The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Wednesday, December 19th, 2012

Directed by Pete Docter
Genre: Family
Running Time: 1:32

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Monsters, Inc.
Academy Award® Winner
A little girl finds out that there really are monsters under her bed, and goes to their world, where no one has gone before. From Walt Disney and Pixar, the makers of Toy Story and A Bug's Life.  View more >

G

Starring Billy Crystal, John Goodman, Steve Buscemi...  View more >

Oscar ® Winner for Best Original Song
View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  8 67 See Now! Percent
Good  3 25 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  1 8 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  0 0 Stay Away! Percent
12 Total Reviews

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Monsters, Inc..

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by   Nov 2, 2001
i am 14 years old and i loved this g retaed kid movie, beside all the screams from little dudes it was very enjoyable.

i cought this right after school with my buds, the plot is very interesting, i remember having fears of monsters in my closets and i still to this day do not hang my feet over the edge! i love the voices from billy crystal and goodman, parents, dont be afraid this movie is not scary, more of a comical look at little dudes(ets) fears of monsters. go see this movie, and remember a 14 yearold highschool student from watertown, wi loved the movie!!!
[--- See Now! ---]by   Nov 2, 2001
I am writing this review for my son, who saw this movie today on his 8th birthday. From my son: The movie was very funny in some places, but also slow in other parts.

If I could, though, I would definitely see it again!!!
[--- See Now! ---]by   Nov 3, 2001
Must see! Just when you thought "give me a break, how could someone be in every childs door all the time"...they showed us! WOW. We laughed, we cried, we laughed again and again!
[--- Good ---]by VIP Member Nov 4, 2001
Ever wonder where those monsters in your closet come from? This tale from the creators of the Toy Story series (Pixar) lets you in on the mysteries of what happens each and every night in children's rooms across the world.

Monsters, Inc. is a place that employs scary creatures like Randell, Roz, Sulley and more. Sulley and his partner Mike are just your average everyday normal monsters. But on the job, it's another story.

In "monster world", the electricity is generated from the screams of little children. The job of monsters like Sulley is to jump out of children's closets scaring kids into screaming. Those screams are then collected and used to power the city.

Unfortunately, a little girl (Boo) ventures into monster world and we are treated to the wackiness that ensues.

The story line is acceptable for most ages and there are plenty of laughs for kids as well as adults. Voiced by such talent as John Goodman, Billy Crystal, Steve Buscemi and more.... this film would make a great outing for a rainy afternoon.

Copyright 2001 - Ron Higgins
<I>No unauthorized publication or distribution without the consent of Ron Higgins.</I>
[--- See Now! ---]by   Nov 9, 2001
I took my family (including 5 and 3 year old boys) this week. It was a very entertaining film that had both kids and adults entertained. The animation was first rate. The action was a little tense in a couple of scenes for the boys, but they were short scenes and ended with comic relief. Compared to most Disney movies this film had little violence or objectionable material.

The plot line involves "Monsters" hiding in kids closets, so it might be a good idea to "warn" sensitive kids so they are prepared for the opening scene where a little boy is scared while in his bed. But after that short scene with a funny ending the rest of the movie is fairly lighthearted. It was in the same vein as the Toy Story movies and I recommend it for families with children of all ages.
[--- Good ---]by   Nov 10, 2001
This was a very funny and enjoyable movie for people of all ages. There were a few slow spots and the plot seemed repetetive at some points, but a job well done overall.

Billy Crystal was hilarious although they could have given him more lines and jokes. Go see it at the theatres and you'll have a good time.

This was a hilarious movie that anyone would enjoy. The animation is great, and the voices fit the characters perfectly, especially Billy Crystal. I might go to see it again because they are now showing "bloopers" at the end which are all new.

I only give Monsters Inc. a "good" rating instead of "see now", because there is nothing you would miss if in fact you waited to rent it on video.
[--- Good ---]by VIP Member Nov 15, 2001
"Monsters Inc." is the newest amination feature from the Pixar people tells the story of a corperation that using energy though the screams of the children. One day a little girl entered their world and all hell breaks loose.

Very funny and amusing.
[--- See Now! ---]by   Nov 19, 2001
All around a great movie. I even liked the "short" they put in front of the movie. I laughed, I smiled and in the end I got a chance to remember what it was like as a child when you were only afraid of monsters in your closet and forget what it's like as an adult to be afraid of much worse.

I took my 4 year old neice with me and she loved it as well. At times she was a little scared but she quickly realized that everything was going to be ok.

A must see. If you're not into paying to see animated movies on the big screen, rent it in private. For a little while you'll be a kid again.
[--- See Now! ---]by   Jan 10, 2002
This was a spectacularly done film, on many levels.

The humor was incredible, and grew from the personalities of the characters, rather than crudeness or pratfalls. But it was still accessible to children (as demonstrated by the laughter from the kids at most of the same places I laughed). I'm 42, by the way.

The computer animation was awesome. It was good enough animation that you were able to forget it was animation. This is the first film I've seen where the computer animation actually heightened my ability to "suspend disbelief". If you want to see what I mean, watch Sully's fur. On second thought, don't. Not until you see it the second time, becasue it would take away from enjoying the rest of the story.

It is rare to see a film in theatres where my wife and I immediately agree that we're >>buying<< the video/DVD as soon as it comes out. It is that good!

Looked at objectively, the ending is almost syrupy, it's so sweet. But doggone it, they make it work! It could be a "misty-eye maker", or so cloyingly sweet that it doesn't work, but they tracked it perfectly, to where it just seems >right<.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by   Feb 23, 2002
I took my Brothers friend & him to see this, one is 10yrs, and one 14yrs. The 10yr old loved the film but found that there are no decent laughs or comedy in the film. The 14yr old hated it. He thought it was boring.

To be honest, I am 18, and i hated it, although it might be worth watching at home when the video comes out.
[--- See Now! ---]by   Aug 21, 2002
Well, the quality of 'Cartoons' or animated features these days just gets better and better.

Monsters Inc is no exception to that. It's funny. It's charming to watch and, once again, the characters fit the actors behind their voices perfectly.

I had a thouroughly good time during this, as did my wife and 3 sons.

9/10

Any comments on any of my comments are welcome at fdperth@wiredcity.com.au
[--- See Now! ---]by   May 10, 2013



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.