The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now


Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Thursday, May 16th, 2002

Directed by George Lucas

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Star Wars: Episode II - Attack of the Clones
Academy Award® Nominee
The second installment of the Star Wars series, showing the decline of young Jedi Anakin Skywalker towards the dark side, as his attraction to Queen Amidala creates tension between his loyalties as a...  View more >

PG
sustained sequences of sci-fi action/violence

Starring Ewan McGregor, Natalie Portman, Hayden Christensen...  View more >

Release date was pushed up to 5/16/2002 to accommodate a worldwide release schedule.

Trailers available:
- View more information about this movie >


Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Star Wars: Episode II - Attack of the Clones.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by jeff pettke May 16, 2002

THis Movie is the best one yet. Action and romance and Excitement. Plus Natalie Portman is HOT as hell in her tight white shirts that she wears in the movie.

Looking forward to the next movie. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Moovy May 16, 2002

I thought this was much, much better than the first of the prequels in the current trilogy. I think George Lucas picked the perfect young man to play Anakin Skywalker. His emotional turmoil is skillfully displayed and it really draws you into the drama of the movie. Obi Wan is very well acted as well.

If you are a Star Wars fan, or just enjoy science fiction in general, then this is the movie to see because we finally get to see some real Jedi Knight action in this one. I've always thought that George Lucas uses the Jedi Knights far too sparingly in his films, and I find myself always wanting to see more of them. Thankfully, he does indulge the Jedi somewhat in Attack Of The Clones, showing the viewer just how awesome the Jedi really are, Master Yoda in particular. There is about a 40 minute battle sequence in which the Jedi take on hundreds upon hundreds of the enemy.

Then there's Natalie Portman, who represents about the best 'eye candy' a man could ask for in a movie, in my opinion.

Overall, it's worth your money and a great theatre experience.

Enjoy! 

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by Tom May 17, 2002

Well, good'ole George does it again? Attack of the Clones is pretty flat. I've read other reviews and regardless of whether the reviewer liked it or didn't like it they mention dialogue, characters, and special effects.

Most reviewers, even if they liked the movie, said the dialogue and characters were flat. And although they liked it, they keep coming back to the one thing that they believe is most important: special effects.

Well, for those of us who grew up with the birth of Star Wars, I'm sure you'll appreciate it when I say that a movie cannot get by on special effects alone. Star Wars, Empire Strikes Back, and Return of the Jedi were good movies. Good movies with real characters that had depth. Remember when Han Solo, in Star Wars, said to Luke, who was excited for just shooting an Emperial Fighter, "Don't get cocky kid"? Or how about when they were on the Death Star and he chased a bunch of storm troopers down a hall, yelling as he did his death charge? Or how he and Princess Leia would argue back and forth? Those characters had depth. They had dialogue. They were individuals who each had their own idiosyncracies. And that's part of what both Phantom Menace and Attack of the Clones are missing.

A movie cannot rely on special effects alone. And that's something else that bothered me. In a scene where Obi-Wan Kenobi is talking to an old friend in a space diner, the character he talks to, like most of the characters in the movie, is computer generated. And I think he looks fake. It's like a cartoon with some real people in it.

My advice to Lucas: You have one more chance. Watch Star Wars, Empire Strikes Back, and Return of the Jedi. Then ask yourself, what do they all have in common that makes them good and how is that different from Phantom Menace and Attack of the Clones. Hey, three times a charm. May the force be with you. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Jake May 18, 2002

Wow. . . this is already a great summer for movies. First "Spider-man" and now the new "Star Wars." Two movies that have made my jaw drop, quite literally.

So what if most of the dialogue is inane and the jokes are dumb? So what if the first thing said to Jar-Jar is "I sure am glad to see you?" (NO! YOU ARE NOT GLAD TO SEE HIM!). What matters is that once "Attack of the Clones" gets going in the last forty minutes or so, it is quite simply one of the coolest things EVER.

It's spectacular. It's awesome. It's fun. I loved it. All of it. But especially the minute and a half or so near the end when a certain green-skinned little dude finally gets to flex his muscles. . . the entire price of admission is worth that 90 or so seconds.

If you love "Star Wars" or action movies in general, go see it now. 

[--- See Now! ---]by lil' 9 year old May 18, 2002

This movie was DA BOMB! its a must see

i think teh storline was placed out well but the love story was waaaaay wack.
id say the coolest part is when the last 45 mins of the movie come.
if your into explosives and lasers with special erfects to good to be true this is the movie.

unlike phantom menace this story has more action and many more jedi knights
plus lil yoda shows his jumpy moves and his power of the force this movie is a must see and is worth more than your paying.

WATCH IT AND LOVE IT! 

[--- See Now! ---]by Tom K May 20, 2002

I really liked this movie. I thought the critics were overly harsh. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Joe Kastner May 20, 2002

The saga known as Star Wars continues with Attack of the Clones which describes the beginning of the Clone Wars and the falling of the Republic. It also brings into effect the man (or machine) Anakin Skywalker will be.

The story goes that Anakin Skywalker falls in love with Senator Padme which is against the Jedi code. This starts when a bounty hunter named Jango Fett tries to kill Padme before a decision on an army for the Republic is made. The storyline falls flat in the area of the romantic scenes but nobody expected it to do well in this area. The story does better then Episode I and does well to set up events in Episode III.

The acting is better then most critics would let on. Christen does an exceptional job with such a crucial role as Anakin Skywalker. This character helps start a chain reaction that leads to the Empire and the whole Star Wars saga. The acting is much better then Episode I but not the best in the Star Wars series.

Overall, Episode II continues the greatest saga in Hollywood. There are flaws though outside the flat romantic story. The role of Jango Fett seems pointless. And as good as the Yoda sequence with Count Dooku was, it comes off early as comic relief rather then great action. A side note: If you didn't hate him enough in Episode I, you'll really want to tear Jar-Jar Binks apart in this installment. Beside small mishaps, the film enlivens the Star Wars series with full-blown action sequences and tons of computer-graphic special effects. Not the best but definitely #2 this summer.

My Rating: **** out of 5 

[--- Good ---]by huntz May 20, 2002

If you are a star wars fan you will have to see it yourself. But It is not close to the story I followed so closely since the 70's. My friend and I walked into a theater in Cleveland and were amazed by "New Hope" what a great story and great characters. Clones has neither.

Special effects are good but story is lacking and you do not care about the characters. They seem wooden. I was actually bored. But it is better than episode 1. Is Lucas losing it? 

[--- See Now! ---]by Vern May 21, 2002

Attack of the clones is a return to the spirit of the first trilogy. While The phantom menace had the problems of setting up the complex stories and situations that would endure the rest of the new trilogy - thus flooding the movie with too much info and not enough time to do it- Attack of the clones can concentrate on characters we know and situations we are privy too.

Here we are introduced to Jango Fett and Boba Fett. Jango being the ultimate bounty hunter and Boba his clone - looking up to the one he calls father - one day becoming a bounty hunter and showing up in the later movies.

We are also introduced to Count Dooku, a former Jedi who is suspected to be the leader of a separatist movement that is threatening the Republic.

These two characters are good, but no one can outshine Palpatine, the true evil behind the conspiracy to take control of the republic.

George Lucas once described Jedi as cowboys in space, and I think this movie reflects that more so then The Phantom menace did. You get more of a sense of the spirit of a what a Jedi is, and here in this movie you see it in Obi-Wan Kenobi more then anyone else. Very well done.

Hayden Christensen is good fit as Anakin Skywalker, the troubled young Jedi. He does confused anger well.

I highly recommend this movie; A fine addition to the Star Wars saga. 

[--- Good ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberMay 21, 2002

The second Star Wars installment, "Attack of the Clones" is an amazing film in terms of special effects and beauty of the film. Those two elements are the real power of the movie. However, the screenplay co-wrote by George Lucus is a little wooden and could use a rewrite, but who would come to see Star Wars just for the screenwriting?

The film main focus is again on the Jedi knight Anakin Skywalker, who will become Darth Vader (No surprise here). Natalie Portman's costume is less heavy and more sexy. This isn't the first time that Portman had played adult roles.

The action scenes are done well and the battle scenes are amazing. Especially Yoda, who can carry a mean lightsaber.

This isn't the best Star Wars, but the film has so many thrills you'll overlook the shortcomings of this film. 

[--- Good ---]by Sinamax May 21, 2002

The effects were great, and the action (when you finally got to it) was done well.

The only thing I thougt was bad was it lacked a good story line. The acting was flat and the first hour was a drag.

Still better than the last one. 

[--- See Now! ---]by jlerp May 21, 2002

Yes, the dialog is a bit inane and the actors a tad wooden but the show is visually stunning as is the sound. We will see it more than once.

One warning to parents of younger ones, my kids found this a lot more intense than any of the other Star Wars movies. The monsters were much more realistic and in your face with sharp gnashing teeth. The adults and older kids in the audience know they're just computer generated but younger ones could be frightened. I left feeling it should have gotten a PG13. 

[--- See Now! ---]by mnm May 22, 2002

There you have it. A good Star Wars movie again. Far better than Episode 1, but not quite in the same class as the original three.

I read somewhere that this movie lacks any quotable dialoge (sp?). "Luke, I am your father, search your feelings". "May the force be with you". "Together we can rule the galaxy as father and son". The closest thing to quotable dialoge was my 6 year olds sons favorite line "I hate it when he does that" after Anakin jumps out the the speeder after the assassin. A weak quote at that, doesn't really fit in as an exclusive Star Wars quote.

This movie also lacks the 'carefree spirit' of Han Solo. Everybody in "Clones" has a tightly fixed role and no room for Fun. Obi Wan came the closest to being a fun person.

I loved the Jango/Boba Fett story. Very cool use of the characters and a great development! Jango must be the baddest bounty hunter in the galaxy to warrant an entire army made from him. I look forward to the development of Boba Fett in the next movie.

Anakin is already walking down the fine line between good and evil. Lucas did a good job setting up his fall/jump in the next movie.

I can't wait for Episode III, and I can't wait for all the movies to be on DVD! That will be one great Saturday on the couch, 12+ hours of Star Wars.

I saw Attack of the Clones twice on opening weekend, the last movie I saw more than once in the theatre was "True Lies". This movie get 5 stars out of 5. A MUST SEE in the theatre!! May the Force be with you! 

[--- See Now! ---]by A Casual Observer May 22, 2002

I've been a fan of the Star Wars saga for many years, having grown up with the original trilogy of films as they blended their way into our pop culture. When it was announced that the backstory, the prequels, were going to be made, I couldn't have been more excited. I saw "The Phantom Menace" a few times in the theater, and can remember having some mixed feelings about the film before I finally decided that it was a good 'preface' to a larger story. That being said, I found that Episode II: Attack of the Clones was a significantly better film in virtually every respect.

The storyline is more solid and engaging this time. The main plot diverges in the middle of the film, creating a duelism that helps to advance the story, while still allowing time for Anakin & Padme's relationship to develop. It proved to be an effective way to pace the middle of the film. The beginning and ending of the film are fast and explosive, with multiple layers of action sequences. The final 40 minutes of the film were highly entertaining.

A side note on the "love story" arc... the first time I saw the film, I was a little sketchy on the Anakin and Padme's relationship... I just wasn't convinced by parts of it... the second time I saw it, though, I realized an important point... Anakin has been training as a Jedi for 10 years, and hasn't lived a normal live, by any means. The same can be said for Padme, being a Queen since her early teenage years, then becoming a Senator. Neither of them really had any opportunity to learn social behaviors on handling the opposite sex... so, the awkwardness that is shown in some of those scenes with Anakin and Padme is appropriate... they are both confused and intimidated in a way, and must struggle through their feelings the best they can... when I thought about that, it made that entire story arc more believable, and I now really appreciate the way it was done...

The acting was good for the most part... Hayden Christiansen performs well as Anakin Skywalker, particularly when Anakin needs to express anger or frustration. Ewan McGregor was excellent as Obi-Wan Kenobi, and was able to do more with the role than he was in "The Phantom Menace." Christopher Lee brings a kind of class to the film that really elevates the performances of those around him. Natalie Portman performed well, although she had a few moments that were a little quirky, but still acceptable. Samuel L. Jackson was excellent as Mace Windu, taking on a much more active role in this film. He proved to be quite charismatic, especially during the final battle sequences. Ian McDiarmad is, once again, wonderfully devious in his duel role of Chancellor Palpatine and Darth Sidious.

The dialogue has its less-than-steller moments... but, dialogue has never been a strong suit of any Star Wars film. Some corny lines are par for the course in material based on old Saturday morning serials. This film, however, really does make one realize how missed the banter between C-3PO and R2 was in the previous film. The two droids are present through much of the film, and provide the welcome form of humor that audiences came to love in the original three films. Conversely, the much maligned Jar Jar Binks has a greatly diminished role with only a few humorous lines. The film does, however, include the infamous CG character in an important scene that proves vital to the entire Star Wars storyline.

The special effects were amazing. Incredibly, they were many times better than even "The Phantom Menace", which is a very impressive film from a technical standpoint. Industial Light & Magic continues to find new ways to top their own work. Yoda has been completely converted into a CG character from the puppet that was previously used, with Frank Oz still providing the voice of everyone's favorite 900-year-old Jedi Master. While the puppet Yoda had it's charm, the character's more active role in this film demanded the change, and pleasently, the rendering of the 'new' Yoda is near perfection.

"Attack of the Clones" improves on it's predecessor by leaps and bounds, and returns to much of the adventure that made the original trilogy so popular, while still showing the audience the initial stages of Anakin Skywalker's fall to the Dark Side and the rise of the Empire. Highly entertaining, yet a dark and foreboding preview to what awaits in Episode III. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Bob May 28, 2002

Excellent - very action packed. It was neat to see Yoda kick some tail...

Need to see this in a movie house. I saw it on the Ultra Screen - and it rocked! You learn alot about the background of the characters that you know and love from the orginial series.

Only had to tolerate a few scenes with the hated Jar Jar - why he was even in there was beyond me - could have easily used any other character to perform his very minor role.

GO SEE IT! 

[--- See Now! ---]by Tess May 28, 2002

I have now seen this movie twice and I still enjoy it immensely.

Many people have commented on the characters of Padme/Amidala and Anakin as being wooden. Honestly, I think that the characters are wooden/stiff/overburdened in their overall personalities and that the acting is meant to reflect that. There also seems to be an expectation of certain vocal deliveries in the society (i.e., Phantom's delivery of odd vocals by Amidala).

There are a few points where their acting seems a little overdone but Hayden Christensen definitely has the glimmer in his eye of what he is to become.

It was fantastic to watch the first glimmers of strong references tying this storyline to the original, many visual. -can't spoil it for you, you'll have to go see it-

The alien lifeforms are visually astounding and in the majority of circumstances, seamlessly added to the scenes. Especially when Obi Wan visits an ocean world, the interactions are stunningly well done. 

[--- Stay Away! ---]by Kaeljae May 31, 2002

Good:
* Special Effects
* Action scenes
* Ewan McGregor's acting
* Yoda's Jedi skills

Bad:
* Stiff, stiff, stiff dialogue. So cliched sometimes I groaned.
* Yoda's speeches ("Master of the obvious")
* Interaction between Natalie Portman and Hayden Christensen. About as exciting
as a flat soda.

Biases:
* I have no interest in the plot. I'm not one of those people that is terribly into Star Wars' plotline. So much of the exposition shown in this film just made me yawn.
* I hate Hayden Christensen. There, I said it. Hate, hate, hate, hate.
* Personally, this ranked on the scale of watching a sci-fi version of C-SPAN. You may learn something, if you remain awake.

Ratings (out of 4):
Dialogue / Plot - 1
Acting - 2
Ambiance - 3
Bias - 1

Total - 1.75 / 4.00 

[--- Good ---]by Joe Jun 12, 2002

This was a good movie, and I emphasize "good."

It was definitely worth the money to see it on the big screen because of the special effects, but the movie was kind of dragged out and dull, especially in the "love" scenes.

I enjoyed it nonetheless, and at the end, it left me wanting to see the next installment. 

[--- Good ---]by Dean Berglund Jul 3, 2002

I enjoyed the movie strictly for it's special effects, not the story line.

It was mostly a love story. The movie made me yawn. It was cool to see Yoda walking around in this movie rather than just standing in one place, and his Jedi moves were great to see. For a guy that walks with a cane, he sure can move fast when he has to while using his light sabre.

I'd give this movie a 6 out of 10 rating. It's a toss up of seeing it on the big screen and waiting for the rental. I feel just a bit cheated out of my money. I think they could have done better. 

[--- Good ---]by Scott Jentsch VIP MemberJul 19, 2002

A very good installment in the Star Wars series. While not the level of perfection that I'm sure some Star Wars fans would like to see, Episode 2 provides more of what we all liked about the first three releases, and it makes Episode 1 better by filling in some of the blanks and continuing some of the storylines.

My one complaint is the wooden acting performances by the two lead characters. Natalie Portman is an excellent actress and I've enjoyed many of her films, beginning with "Beautiful Girls." She has the ability to captivate the audience every time she is on the screen, but in this film, she is awkward and almost emotionless.

One could almost say that her heart was not in it, but perhaps it's a matter of perspective. I've heard it described that she and Hayden Christensen were portraying two young people who have not had much experience with love and passion, and feeling these emotions would make them very uncomfortable and awkward. If that's the case, then they did an excellent job...

I do have to say that Anakin's character became much more interesting once he dropped the whiney teenager act and started to kick some retaliatory butt. I look forward to his descent to evil in Episode 3!

Much has been said about the fact that Yoda finally gets a chance to show why he's regarded as a great warrior. I thought his fight scene was unnecessarily comical and not at all warrior-like, but that's a minor quibble about a film that delivers a lot of action with familiar characters and the continuation of a story that everyone wants to see told on the big screen.

Attack of the Clones satisfied this Star Wars fan, and I eagerly anticipate its release on DVD so that I can enjoy much of what I'm sure I missed with two viewings!

I was fortunate to view this movie both on film and with digital projection (where the movie is presented with a high-end video projector instead of standard film). I thought the quality of the digital projection far outperformed that of film. The lack of jitter in the picture is always welcome, and the colors were vibrant compared to the lackluster color definition in the film presentation.

If you have a chance to compare the two technologies on the same film, I think you'll agree that digital projection is the future of cinema. I've heard that it still does not reach the quality of a really good film presentation, but I've never experienced a film presentation that eclipses the quality of the digitally projected films I've seen so far. If given the choice, I would see a movie in digital over film without hesitation. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Ron Higgins VIP MemberAug 26, 2002

First of all let me address the rating. I'm a Star Wars fan, how could I not rate this film a "See Now".

As for the film itself. It was very good at moving the story arc along and I look forward to Episode III to see how it all gets wrapped up (even though everyone knows what's going to happen).

If I had to knock the movie in some way, it would have to be the lack of a "pod-race" type of scene. Something quick, exciting and fun. This movie was a bit more dark.

A lot of stuff going on in each scene leaving the viewer plenty to take in and think about.

I was fortunate enough to see this movie twice, both times in a digital theater. The first was in a TI DLP equipped screen. I must have sat too close because I was somewhat distracted by the scan lines.

The second viewing was at a Boeing DLP equipped theater. This was an incredible experience. This is the way movies were meant to be seen. Very enjoyable.

Marcus Theaters dominates the market I live in, but they got none of my business for Star Wars Ep.II and most likely won't for Episode III unless they step up and show the films the way the filmmakers intend. 




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.