The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, December 22nd, 2000

Directed by Joel Coen
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 1:46

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
O Brother, Where Art Thou?
A trio of escaped convicts embarks on the adventure of a lifetime as they set out to pursue their freedom and the promise of sharing in the division of a fortune in buried treasure.  View more >

PG-13
some violence and language

Starring George Clooney, Holly Hunter, John Goodman...  View more >

George Clooney honored as winner of "Best Actor, Musical or Comedy" at the 58th Golden Globe Awards (Jan 2001)
View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  9 60 See Now! Percent
Good  3 20 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  2 13 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  1 7 Stay Away! Percent
15 Total Reviews

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 28, 2000
According to the title credits, this movie acknowledges Homer's The Odyssey as its inspiration. It is, however, only very loosely based on that, and instead offers a buddy/road movie of three escaped convicts from a southern chain gang during the Depression.

As with any Coen Brothers movie, this offers unique and cleverly drawn characters. Clooney, Turturro, and Nelson do an excellent job creating likeable goofballs. Along their journey they meet various people: hard-working farmers, scalawag politicians, apocryphal creatures, and living legends. The plot twists and turns in entirely unpredictable ways, yet comes to a satisfying and plausible conclusion. I particularly admired the photography, which captured the faded and dusty look of 1930s that we see in photographs from that time. I should also add that the sound track is very good, filled with almost forgotten folk and "old-timey" country-western songs.

While not a masterpiece, I highly recommend it.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Jan 26, 2001
four of us went to see a comedy and not one of us laughed. The comedy is so disjointed we heard only one person laugh during the entire film.

I personally was tempted to leave and ask permission to enter a dfferent theater but thought this has got to get better. IT DIDN'T ! GEORGE CLOONEY IS A GIFTED ACTOR USE HIM BETTER AND IN THE MEANTIME PASS THIS ONE UP.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 28, 2001
I took my 11-year old son to see this (he was the only "child" in the theater) ... he loved it and so did I. It reminded me of Raising Arizona ... especially like John Tuturro's performance. A must see.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Feb 4, 2001
An excellent film that anyone of moderate literary intelligence will appreciate. Set in the deep south during the depression this film captures the gritty realistic feel of life in hard times. Numerous references to the Odyssey are underlined by subtle humor throughout the film. Excellent filmwork with colors leaping off the screen in the midst of understated and earthtoned reality.

If you see a movie this year you must see this one. If you want lame there are plenty of movies out there but this is not one of them...
[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Feb 8, 2001
"Genre - Comedy"... Hmm... I didn't laugh one single time during this movie. It's one of the worst movies I've seen since "Mission To Mars". I can't find any plot in this, no storyline. The whole time I was waiting for something interesting to happen - It didn't. There was no point of this movie, it was just plain dum. When the movie was done, I would probably have had my IQ degraded, if I hadn't been sleeping for 30 min. in the middle. (This is the first time I've been sleeping during a movie, for a long, long time.)

I saw it with 8 friends, and only 2 of them thought it was "ok". The rest thought the same as me... If you're still thinking about seeing this, read the "Featured Movie Critique" at the top of this page.

Use your money on "The Family Man" or "Cast Away" instead!
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP MemberFeb 13, 2001
Another masterpriece from the Coen brothers? That may not be a big deal, since the Coen brothers who loved to make excellent movies, have a ear for telling stories that are out of the ordinary.

"Oh Brother" is a rich example of what the Coens can do. A prison escape movie based on the homor book "The Odyssey." Three con men, who are on the run from the law, keep running into weird people in the backroads of the south.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Feb 23, 2001
This is a movie you will either LOVE or HATE. If you like off-the-wall humor, extremely colorful characters, and a total disregard for what movies are "supposed to be like"... then you will LOVE this movie! Keep in mind, it's a Coen film. If you didn't like Raising Arizona, then DO NOT see this movie. You won't like this one either.

It doesn't have an "ordinary" plot, and it certainly kept me interested without really knowing why. And in some warped, disallusioned way, it all made sense in the end... that's why I loved it!

I saw this movie with two people of above average intelligence, and they also caught on to all the comical nuances, and irrational logic that flowed throughout the movie. Basically, I wouldn't suggest this movie to anyone that doesn't like to think.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Mar 2, 2001
If you want to see a movie that will make you laugh, this is it! We loved the movie and I suggest it to all my friends and relatives. it's great to actually enjoy a movie again.

See this one now, it's worth the price of a ticket for sure.
[--- Good ---]by  Mar 3, 2001
For those of you who appreciate witty dialogue (ala Raising Arizona), and a taste of something a little left of center, then the Coen brothers have pulled it off again! O' Brother certainly lives up to past works by Joel and Ethan standards...Clooney does a good job in his role, as do his co-stars (Torturro's southern accent is a little hard to believe though, but still funny).

You do have to appreciate Coen brothers humor to truly get at the heart of things here. If you got a kick out of Fargo and Raising Arizona, you truly do not want to miss this one.
[--- Good ---]by  Jun 18, 2001
This movie is good. More than just a comedy because the carachters are not 2D.

I heard it was a lot better if you read the Odessy first so now I have to go to the library and see if they have it in an easier form to read.

I don't know about the scenery as someone mentioned but over all it was a good movie. If you want to relax, and enjoy a good movie see this.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jul 10, 2001
Excellent.. Lots of laughs.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jul 21, 2001
O Brother, this is a good movie. Set in depression-era Mississippi, the story follows three jail-breakers on their way to leader Everetts home town. On the way, the characters meet plenty of zany characters, including a one-eyed Bible salesman (John Goodman). The comedy of this movie is not in-your-face, but rather built into the plot (so you'll either get it or you won't). The same kind of humor was used by the Cohen brothers in Raising Arizona.

The only negative of this movie is the excessive foul language. If you're easily offended by rough language, you should wait till this is in edited fashion on television. The politician Pappy O'Daniel (Charles Durning) has a rather loose tongue.

The highlight of this movie is definitely the music. The soundtrack for O Brother has sold over 2 million copies, despite having virtually no air play whatsoever.

**** out of *****.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Aug 2, 2001
This is a movie that I went into with low expectations, actually not knowing what to expect at all. I have never seen a film by these guys, but, if they are all like this, I will probably rent them.

This is a movie that, if you like the theme of Greek mythology then you will enjoy the inferences that it is based on. I remember when the sitcom Police Squad came out it flopped, the critics said the humor made you think too much, (shame on them for being forced to use their brain while vegging on the couch!), I remember cracking up at the humor and the underlying gags and terminology or dialogue twists. From that show came several popular movies that people now crack up about! I think that this is the same situation that O' Brother finds itself in.

It is one the best made movies that I can think of in the decade or so. The humor might get lost on some people, (much like Monty Python and the Holy Grail). The scenery, the feel, the colors and yes the actors. What they did with the script is incredible. I was forced to listen to Bluegrass while growing up and hate with a passion, but, I found myself singing along to the classics and actually enjoying them, in fact, I catch myself still singing the main song while I'm working or driving. I could not have asked for more from a movie.

My wife and I saw this with our kids, the oldest, a 17 year old boy, every one of them enjoyed it and we have rented it several times since the first sitting. Go and see it!
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by VIP MemberJul 21, 2003
[--- Good ---]by  Jul 19, 2012

Reader VoiceMake Your Voice Heard!

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for O Brother, Where Art Thou?.




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.