The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now


Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, June 21st, 2002

Directed by Steven Spielberg

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Minority Report
Set in Washington D.C. in 2054, police utilize a psychic technology to arrest and convict murderers before they commit their crime. Tom Cruise is the head of this elite unit, and finds himself...  View more >

PG-13
violence, brief language, some sexuality and drug content

Starring Tom Cruise, Colin Farrell, Samantha Morton...  View more >

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Minority Report.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Good ---]by Sinamax Jun 22, 2002

The movie was entertaing, and provided some good action. While Tom Cruise is not my best pick for a favorite actor, he done well in this movie. The only drawback is that it gets long in some places. 

[--- Good ---]by Moovy Jun 22, 2002

A couple of criticisms I had with the movie:

*The relationship that John had with his wife was static and unconvincing, even including the fact that they had not been together for several years.

*After John became a fugitive of the law, why wouldn't the police station simply shut off his retinal scan access to prevent him from re-entering???

*The explanations of concepts and key points in the unfolding of the mystery were far too hurried, and hard to understand and enjoy.

*The movie ended badly (was somewhat rushed), in my opinion.

Other than those points, I thought it was enjoyable and a great theatre experience. The special effects are first-rate and the acting is good......... But a masterpiece this movie is not. 

[--- Good ---]by Vern Jun 26, 2002

Minority report is entertaining, exciting and surprising. It is a summer flick with an element of mystery that holds your interest throughout. The story certainly does not drag.

This movie does have an element of irony at the near end - and the movie would have been absolutely brilliant if it had ended there. But it didn't - while the ending wasn't all too bad I do think it was a little weaker then what it could have been.

That complaint aside Minority Report is a winner and worth watching. Spielberg redeems himself from the boring and uninspiring A.I. with this movie.  

[--- Good ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberJun 26, 2002

"Crime and Punishment" revisted in "Minority Report." Tom Cruise stars in the Steven Spielberg film about a cop who arrest people before the crime is being commited. Then, one day he was accussed of a crime he didn't commit, on a man that he never met. As a result he had to run.

The film deals with the way the future deals with criminals as well as the crime itself. The film has a wide-open view of what the future would be like in 2054. A very smart and powerful film. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Dan Jun 28, 2002

So What if this movie has a few minor flaws, if you are not hipicritical of this movie, you should love it. It's very well done. Go see it now. It's so damn cool. This could be the best movie of the summer. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Jake Jun 30, 2002

I was quite simply in awe of this movie the entire time. From the incredible opening sequence which details the inner workings of the "Precrime" unit to the surprising and suspenseful final moments, this movie grabbed me and held me in its beautiful futuristic world. It was exciting, and the action scenes were exciting and very original.

My personal favorite was a relatively quiet chase scene in which the main character is assisted by a psychic girl, who tells him what to do to avoid the bad guys. I enjoyed the relationship between the Tom Cruise character and his friends, most of which end up hunting him, but only because it's their job.

"Minority Report" deserves to take its spot as the greatest sci-fi noir ever made, miles and miles above and beyond the now-classic "Blade Runner." I loved every second of this movie and can't wait to see it again. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Richie Lam Jul 4, 2002

This is incredibly made sci-fi with great storyline but perhaps not as good as AI in some aspects. On the other hand, I can see shadows of AI in it. However, it shows how our not-so-distant future society looks like which is really fantastic.

Apart from the acting by Tom Cruise with such a familiar face, somehow the movie becomes not as convincing as it is supposed to be. (afterall Steven rarely works with superstar, right?)

However, there are things I don't figure out:
(1) How is it possible to sacrify human rights of the three pre-cons for PRECRIME?

(2) How can u claim a system as perfect while u can't prove it? Pure reduction in murder statistics can never justify the potential injustice to the wrongly convicted?

The combination of sophisicated storyline, future scenes, and actions certainly worths seeing it !! 

[--- See Now! ---]by Paul N. Reede Jul 6, 2002

I would have bet a hundred bucks that I wouldn't like this movie. The story line seemed stupid. However, it really surprised me. In fact it was great. It really keeps your attention and has some great humor. You do have to suspend your logic at times, but if you do you will really enjoy it. This is one of the best sci-fi movies I've ever seen.  

[--- Good ---]by mnm Jul 10, 2002

Pretty Good Movie. Not the best of the year, Not the best from Cruise or Speilberg, Not going to win (or even be nominated) for any awards. But an interesting plot and good action.

After having seen it, I felt ho-hum about it, but I did not regret seeing it. As I regreted seeing Planet of the Apes, Dungeons and Dragons, The Scorpion King and others.

Yes there are flaws in the logic of the movie - but turn off your common sense and enjoy the 2:20 movie.

I give it 3 out of 5 stars (maybe 2.5). 

[--- See Now! ---]by Odin Jul 12, 2002

You would be a fool not to see this movie. It is long (2:20) but it really didn't seem that long because I was so into the movie I had no concept of time.

The effects, story, action, comedy, and acting are just a few things this movie has to offer that are outstanding. So get some cash and go see it now, definitely worth the 8.50. 

[--- Good ---]by Glen Kimberley VIP MemberJul 15, 2002

A very good movie in my opinion.

Cruise is back to his best after hitting rock bottom with Mission Impossible II and following up with a mediocre effort in Vanilla Sky.

Although quite reminiscent of Spielbergs A.I. with it's vision of the near future, it's not spoilt by this and moves along at quite a pace with plenty of 'Fugitive' style chases, near apprehensions and mystery.

One of the better 'Summer Blockbusters'

7/10
Any comments about my comments can be sent to fdperth@wiredcity.com.au 

[--- Good ---]by Scott Jentsch VIP MemberJul 19, 2002

There was enough going on in Minority Report that it will warrant a second viewing. As science fiction goes, this is probably the best that has come along in quite some time, so I recommend seeing it when you get the chance.

Subsequent viewings will probably serve to raise my rating of this movie, since there is a lot going on, and I'm sure that I missed more than a few details. Echoes of "Bladerunner" are present throughout this movie as the protagonist struggles to find out the difference between good and evil, and whether technology and science is friend or foe.

Definitely worth the price of admission! 

[--- See Now! ---]by Tom K Jul 22, 2002

The film had suspense, drama, action, and was thought provoking. 

[--- See Now! ---]by David Jul 24, 2002

This movie was my favorite movie of the year. Tom Cruise did an exceptional job at his character. Everything was perfect for this film to happen.

From the beginning to the end it made me keep on watching it. Some movies just make me fall asleep because it's so boring. That is why you have got to see this movie "Minority Report". 

[--- See Now! ---]by Joe Kastner Jul 24, 2002

Minority Report marks the first time that superstar actor Tom Cruise and famed director Steven Spielberg have worked on a project together. Both had trouble with their last picture. Tom Cruise's Vanilla Sky didn't meet expectations and Steven Spielberg's A.I. Artificial Intelligence had a good opening weekend but tanked after that. Will Minority Report redeem them both?

The story centers around Tom Cruise's character who is captain working for the division of precrime. The division of precrime have three pre-Cogs that predict murders before they happen and it is up to the precrime division to stop the murders before they take place.

It is so perfect that there have been no murders in Washington D.C. in six years. But when a hot shot federal agent comes to take control of the precrime division, Cruise's character begins to notice flaws in the system. Now he has been set up to commit a murder of a man he has never heard of before in less then 36 hours and he must find some way to change his future.

Minority Report contains one of the best story lines in Hollywood today and I wouldn't expect less from Steven Spielberg. The movie flows surprisingly well considering that it was all developed from a short story.

The characters in Minority Report are exceeding good. I have never really been a fan of Tom Cruise's acting or his films in general but he gives possibly his best performance in Minority Report. The emotions he expresses are very well done and he was the perfect fit for this role.

Overall, Minority Report is definitely the best suspense thriller of 2002 if not the best film of the year. Spielberg really makes up for the mistakes he made in A.I. Artificial Intelligence and Tom Cruise proves to disbelievers that he can take on such a difficult project with one of the best directors of all time.

There were some things that prevented me from giving a perfect rating to Minority Report. The film is still 2 hours and 25 minutes long which I have never really liked. A film around 2 hours long is perfect for me but anything close to 3 hours seems too long. The story does slow down at times before picking right back up.

And finally the whole involvement with Tom Cruise's eyes was very disgusting for me and just bugged me throughout the film. It didn't ruin the movie for me but I have never really been good with such gore. Minority Report achieves everything it was meant to and more. This definitely goes a step above Spider-Man and Lilo & Stitch for the year and possibly any other thriller before it.

My Rating: ****1/2 out of 5 

[--- See Now! ---]by sandy interrante Aug 13, 2002

I saw Minority Report with some trepidation because I read mixed review about it. It was long, but it had me sitting on the edge of my seat because I enjoy science fiction.

The creations of the future were incredible and full of imagination. Everything about the future has to do with eye scans. Even walking into a mall will identify you. Imagine a holographic image greeting you by name, welcoming you to the mall. There's a lot of conspiracies involved processing this new technology that will uncover crimes before they're committed. Tom Cruise finds himself as a future potential murderer. There's a lot of sadness as to why he becomes a policeman involved in this, but a lot of action, twists and turns.

It kind of reminded me of the X-Files. Outside of violence, which was not senseless, it was a great film for older teens and adults to see. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Ron Higgins VIP MemberAug 26, 2002

If I had to pick the best movie of the summer (2002) I think I might have to go with Minority Report.

Not all out action and suspense, but more of a thinking mans movie. This movie felt original, something that's been missing in a lot of releases lately. The effects aren't over the top and you can tell that some thought has gone into what the not-so-distant future might look like. 

[--- Good ---]by wetback39906 Aug 17, 2012



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.