Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Hacksaw Ridge
Academy Award® Winner
The extraordinary true story of conscientious objector Desmond Doss who, in Okinawa during the bloodiest battle of WWII, saved 75 men without firing a gun. Believing that the War was just but killing...  View more >

Starring Andrew Garfield, Sam Worthington, Luke Bracey...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Nov 11, 2016
This movie kept you interested all of the way through. It is a true story and yet in some parts, it was unbelievable. I have never seen a movie that made me feel I was right there in the middle of it. It is bloody and it is gory and hard to watch in some places. Mel Gibson likes to make shock scenes. I highly recommend this movie but it is not for the faint of heart. Both the acting and directing was suburb.
Nov 11, 2016
If this doesn't win an academy award I don't know what would! One of the best movies, period. Excellent acting, supreme story and inspiring message. Go see it!
Nov 13, 2016
Instantly one of, if not the best movie of the year. Director Mel Gibson delivers again on another brutally intense and inspiring film. This is clearly the best performance of Andrew Garfield's career. The film's emotionally raw experience will leave you floored. A must see.
Nov 15, 2016
I haven't heard much from Mel Gibson in years. The last that I heard of him, he was yelling at his ex-girlfriend that was caught on tape and was all over the news. Every time I heard him yelling on tape, I had to grab the remote and press mute. "Don't call it a comeback," the opening lyrics of a rap song once suggest. Gibson hasn't done anything on the big screen for years, he never left the Hollywood radar. "Hacksaw Ridge" is one of those movie that tell about heroism on the battlefield that Gibson needs to tell. it's a true story about Ptc Desmond T. Doss (Andrew Garfield) who enter the army over the objection of his drunken father who serve the first World War. His object to become a medic instead of a fighting soldier because he will not kill anyone in battle based on his religious beliefs. The other men turn against him and he nearly went to jail for his objection. But he stay in the military and he ended up at the battle Oksnama when he saved 75 men without firing a shot. As a result, he receive congressional medal of honor. Yes, the battle scenes are very violent, the usual stuff you see in war movies in the past 20 years, but it you can stomach "Saving Private Ryan" you can stomach this movie. There was one scene where rats were eating one of the soldiers. I didn't want to bring that up, but you need to be prepare before you see this movie. Also in the cast is Teresa Palmer as his wife and Vince Vaughn (in a rare dramatic role) as his sergeant. Mel Gibson really did a war movie about someone who refuse to kill in battle. While war movies (especially World War 2 movies) began to fade away. We get to see a war movie that works. The movie is "Hacksaw Ridge."
Nov 23, 2016
Mel Gibson did an excellent job bringing this compelling story to life. Hacksaw Ridge was very thought provoking telling the TRUE story of this amazing man of faith and personal convictions. Although seeing the movie the day before this review, I can't get it off my mind.
Nov 25, 2016
One of the very best WWII movies I have EVER seen! It is real and it is TRUE!

One word to describe it: WOW!

Go see it now before it's out of the Big Screen viewing scene!
Nov 30, 2016
Mar 7, 2017
Hacksaw Ridge was really good, but I hesitate to give it a See Now! rating. For that, I'd like to see a movie have a greater impact, and while it was well-acted, well-directed, and had an inspirational story, it didn't make a huge impression on me.

Boiled down to its essential elements, this is a story of a man with unusual and unpopular beliefs entering a system which greatly discourages non-normal behavior and actions that are not by the book. His struggles against those who wish him to conform takes up a large portion of the story, with his incredible heroism taking up the final (smaller) portion.

I bought this movie on disc so that I could get the Atmos soundtrack (rental copies from Redbox and Netflix don't have it), and I am not sure that I'll ever watch it again. I like war movies in general, so I might give it another viewing some time, but if someone wanted to trade for something else I have an interest in, I wouldn't feel bad about letting it go.

That's not the mark of a "Best Picture of the Year" movie for me, so I have to go against the grain here and give it a "Good" instead.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Hacksaw Ridge.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2017, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook