Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Lara Croft: Tomb Raider
Based on the popular video game, Angelina Jolie brings Lara Croft, adventurer and photojournalist, to life.

Starring Angelina Jolie, Jon Voight, Daniel Craig...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Jun 15, 2001
I went for a little fun and action, and got neither. The acting (if you can call it that) was poor, special effects were second rate, and the story itself was lost in the tomb. Save your money for popcorn.
[--- Good ---]by  
Jun 16, 2001
Despite many negative reviews and the "stay away" review posted here, I felt this movie was pretty good. Angelina Jolie is the perfect actress for the part and did a great job. There were many great action sequences that kept you at the edge of your seat.

Many have said that the story line is choppy and filled with holes. I disagree with this... I thought the story line was understandable and somewhat entertaining, although not very complex or impressive.

However, you should keep in mind, as James Berardinelli's review points out (the critic's review), "when you consider that Bond movies are not exactly known for their writing, this puts Lara Croft's first cinematic endeavor in perspective." The only complaint I would have is that the action sequences definately did cut far too fast and were shot too close up to the scene to tell what was really going on. That became a little annoying.

Otherwise, I would recommend taking a trip to the theater and seeing this "good" movie.
Jun 16, 2001
This was an "OK" movie overall. Although the action sequences were well done, the plot was predictable and lacked explanation of what was exactly going on at any given time. The only thing that really kept me watching this movie was Angelina Jolie.

If you like the video game and have played it before, maybe you will enjoy "Tomb Raider" more than I did.
[--- Good ---]by  
Jun 18, 2001
Paper-thin characters, nearly non-existant plot, and great action. Isn't that about what you would expect when you go to see this movie?

Tomb Raider has a comic book style atmosphere, so right away you know that you're not supposed to take this seriously. Besides, where else can you see a giant killer Vishnu trying to stomp measly archeologists?
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jun 18, 2001
I wouldn't say stay away because the movie has some entertaining qualities, nothing to do with the script and everything to do with Jolie's body!

I do find it hard to believe there are already plans for sequels...they must be banking on the die hard Tomb Raider game players!

See it on the big screen if you must, but I wish I would've waited for the DVD/video.
[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Jun 19, 2001
I was soooo disappointed! This movie didn't live up to 1/10 the hype. Some of the visuals were OK but the acting was terrible!

That wasn't only the fault of the actors/actresses. The plot line was so weak the writers should be flogged. What an insult to the viewing public! I expect alot more from such a highly paid group ...
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jun 20, 2001
Angelina Jolie plays Lara Croft... 'nuff said ;)
Jun 20, 2001
Angelina Jolie shines as Tomb Raider Lara Croft, based on the video game. In "Tomb Raider" Croft searches the world for two parts of a puzzle that must be put together before the planets realinged.

She also searches for her father who is missing for the past 16 years. (John Voight, who is Jolie's real-life father, plays Lara's father) "Tomb Raider" may not be comparable to Indiana Jones, but she gets the job done.
[--- Good ---]by  
Jun 21, 2001
I had anticipated the movie and was there on opening day. I enjoyed the movie but the scenes were choppy and the extreme closeups and zooms made it difficult to follow the action. I think Jolie is great for the part but they should have given her more lines and did a better job establishing the plot.

I had expected something more like Raiders of the Lost Ark and that it wasn't. Males could identify with Harrison Fords part in Raiders where as female fans may have a hard time identifying with Jolie because her character was not really developed. I hope they do make a sequel to see if the director listens to public opinion and develops Angela's character as it deserves.

I thought Tomb Raider was a male thing but my wife actually liked the movie and gave it a higher rating than myself.
[--- Good ---]by  
Jun 22, 2001
Tomb Raider doesn’t deserve all the negative reviewing. Maybe the expectations were too high. TR set the standard for video acceleration gaming and the movie wasn’t above the rest of the movie industry in innovated production techniques. (With the one accept ion of managing to keep this movie PG-13 with a sensual Angelina Jolie filling the screen for 1:33 minuets).

My only complaint, the movie was not long enough. Not much thought was given to the time/space paradox at the end. O.K obviously I have played the TR games and was able to observe the nuisances that others may have missed. This is the depth and the dimension of the movie. I appreciated the faithfulness of the movie to the video game.

I will see this movie again because I know I will be able to observe other game parallels that I missed during the first viewing.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jun 24, 2001
I think Angelina Jolie is perfect for the part of Lara Croft, but I was some what disapointed. No real indepth of the characters and a week plot. If you go to see it make sure you go during the day when the rates are cheaper.

It wasnt a complete bomb,it just doesnt hold up to high expectations.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jul 6, 2001
I actually fell asleep during the last 30 minutes of this total Indiana Jones rip-off. I know, I know...it's a movie that emulates the game, purposely targeted at alllll the fanboys.

No matter, it's still a piece of unoriginal crap. I suppose it was cast as good as could be; Angelina Jolie sorta saves the movie through breasty appearance alone. I know I couldn't have been the only one feeling like her tits were gonna put my eye out at any given moment. And what's with the makeup job on her arm?! Tattoo? What tattoo? I don't see the blob on her left arm covering up her "Billy Bob" tat...nu uh.
Jul 17, 2001
It's alright. But that's all...
[--- Good ---]by  
Aug 3, 2001
Well I've played every game in the series so far (all five of them) so when I heard that they were going to make a movie called Tomb Raider, I waited anxiously.

After seeing it I'm left with a slew of emotions, one from the movie side of my mind, the other from the video game side. The movie side of my brain is completely dissatisfied, while the video game side is pleasantly surprised.

For those who have never played the video game I'll sum it up in a few sentences. The Lara Croft Tomb Raider video game series follows these basic guidelines; Big breasted super heroine Lara Croft goes to find an artifact of some sort. She kills animals, men, zombies, whatever gets in her way with a slew of weapons, the typical being her twin 9mm pistols. She successfully gets the artifact, and returns home.

When I saw the movie, everything fell within this premise, with LC being put into a human role (Angelina Jolie). However, my movie side of my mind is screaming "Why!" For anyone who has seen Indiana Jones (Insert Title Here) LCTR follows the same premise, except substitute Nazis with some high tech mercenaries and a weird following, substitute Indy's dad with a butler, and substitute Harrison Ford with Angelina Jolie. At a desperate effort to make fanboy's like me happy they put a quick boob shot in.

This movie's plot was desperately thin, with more action then plot. If you want a shoot em up type movie with a sexy women, I'd recommend this to you, but if you want any type of plot of some sort, and you sensible action scenes, stay away from Lara Croft Tomb Raider.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Sep 19, 2001
Two words -- Angelina Jolie.

There is only one thing better than seeing Angelina on the big screen, and that is seeing alot of Angelina on the big screen!!!

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Lara Croft: Tomb Raider.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2017, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook