The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, June 14th, 2013

Directed by Zack Snyder
Genre: Action/Adventure
Running Time: 2:23

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Man of Steel 3D
A young boy learns that he has extraordinary powers and is not of this Earth. As a young man, he journeys to discover where he came from and what he was sent here to do. But the hero in him must...  View more >

PG-13
intense sequences of sci-fi violence, action and destruction, and for some language

Starring Henry Cavill, Diane Lane, Amy Adams...  View more >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  0 0 See Now! Percent
Good  2 29 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  4 57 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  1 14 Stay Away! Percent
7 Total Reviews

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by   Jun 17, 2013
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by   Jun 17, 2013
[--- Good ---]by VIP Member Jun 18, 2013
"Man of Steel" is not your father Superman. this version is like the 1978 version, except it much darker not any better than the previous Superman movies that came out in the late in 1970's and 80's, but I like it a little. This new version of Superman is keeping in line with the the overhaul of the comic book line a few years ago. It like reteeling of Superman's origin, only in a new and different way. The planet Kypton has more animal life than the 1978 version. It's not a frozen planet like the one in the 1978 version. Henry Cavill is ok as the man of steel. But Amy Adams is far the best Los Lane ever. She did her character justice. I'm also glad that Diane Lane is back on the big screen again. I'm proud of saying that I grew up with the actress. I like her very much. I love the special effects. I think they overdone it with the descruction of Metropolis. The descruction of Gothom City in "The Dark Knight Rises" never came close. I saw the movie in 3D. It's the scond 3D movie in the last month. ("Epic" was the other movie) I don't care what formant it's in the outcome will always be the same.
[--- Good ---]by   Jul 14, 2013
[--- Stay Away! ---]by   Jul 21, 2013
I was so pumped up to see this movie because I love Superman movies and I went with two friends who are also movie lovers. Well about half way through the movie I was looking at my watch and couldn't wait to leave. This has to be the worst superman ever. WOW what a let down. I want my money back. I felt that way and didn't say anything until my friends said that it was real bad and then I agreed with them.

They got the whole story wrong and that's if you could follow along. DON'T GO. save your money and wait for the dvd and even then use it as a cup coaster. Really!! NOT GOOD
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by VIP Member Jul 24, 2013
I was excited to see this movie, as my anticipation was heightened in time as trailers and clips were released and then samples of the score were made available.

The movie started strong, with excellent performances by Russell Crowe and especially Kevin Costner. Diane Lane rounded out the excellent supporting cast by providing the grounding that our superhero needed to grow up to be a well-rounded superhero.

The arrival of Zod is where the movie started to go off the rails. While there was a glimmer of depth in his character (when he is lamenting his lot in life and comparing himself and his duty to Krypton to Superman), the confrontation between Zod and Superman turns into a special-effects laden slug fest where lots of things get destroyed, the fight goes on for too long, and the audience doesn't really have a reason to care. This as very reminiscent of Spider-Man 3, where you got tired of seeing the two guys hitting beams after several minutes. here, there are entire buildings instead of beams.

You may notice that I haven't mentioned Lois Lane, Perry White, or the other people at the Daily Planet. That's largely because they don't matter in this movie. There's no chemistry between Lois and Clark/Superman, and while some the scenes with the newspaper staff are good, I got the distinct impression that quite a bit must have hit the editing room floor.

While this wasn't a bad movie, it just wasn't that good either. It's worth renting, especially if there's a Director's Cut available that puts some soul back into Man of Steel.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by   Aug 21, 2013
Heavily-laden with CGI, this movie may be more "comic-book accurate" but is long, slowly drawn-out and leaves the viewer just wishing for a little more depth. Will not disappoint for the comic-book geeks but the average movie-goer who doesn't collect comic books will be taking more restroom breaks than usual.

Reader VoiceMake Your Voice Heard!

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Man of Steel 3D.




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.