The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, August 16th, 2013

Directed by Lee Daniels
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 2:12

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Lee Daniels' The Butler
The story of a White House butler who served eight American presidents over three decades. The film traces the dramatic changes that swept American society during this time, from the civil rights...  View more >

PG-13
some violence and disturbing images, language, sexual material, thematic elements and smoking

Starring Forest Whitaker, Oprah Winfrey, John Cusack...  View more >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  4 50 See Now! Percent
Good  0 0 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  3 38 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  1 13 Stay Away! Percent
8 Total Reviews

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Lee Daniels' The Butler.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Great acting overall and interesting story with light coverage of historical events that moves along at good pace and leaves you feeling good about being an American after reflecting on past racial inequities that have improved for blacks and people of color.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Aug 25, 2013
More of a documentary?

I didn't know JFK and Jackie were so short?

And I cannot see a movie w/people suffering.

You might have a different opinion and like the movie.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Aug 27, 2013
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by VIP MemberAug 29, 2013
A film on the life of a bulter should have been made much better, but it's not. Lee Daniels did a lukewarm job of trasfering his life story to the big screen and I got very little out of it. Sure Forrest Whitaker holds his own, but the movie have show some sort of weakness. Yes the frienship with the presidents in the white house are the only major strong points, but whe the action is trasfered to home, that where the movie either ends or is grinded to a halt. A lot of people have praised Oprah Winfrey's performance as his wife. I may be a fly in the oilment, but her performance has come off as empty. She will probaby get an undeserve Oscar nomination. In the end, I hope young people will ignore my advice to see the movie. They need to know their American history. So I'm going to recommend the movie to young people who need to know their history. Otherwise it was a close call on this movie.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Sep 19, 2013
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Sep 19, 2013
Wait for rental...better yet, just wait until you can borrow it from the library if you feel obligated to view it. What ever you do, do not spend any money on it. The reason I say this is that the entire movie will go down in history as a movie to proclaim obama the final ending of the struggles of blacks in America. Personally I am ashamed that the black race is even associated with obama. The final scenes show the old butler and his wife (O.W.) celebrating the election of obama. Both of them sporting tee shirts emblazoned with the now infamous obama campaign symbol. Truly a very bad day in Americas history.
[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Oct 9, 2013
[--- See Now! ---]by  Oct 15, 2013



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.