The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, March 15th, 2002

Directed by Chris Wedge
Genre: Animation
Running Time: 1:26

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Ice Age
Academy Award® Nominee
Twenty thousand years ago, the Earth was being overrun by glaciers, and creatures everywhere were fleeing the onslaught of the new Ice Age. In this time of peril, a quartet of misfits unexpectedly,...  View more >

PG
mild peril

Starring Ray Romano, John Leguizamo, Denis Leary...  View more >

Nominated for an Academy AwardŽ for Best Animated Feature
View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  4 44 See Now! Percent
Good  4 44 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  1 11 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  0 0 Stay Away! Percent
9 Total Reviews

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Mar 16, 2002
If you don't find this movie so funny that your face hurts to lagh half way through the movie theres something wrong with you plain and simple. This movie is a must see movie for all kids or adults.

John Leguasano was a shear genious in this and the squirl that you see in all of the comercials is a riot and if you dont go for any of my reasons just go to see the dodo bird scean i couldnt stop laghing.

This movie is a movie you will want to own as soon as it hits the stores.
[--- Good ---]by  Mar 18, 2002
I saw this film with a definitely "mixed" audience: my wife, my 2 year-old son, and a 30-something male friend of mine. We all enjoyed the film at some level, and none of us fell asleep. The animation is decent, though not Disney/Pixar quality. The voice-acting is adequate, though often bland. The plot is predictable, but entertaining.

Scrat, the sabre-toothed squirrel, absolutely steals the show. Although he is not directly involved in the main plot, his 10 minutes of screen time are priceless.
I was concerned about taking a 2 year-old to see a PG movie, but the violence that earned the PG rating is nothing more than what the networks will show between 5pm-7pm anyway, so my son had little reaction to it.

Overall I'd say the film is entertaining on many levels, though not as sentimental as "Monsters, Inc." A "should see" for family movie night or animation fans, but a "could see" or "wait for video" otherwise.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Apr 3, 2002
Unless you're looking to take your kids out, I wouldn't bother with this one. Next to an animated film like Shrek, this movie comes off like an old black and white cartoon. The only good parts involved the squirrel. Period. The rest is very, very lame.
[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberApr 16, 2002
A computer-animated version of "Three Godfathers," "Ice Age" tells the story of three misfits who banded together to bring an infant back to his family. It has some humor, but it also had some tender moments.

I like Srcat. He and his nut can be funny with uttering a word. He should get his own movie. A better dinosour movie still remains the 2000 Disney movie "Dinosour."
[--- Good ---]by  Apr 19, 2002
After watching the trailers on several different occasions I took my family to see Ice Age with much anticipation.

Although I was perhaps expecting a tad more from this movie due to the excellent trailers, both my self, my wife and our three sons aged 4,6 and 11 were not dissapointed.

The animation is terrific, the voice overs were selected well, the humour was well placed and the story a good one told well.

Certainly not a classic, but definately one for the collection.

6/10
I welcome any comments on my comments at fdperth@wiredcity.com.au
[--- See Now! ---]by  May 18, 2002
This is a laugh out liud movie with a bunch of cool laghs and a pretty good storyline. if your a kid (like me) see this movie today
[--- See Now! ---]by  Oct 24, 2002
i havnt had any good reason to go to the movies as of lately, but seeing the return of ice age has brung exitment back to my mind at just the thaught of getting the chance to see this movie in the theaters again. i hope those of you out there that mised it will go see it. as for me i'll see you at the theater.
[--- Good ---]by  Jul 18, 2003
[--- See Now! ---]by  Dec 27, 2007
This movie is very funny with some slapstick and a hilarious squirrel. Great entertainment for kids and a fun movie for adults as well.

Reader VoiceMake Your Voice Heard!

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Ice Age.




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.