The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now


Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, June 22nd, 2001

Directed by Rob Cohen

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
The Fast and the Furious
An undercover cop infiltrates the ranks of street racers, looking for dirty money and semi-truck hijackers. To gain respect, he gets the attention of Dominic, the top racer on the streets of L.A., as...  View more >

PG-13
violence, sexual content and language

Starring Vin Diesel, Paul Walker, Jordana Brewster...  View more >

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The Fast and the Furious.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by Robert Wargolet III Jun 23, 2001

I have come to the conclusion that who ever gives this movie a bad review must be driving a 1980 Ford Aerostar Van with 240,000 miles and held together with duct tape, therefore never feeling the need for speed.

I thought this movie was great and definately worth seeing in the theater now especially for the sound. The cars and races were awesome and despite what others say, I thought there was a decent plot that kept you in suspense.

The movie is non-stop action without a single slow part to catch your breath. See this movie now! 

[--- Good ---]by angie Jun 24, 2001

I thought this was a good movie, the only thing i didn't like was that the ending was predictable, but i reccommend seeing it. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Dan Chapman Jun 24, 2001

The race scenes were awsome, the cars were almost as cool as in "Gone in 60 Seconds" (although not even that GTO can compare to Elenor), and the women were hot. What more could you ask for in a movie about street racing? I definately recommend seeing this on the big screen in the loudest theater you can find.

The only thing I found wrong with "The Fast and the Furious" was that it lacked closure. It left me wondering about all the characters because they'd jump around from being the "good guys" to being the "bad guys" and back again. They never really solved any of the conflicts in the plot either. I guess the writers just decided the cars were so cool that a plot could take back seat. I didn't mind... that GTO rocked! 

[--- See Now! ---]by Dave Plotz Jul 10, 2001

All and all the movie had it all, Decent plot, good devolpment, and action galore. The cinematagophy was much different the Gone in 60 seconds, giving the speed of the cars a much faster look. The detail to the cars preformace parts and the accuracy was all there, even in the super charged Dodge Charger. Lots of imported cars (hondas, toyotas, etc.) one Italian, and one classic.
 

[--- Good ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberJul 18, 2001

"The Fast and the Furious" is a action pack film about a undercover cop, played by Paul Walker, who are after semi-truck hijackers, though the world of street racing. Vin Diesel gave a powerful performance as the leader of the a gang of street-racers who Walker befriended. but diesel takes a poor second place to some of best stunts I have seen since "The Road Warrior." the film lives up to its title. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Leah Aug 5, 2001

This Movie was very good i saw it 5 times i saw it once with my best friend, once on my computer once with my cousin once with my brother and once at the drive-in 

[--- Good ---]by Moovy Aug 6, 2001

The action scenes are the only thing this film has going for it. I found myself cringing at some of the dialogue scenes. O man were they lame. "I live my life a quarter mile at a time." Yeah man, I bet you do......that's awesome. OK enough. 

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by Scott Jentsch VIP MemberOct 30, 2003

Go for the adrenaline, not the story.

The racing scenes are pretty good, and the soundtrack will numb your eardrums at times, but whatever you do, don't go for the plot. There isn't one. The dialog is bad, and there are major chunks of the story that are missing. Jordana Brewster definitely helps to get through the non-racing scenes.

With all the little boy-racer pocket rockets that are featured in this film, it's nice to see something with some real displacement near the end of the movie. The best car of all appears after the end of the credits, but most people watching this movie won't even be able to identify it, as it doesn't need nitrous to get where it needs to go.

It's not a bad movie, but it's not a good one either. 




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.