Warm Bodies." Yes, they're both Zombie movies, but when it comes to content, they're miles apart. "Warn Bodies" is a little light, but "World War Z" takes itself seriously. The mvoie is a cross between "28 Days Later" and "Comtagion." Brad Pitt (who plays ans ex-Unitred Nations Invesigator) and his family were on a trip when I group of zombiues are on the rampage. After escaping their wrath, he must be sent to save the plant from the zombie rampage. My favorite scene in the m,ovie involves the zombies climbing over each other to get to the top. Pitt gave it a good performance. I'll continue to say it, he's the Robert Redford of our film gernation. "World War Z" isnm't the best zombie movie ever, but somehow, I like the movie.  

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by andy Jun 27, 2013

Starts off good then fizzle's out to be a b movie 

[--- See Now! ---]by BigScreen Reader Jul 21, 2013

Very Good! If you love zombie movies then your in for a surprise. This is like "The Walking Dead" on steroids. Very cool effects and story line. Action all the way through. Brad was a little out of his element and could have used better supporting actors. The zombies were good but could have had better kill scenes. Not enough blood and gore for a typical zombie movie in my opinion. Should have shown what they do to their victims, this was not shown. I like to see guts getting ripped out and it wasn't there. Had that sense of "the biography of a plague" to it and Brad never showed any emotion of real fear or "wow that was close". Not his best movie by far and I'm a fan. Go see it. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Momof3boys Jul 27, 2013

My son and I really enjoyed this movie! 

[--- Good ---]by Thomsec Aug 26, 2013

Good movie but as previously mentioned-it fizzles out at the end. For such a large scale problem, it is hard to imagine any miracle quick-fix cure to the zombie plague. Enter Hollywood. This being said, it was probably Brad Pitt's best performance since Legends of the Fall. 

[--- Good ---]by BigScreen Reader Aug 29, 2013

good acting and awesome special effects make for a good and tense movie that was worth seeing on the big screen. 

[--- Good ---]by Scott Jentsch VIP MemberOct 10, 2013

World War Z had all the trappings of a big-budget action movie (big star, big budget, and lots of hype leading up to its release), and that probably hurt it more than anything. If it had been a simpler production, on the order of District 9, 28 Days, or even I Am Legend, I think it would have been even more enjoyable because it wasn't trying to be something it wasn't.

That said, it is what it is, so is it any good? It's a procedural thriller, with some good zombie action scenes. There are plot holes that you could drive a truck through if you think about it too much, but that's the case with most such movies. The ending was a little rushed, but I thought it hit all its marks pretty well.

I went into the movie with low expectations, but I enjoyed the movie. It might even be better on a second viewing so I may take another look on Blu-ray. 




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.