The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, September 28th, 2012

Directed by Jason Moore
Genre: Comedy
Running Time: 1:52

Share This Page

Pitch Perfect
Beca (Anna Kendrick) is that girl who'd rather listen to what's coming out of her headphones than what's coming out of you. Arriving at her new college, she finds herself not right for any clique but...  View more >

PG-13
sexual material, language and drug references

Starring Anna Kendrick, Skylar Astin, Brittany Snow...  View more >

In select theaters September 28, 2012, and wider release on its original release date of October 5, 2012
View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  0 0 See Now! Percent
Good  3 60 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  2 40 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  0 0 Stay Away! Percent
5 Total Reviews

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by VIP Member Oct 9, 2012
"Pitch Perfect" reminds me of once be a regular viewer of "Glee" a few years, but into it's second season, I gave up on the series. I no longer care about the character and I dislike the background music which is consist of cappella sound bites. "Pitch Perfect" is a movie that made fun of it's character and putting many popular songs to cappella music, not many of those song had survived. It's just that many of those songs aren't fit for be a cappella song to began with. Many of the characters in the movie are downright lame. One girl who calls herself Fat Amy, another girl can barely talk. One keeps throwing up.These people aren't characters, they are cartoonish secoind rate characters. Only Anna Kendrick's performance is the only thing worth mentioning in the movie. I kept asking myself, why is she doing in the movie? She too good to be in this movie. Two weeks ago, she gave a good performance in "End of Watch," and now she's in this? Their stage dresses look like those that are wore by cocktail waitresses. I know that will be plenty of buss about the movie and people are bound to like the movie. But, I didn't like it. 'Pitch Perfect" is anything but perfect.
[--- Good ---]by   Oct 29, 2012
I'm not sure why I just said good, because I'm planning to see this for the second time, in the theater, this weekend. I truly enjoyed it.

Rebel Wilson is a riot in every movie I've seen her in! Of course this movie isn't going to be for everyone, but I found it funny and entertaining and it had me laughing and singing along. I enjoyed getting to know the characters and rooting for them along the way.

I will definitely buy this movie when it's on DVD.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by VIP Member May 19, 2015
When Elizabeth Banks took over as director of "Pitch Perfect 2" I was hoping for better things, but instead I'm only getting the same results. I might as well rewrite the review of the first pitch perfect movie and add a 2, nobody would notice. Over the past year, I wrote on Facebook and Twitter that I'm going to watch Pitch Perfect 2 because of Anna Kendrick. I made my promise, i saw Pitch Perfect 2 because of Anna Kendrick, I didn't promise that I would like this movie. I'm not going on Facebook and Twitter telling everyboy that I'm going to see Pitch Perfect 2 because of Fat Amy. And Rebel Wilson as Fat Amy is one of the main problems that still exist in the movie. Why must she call herself Fat Amy? In an time where body shamming is an issue, we get someone who prides herself of being called Fat Amy. Another thing I didn't like are the cast. They sound like sitcon rejects. Thge anchorpeople of the a capella comtition played by John Michael Higgins and director Banks, are so air headed they can't even anchor a second rate parade. Anna kendrick is again the onbly good thing that came out of this movie. Se looks mature, professional and she can sing too. I fread somewhere that Fat Amy should get her lown movie. Wrong! Anna Kendrick's character of Beca is the one who should get her own movie. I think she is a wonderful and talented actrress whom i happen to love very much. Added to the cast is hailee Steinfeld who appealing, but doesn't add much o the movie. As for the a capella singing, it depend whatever you're into that sort of music or not. The only song from that moviie from the group is "We Got the World." I heard Kendrick sing a few times. They are the only good moments in the movie.
[--- Good ---]by   May 29, 2015
I will say the best part of the movie for me was the music.

I call it entertaining!

It does have it's funny moments, But the outcome is very predictable. The cameo appearance of the Packers didn't do anything for the movie.
[--- Good ---]by   Jul 12, 2015
Predictable but fun with great music!

Reader VoiceMake Your Voice Heard!

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Pitch Perfect.




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2015, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook