The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Sunday, October 22nd, 2000

Directed by Jeff Daniels

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Escanaba in Da Moonlight
On the night before deer season, a family in the Michigan U.P. must deal with the ongoing failure of their oldest son in never shooting his own buck.  View more >

PG-13
some crude humor

Starring Jeff Daniels, Harve Presnell, Wayne David Parker...  View more >

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Escanaba in Da Moonlight.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Good ---]by Peg Jan 26, 2001

This movie is hilarious and SO true. I can't remember the last time I laughed so hard! 

[--- See Now! ---]by Jeydee Jan 28, 2001

This is the funniest movie that I have ever seen at the theatre. It is a must see. Don't forget to go to the rest room before seeing it, or you might have an accident.

P.S. Get there earlier. It has been sold out at every showing. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Kim Joki Feb 3, 2001

"If ya want ta go to heaven, it's nort of da bridge." Albert Soady

I give Jeff Daniels a five out of five stars for his new movie "Escanaba in Da Moonlight". Take it from a native Yooper, he really captured humour and the essence of being from the Upper Peninsula (U.P.).

On location at a deer camp just north of Escanaba, Michigan. Jeff wrote, directed and acted in this production that is truly an original. Jeff Daniels plays Rueben Soady the "Buckless Yooper" destined to go down in the Family log book as the oldest Family member to get his first buck. He is made the butt of jokes from all the towns folk as being the "Buckless Yooper" as he leaves Escanaba heading to camp for yet another opening day of deer season in 1989. He meets his Father Albert at the camp and soon after his younger Brother Remnar shows up. Jim Negaminee from Menominee enters the scene after being abducted by aliens and having a missing time episode.

The crowd (1000+?) roared when the skinny and wimpy DNR officer from Detroit showed up. There is the standard fart scene that really had everyone rolling. Tall tales about previous opening days where scattered in along with some very strange visions. The movie really captured a Yooper feel with excellent acting from all involved. Reuben's younger Brother Remnar had the Yooper accent down pat... the Father did very well at it... but Jeff Daniels was sporatic with his.

All in All my wife and I found the movie to be hilarious. The slapstick comedy will appeal to young and old, hunter or not.  

[--- Good ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberFeb 15, 2001

Actor Jeff Daniels has turned "Escanaba in Da Moonlight" into a little fable about a group of hunters who get together for the annual deer hunt.

The film tells us that the UP is between the Mackinaw Bridge and heaven. That's a nice ribg to it since there are at leat 50,000 residents in the northern part of the state. Actor turned director Daniels created a world which is a seperation from the the state, if not of mind. You have to be crazy about these bunch of hunters with their little rituals and the way to hunt a deer.

One sugestion and that is funny to me, that Daniels, who played one of the deer hunters, is told to hunt almong M-35. But the little things mean alot for Daniels who also screenplay the movie makes the film funny and hunters a little human without going for the sitcon gags.

"Escanaba in Da Moonlight" is in limited release, but if enought people are willing to spend a few hours with a bunch of waky guys, who knows, that little movie might get some support. ***1/2 stars 

[--- Good ---]by Scott Mar 16, 2001

If you dont take this movie too seriously you could enjoy it. It did seem to
me that many people in the theatre laughed quite hard. I thought it had some
funny parts but, it did drag on after awhile.

This is definately regional humor. Since the humor is regional everyone in Wisconsin and the UP can relate to these guys whether you know someone like this or are related to someone like them. People in Florida and California will
not get this humor. My grade is a C-. 

[--- See Now! ---]by lynn kramer Mar 24, 2001

I saw this movie with my 14 year old son and wife and we all totally enjoyed it and split a gut laughing. The one liners were really a hoot and I can't wait for it to come out on video so I can purchas a copy for our deer camp. 

[--- Stay Away! ---]by dianekos Mar 30, 2001

I went with the intention of laughing and enjoying "Escanaba" based on the other reviews here. I love these types of movies especially "local" films with "local" humor. But this movie was so bad, I walked out and demanded a refund.

It was slow, not funny, and a waste of my time. I wanted to laugh but the opportunity never presented itself. So, I could NEVER recommend this movie to anyone.

Instead, take a drive and visit any tavern in northern WI. Day'll entertain youse guyz much bedder den dat dare movie will. OH YAHHHHHH! Youse bedder beleeve it!!!!!!! 

[--- Stay Away! ---]by jwward Apr 4, 2001

This is a must--Not See. Don't waste your money. Boring, stupid and crude. If you go after reading this, you will come out of the theatre wishing you had heeded my advice. 

[--- Stay Away! ---]by Linda Apr 19, 2001

Crude beyond belief and completely unfunny. My husband and I were only able to sit through the first hour, then finally got up and left.

I'm from Wisconsin and understand deer hunting but this junk made no sense. Jeff Daniels doesn't know what's funny and really "dissed" his freinds and neighbors in Escanaba. Hmm, maybe that's what he really intended after all. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Pat Collins May 19, 2001

If you have ever been deer hunting or know someone that is a hunter, you will thoroughly enjoy this movie. It takes you through a rollercoaster of emotions as you follow the hunt.

There were times that I nearly fell out of my seat because I was laughing so hard. I hope that this film gets full national release so that all may enjoy it. 




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.