Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service

Share This Page

Lee Daniels' The Butler
The story of a White House butler who served eight American presidents over three decades. The film traces the dramatic changes that swept American society during this time, from the civil rights...  View more >

Starring Forest Whitaker, Oprah Winfrey, John Cusack...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Aug 23, 2013
Great acting overall and interesting story with light coverage of historical events that moves along at good pace and leaves you feeling good about being an American after reflecting on past racial inequities that have improved for blacks and people of color.
Aug 25, 2013
More of a documentary?

I didn't know JFK and Jackie were so short?

And I cannot see a movie w/people suffering.

You might have a different opinion and like the movie.
Aug 27, 2013
Aug 29, 2013
A film on the life of a bulter should have been made much better, but it's not. Lee Daniels did a lukewarm job of trasfering his life story to the big screen and I got very little out of it. Sure Forrest Whitaker holds his own, but the movie have show some sort of weakness. Yes the frienship with the presidents in the white house are the only major strong points, but whe the action is trasfered to home, that where the movie either ends or is grinded to a halt. A lot of people have praised Oprah Winfrey's performance as his wife. I may be a fly in the oilment, but her performance has come off as empty. She will probaby get an undeserve Oscar nomination. In the end, I hope young people will ignore my advice to see the movie. They need to know their American history. So I'm going to recommend the movie to young people who need to know their history. Otherwise it was a close call on this movie.
Sep 19, 2013
Sep 19, 2013
Wait for rental...better yet, just wait until you can borrow it from the library if you feel obligated to view it. What ever you do, do not spend any money on it. The reason I say this is that the entire movie will go down in history as a movie to proclaim obama the final ending of the struggles of blacks in America. Personally I am ashamed that the black race is even associated with obama. The final scenes show the old butler and his wife (O.W.) celebrating the election of obama. Both of them sporting tee shirts emblazoned with the now infamous obama campaign symbol. Truly a very bad day in Americas history.
Oct 9, 2013
Oct 15, 2013

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Lee Daniels' The Butler.

New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search

Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2016, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook