Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
© 2012 Paramount Pictures Corporation All rights reserved
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Star Trek Into Darkness: An IMAX 3D Experience
Academy Award® Nominee
When the crew of the Enterprise is called back home, they find an unstoppable force of terror from within their own organization has detonated the fleet and everything it stands for, leaving our...  View more >

Starring Karl Urban, Zoe Saldana, Chris Pine...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

May 16, 2013
May 18, 2013
Even if you are not into science fiction, specifically Star Trek, this is a captivating film. What's not to like about a face-paced tension-filled story with dazzling special effects. Gene Roddenberry (the deceased creator of Star Trek) would have loved this film. It has the heart-wrenching bonding of Kirk and Spock, the universal struggle of reason (Spock) and emotion (Dr. McCoy), social avant guard pairing of Uhurra and Spock, a clash between good and evil, and pretty people. And the writers did a wonderful job, going outside the box, updating the story to appeal today's audiences.

See it in 3-D!
May 20, 2013
May 20, 2013
The second Star Trek movie is a little better because I believe both trekkies and non-trekkies are getting use to the new crew. The difference between the new and the old crew, besides the point of the new cast, is that the new cast are adjusted to the physical demands. some that limited the ability of the old cast. The crew are assign to take down the villain Khan and when they captured him, more questions arise as to the reason why he was captured. I can't reveal the ending, but this movie has one big surprise after another. After a few misfires from 'Iron Man 3," and "The Great Gatsby," "Star Trek into Darkness" has finally restarted the Summer movie season. This trek is better than the last Trek. I like this movie a lot.
May 21, 2013
Just fantastic. Funny and often breathtaking, with fun references to previous ST movies Trek fans will love. In my opinion, this must be seen on the big screen to get the full effect and scope of the movie.
May 21, 2013
Just fantastic. Funny and dramatic, with awe inspiring scenes you have to see on the big screen.
May 23, 2013
Attended an AMC IMAX (miniMAX) presentation in 3D and thoroughly enjoyed it. I thought the 3D and added depth of field was very good and the picture was so crystal clear you could see reflections in the pupils of peoples eyes.

I knew a little about the storyline going in, but if you're thinking of going, you should be up to speed on the previous installment, as well and the Wrath of Khan movie before seeing this one.

A fine sequel to the 2009 film with lots of classic Trek references and comedic lines thrown in for extra fun. Go see it, you'll enjoy it.
Jun 1, 2013
Jun 11, 2013
Jun 23, 2013
Good movie. Fell behind the first one. They showed lightning doesn't stike in the same place twice. We better see some Klingons in the next one.
Jun 26, 2013
True to its name, this installment is dark, but not any more so than the first one. Any time you have a villain out to take over the world/universe/whatever, bad things are going to happen. Watching the trailer will give you a good idea of the tone of the movie.

If you liked the first of the rebooted series (from 2009), you'll like this installment. It brings with it all the major characters, the relationship between Kirk and the Admiral, and Kirk and the major crew members of the Enterprise, is continued and extended nicely.

This is a JJ Abrams movie, so be prepared for lens flares. Lots of lens flares. I don't remember any jutting out towards the viewer or back into the scene, so in the future, lens flares are flat and completely perpendicular to the viewer.

The IMAX elements of this movie were hard to notice, which is a good thing. Unlike some other IMAX versions of mainstream movies, the switch between the widescreen portions and the taller IMAX-filmed portions were not really noticeable. The picture quality was good, and the IMAX portions didn't exhibit any noticeable increase in detail that made them shout "look, IMAX!"

The sound was very good. I like deep, thunderous bass in action movies (when appropriate), and this movie did not disappoint.

I'm not a fan of 3D, but I do enjoy it from time to time in the right movie. Unfortunately, it's quite difficult to find a movie that's available in 3D in its 2D variation, in the largest and best screens a particular theater has to offer. The same situation was applicable here, where the 2D IMAX version was not available.

There were sequences where the 3D was done to good effect. The beginning and ending credits were especially good, so someone had fun in the computer software that created them. Unfortunately, they were so different from the movie, that the beginning credits created an expectation that wasn't fulfilled afterwards.

Unfortunately, I did notice quite a few scenes where there was ghosting. When a character raised his hand in front of him (defensive posture), his hand was visible twice, just shifted by a couple of inches. My friend sitting next to me didn't notice it, so either I'm more sensitive to it, or my glasses were defective, or maybe it was just bad luck in where I was seated.

The movie itself was very good, and worth a See Now! rating. I look forward to seeing it again when it is released on Blu-ray.
Jul 14, 2013
Aug 21, 2013
Aug 21, 2013
First one was better. Very few space battle scenes and too little CGI. This film could have borrowed a little more CGI from Man of Steel. Relationship between Kirk and Spock is explored more heavily which helps, but the entire film drags with alot of cliche fist-fights with very few surprises.
Dec 1, 2016
When I initially saw this movie in an IMAX 3D theater, I gave it a See Now! rating, and now having seen it again without the very large IMAX screen and 3D imagery, it's interesting to reflect on my original comments and how they compare to my recent impression.

This movie is an event, blockbuster movie. Exactly the kind of movie that IMAX and 3D excel at presenting. Take away those embellishments, however, and now the movie has to stand more steadily on its other merits, such as acting performances and the screenplay.

As Star Trek movies go, this one isn't too bad in those departments. Everyone does a decent job and moves the story along without embarrassing themselves. Benedict Cumberbatch is drastically underused, given his better performances in other movies. Then there's that cringe-worthy moment of Alice Eve in her underwear for no good reason.

The story holds up pretty well. You have an arrogant Captain Kirk that gets his wings clipped because he isn't ready for "the chair" only to get his big chance to prove his worth not only to others, but to himself. You have the development of the relationship between Kirk and Spock. And you have the obvious villian, and one that's not so obvious. When you think about it, it's probably one of the more complex Star Trek movies.

If you're a Star Trek fan, this is a worthy installment. If you've not seen the 2009 JJ Abrams reboot, see that before seeing this one. It explains some things that contributes to the gravitas of some of the plotlines here.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Star Trek Into Darkness: An IMAX 3D Experience.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2016, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook