The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now


Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, October 11th, 2013

Directed by Paul Greengrass

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Captain Phillips
Academy Award® Nominee
Director Paul Greengrass's multi-layered examination of the 2009 hijacking of the U.S. container ship Maersk Alabama by a crew of Somali pirates. The film focuses on the relationship between the...  View more >

PG-13
sustained intense sequences of menace, some violence with bloody images, and for substance use

Starring Tom Hanks, Barkhad Abdi, Max Martini...  View more >

Based upon the book, A Captain's Duty: Somali Pirates, Navy SEALs, and Dangerous Days at Sea, by Richard Phillips with Stephan Talty.
View more information about this movie >


Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Captain Phillips.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Good ---]by George Jobson VIP Member Oct 17, 2013
This movie is based on the true story of a ture American hero who risk his life to defend his ship and his crew against Somalia Pirates. Hanks plays the Captain and he did it very well. I like this movie, but I didn't outright like this movie. Hanks performance could get him another Academy Award for best actor. Last Sunday I saw the real Captain Phillips on TMZ. Sorry if I gave away the ending.
[--- See Now! ---]by art  Oct 21, 2013
exciting realistic
[--- See Now! ---]by BigScreen Reader  Nov 15, 2013
[--- Good ---]by wetback39906  Nov 17, 2013
[--- See Now! ---]by Lynn Locklear  Dec 4, 2013
The pirates steal the show. should get AA.
[--- See Now! ---]by Scott Jentsch VIP Member Dec 5, 2013
When a movie is headlined by Tom Hanks, I have certain expectations going in, and I'm happy to report that I was not disappointed!

Hanks gives a great performance as the captain of a cargo ship that is boarded and overtaken by Somali pirates. The casting choice here is perfect, because for the drama to be effective, you have to empathize with the captain and his plight, and become emotionally invested in the outcome. What first starts out as a larger peril of the ship and its crew becomes more personal when the circumstances change and the focus is put on personal survival.

I expected an excellent performance from Tom Hanks, but what I didn't expect was an equally good performance from Barkhad Abdi, who plays the leader of the Somali pirates. What could have been a one-dimensional role was turned into one with depth, making the audience empathize with the situation he was in as well as that which he imposed upon the captain and crew of the Maersk Alabama.

With his experience in the first three Bourne movies, director Paul Greengrass knows how to film tense action scenes. Thankfully, his shaky cam isn't as shaky in this movie, but his use of first-person perspective and his ability to use restraint even during the most tense scenes makes the movie even more effective.

I was completely invested into this movie as it came to its final conclusion. I found myself literally on the edge of my seat during some of the scenes, and as the conclusion came, I was very grateful that Navy SEALs exist!
[--- Good ---]by bryteyes44  Mar 5, 2014



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.