Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Freaky Friday
Dr. Tess Coleman and her 15-year-old daughter are not getting along. Everything soon changes when two identical Chinese Fortune Cookies cause a little mystic mayhem. The next morning, their Friday...  View more >

Starring Jamie Lee Curtis, Lindsay Lohan, Harold Gould...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Aug 6, 2003
Aug 7, 2003
Aug 16, 2003
it is just like all of the other movies like it.
Aug 21, 2003
Cute but same old story as before, just different people.
Aug 26, 2003
A wonderful comedy of mother-daughter relationships and how one can see though another for understanding. "Freaky Friday" is based on the 1976 film, also from Disney. I didn't see the original film or read the book, but no matter, I happen to like the movie. Jamie Lee Curtis and Lindsay Lohm are a mother and daughter who didn't understand each other, A chinese fortune cookie has the two switching bodies to see one's point of view. Curtis and Lohm are a real surprise. These two actresses really know how to study each other's movements. Curtis really enjoy herself playing a teen, while Lohm enjoy herself playing the adult. These two should get Oscar nominations, especially Curtis. Twenty years ago I saw Jamie Lee Curtis in a film which stars Dan Aykroyd and Eddie Murphy. The film is "Trading Places."
Sep 14, 2003
Great movie for the whole family. Really shows how we let our every day lives get so busy and involved that we aren't really in touch with our own families lives. Especially in the lives of our teenagers. Great ending. Very touching, bring tissue.
Dec 21, 2003
Freaky Friday began as a delightful children's novel by Mary Rodgers, which resulted in a Disney adaptation in 1977. Even with a script by Rodgers, the film was horrid, an abusement of Disney magic. There was also a 1995 version, which I have not seen, but I have seen the 2003 version, and I must say: It's magical.

True, it's not really that great of an adaptation of the book, so much as it is an update...and a superb one, one that manages to surpass the novel. Jamie Lee Curtis and Lindsay Lohan are great together as a mother and daughter who one day magically switch bodies.

Though it all sounds like nonsense, Freaky Friday is one of the best Disney films of recent times, perhaps only beaten out by those great Pixar cartoons. If you're in the mood for high quality family fare (read: intelligent screenplay, drama that's not sappy, and lighthearted humor), check this out. It's admittedly not art, but it sure is entertaining, isn't it?

3.5/4 - Good
Dec 25, 2003
I don't know what to say. This movie is wonderful, witty, and fun.
Dec 27, 2003
Dec 31, 2003
Funny and fun!

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Freaky Friday.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2017, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook