The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, December 20th, 2013

Directed by David O. Russell
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 2:09

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
American Hustle
Academy Award® Nominee
A fictional film set in the alluring world of one of the most stunning scandals to rock our nation, American Hustle tells the story of brilliant con man Irving Rosenfeld (Christian Bale), who along...  View more >

R
pervasive language, some sexual content and brief violence

Starring Christian Bale, Bradley Cooper, Amy Adams...  View more >

Releasing December 13, 2013 in New York / Los Angeles
View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  1 14 See Now! Percent
Good  3 43 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  1 14 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  2 29 Stay Away! Percent
7 Total Reviews

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by VIP MemberDec 23, 2013
It's beginning to look a lot like Oscar Season. The holiday season is filled with most of the Oscar contenders. One such contender is "American Hustle," a brilliantly made move about con artist in late 1970's early 80's American. The movie has reteam stars Bradley Cooper anbd Jennifer Lawrence from last year's "Silver Linnings Playbook" Directed David O'Russell has directed last year's film as well as this movie here. Both stars gave marvelous performances. Also in the movie and gave great performances are Amy Adams, Jeremy Renner and Christian Bale. Bale's character is totally different from his role in Batman. Amy Adams gives a veryt sexy performance. she plays a stripper who dresses sexy and doesn't wear a bra. Lawrence also plays it brilliantly. I love the way the move has hanfle the subject matter as well as how the characters has acted. The film was released by Columbia Pictures, which for this film only they bring back that 1970's torch. Why didn't they go further than to add the background music to the torch. That will really make mty day.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Dec 28, 2013
Wasn't that good - as usual in movies the first part dragged. Jennifer Lawrence made the whole movie. I didn't think a lot of the actors they chose were appropriate. Could of done better here.
[--- Good ---]by  Jan 3, 2014
[--- Good ---]by  Jan 10, 2014
Very good movie. The action moved along well, no real slow parts. It keeps your interest throughout. The acting was superb.
[--- Good ---]by  Jan 21, 2014
Confusing but enjoyable! Oscars anyone?
[--- Stay Away! ---]by VIP MemberFeb 16, 2014
One of my least favorite movies in recent memory. I'm pretty sure I yawned a few times during this movie. It dragged quite a bit. The only part I enjoyed was the homage to the 70's in the intro. Again, I seem to be an outlier on this, however, and I sometimes wonder if I'm watching the same movies everyone else is.
[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Feb 22, 2014
Boring and not much of a storyline-even my hubby thought it was slow and not worth the price of admission (uckily it was matinee)! If I had been alone I would have walked out and gone to see another movie!

Reader VoiceMake Your Voice Heard!

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for American Hustle.




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.