The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, July 27th, 2001

Directed by Tim Burton
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 2:00

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Planet of the Apes
The 2001 version of the classic story about an upside down version of reality, where apes are in charge and humans and hunted and enslaved. One man stands out from the rest, challenging the status...  View more >

PG-13
some sequences of action/violence

Starring Mark Wahlberg, Kris Kristofferson, Estella Warren...  View more >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  4 22 See Now! Percent
Good  10 56 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  3 17 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  1 6 Stay Away! Percent
18 Total Reviews

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Planet of the Apes.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Good ---]by  Jul 28, 2001
Evil killer monkeys. Need I say more?

It delivers on action and excitement, although the social commmentary isn't near as effective as the Charlton Heston original. The "twist" ending left me bewildered and confused, but at least it sent me out of the theater thinking!

My biggest complaint, though, is that it seems as though many characters who were meant to be important aren't given nearly enough screen time. I found myself not caring much about the human-to-human love relationship going on because the woman (Estalla Warren) seemed largely forgotten during long chunks of the movie (see, I can't even remember her character's name!).

As I said before, this movie has its share of action, killer monkeys, great makeup, special effects and visuals. It's not a masterpiece, but at least it's a decent summer flick.
[--- Good ---]by  Jul 28, 2001
There was a lot of action and the sffects were great. To be enjoyed it should be seen on the big screen rather than video.

The only problum I had was with the ending of the movie, this was very weak and seemed as if the last half hour was a search for a way to end it.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jul 28, 2001
Earlier this week we watched the original, I have to admit, we remembered it to be a lot better than it was, the acting left us cracking up. The make up for that era was still well done though. My wife and I were anxiously awaiting this new creation. We were not disappointed, it is one of the best movies that we have seen this summer.

When you compare movies, JP3 is not in the same league that Planet of the Apes is. The action, the movement, the storyline, all were excellent, and the ending, who could've ask for more?

I won't give away the ending, but, for all you idiots that flew off the handle and attempted to cause some stupid controversy over the ending, pooey on all of you, IT IS JUST A MOVIE!!! SCIENCE FICTION at THAT!!! DUUUHHH!!! Try getting a real life and worry about something like world peace, now that might be an important topic for conversation. Get OFF your high horse and enjoy the movie for what it was meant to be---ENTERTAINMENT!!!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jul 29, 2001
Excellent... makeup and effects are fantastic. Storyline has some parallels to original but enough difference that you cannot predict the entire end. Mr Heston we knew it was you even in the makeup :) Can't fool your fans. Good job. How appropriate the scene was for you, I won't give away the situation.

Tim Burton once again does a wonderful job. Congrulations to the Ladish's and Modern Props for awing the audience with your magic.
[--- Good ---]by  Jul 30, 2001
even though 'planet of the apes' isn't nearly as cool as i was hoping it would be i still think it's worth seeing in the theater -- if only for the make-up, sound and special effects.

it's really too bad that the movie, while so visually developed, is so desperately lacking in the social commentary i was looking forward to. quite little (considering) is made of man's inhumanity to man (much less his still-vivisected closest cousins) so it's hard to watch 'planet of the apes' and not silently tick off the missed opportunities. the contrived and completely illogical twist ending are also fairly dissapointing.

but, even so, tim roth and helena bonham carter are great (although i think carter may have been better served by a stronger less wishy-washy ape character -- 2001's first ape-feminist perhaps!) and visually there's a really luxurious texture to everything. the ape-city and some of the ape-homes in particular are really fun and everything has that awesome burton-feel that i've come to love.

so the plot may be swiss and the science abysmal but it's still fun watching the evil jumping monkeys.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Jul 30, 2001
Well, this idiot expected more bang for his buck, especially a better ending. A big let down, even on the big screen.

Not enough plot, or action, or character development. Bad writing. Pretty weak all around, with the usual, banal/ tiresome 'let's make a brave new world new age globalist communistic brain candy' the sheople are eating up these days.

Rosie O'Donnel will love this one.
[--- Good ---]by  Aug 2, 2001
Great Entertaining movie. The ending is probably telling us there will be a sequel.
[--- Good ---]by  Aug 3, 2001
The movie was alright. All my friends kept on wanting to see it so I went and saw it three times.

The first time it's pretty good. The second time I started to see gaps and mistakes. The thrid time it just kind of dragged on. But it still was good, except General Thade's father looks like Mark Twain from far away.

The movie was pretty good all up untill the end. What's up with that? Any way I was mostly decieved by the movie poster that made me think there was going to be a big battle scene there wasn't so if that's what you're looking for I would not reccomend it. If you're just looking for something to do, see it.
[--- Good ---]by  Aug 3, 2001
A good summer Flic, worth the time and the money.
[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Aug 4, 2001
STOP

This movie is J-U-N-K!!!

Worst movie I have seen in years, compare to The hype of wild wild west with will smith…

Garbage, poor acting and to many sound effects at the wrong time. The director should be sent to JAIL for this movie.. Go see anything but this ape hype…

Rent at own risk..............
[--- Good ---]by  Aug 4, 2001
Tim Burton just misses with this movie. It's strong point is that the competition misses too. An okay movie in a disappointing summer.
[--- Good ---]by  Aug 6, 2001
The ending is weird! Thinking about it after I left the theatre didn't help much. The authors experienced a mind meltdown just when they needed to bring this thing to a great finish! The opportunity was there, but they missed it! Unfortunately, it left a bad taste in my mouth after viewing an otherwise enjoyable movie.

Some of the characters were very well portrayed! Others could have been built up more. My favorite character was the human-slave seller. He made a light, humorous and very important contribution. Nothing would have been the same without him!

Visuals and motion sequences were great! It ranks high on my creativity scale. Thought provoking and worth the time & money to see. Pay close attention at the end! See if you can figure it out ....
[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberAug 17, 2001
A remake of the 1968 movie, only director Tim Burton has remade it into a dark film about a different view of Evolution. the film stars Mark Wahlberg as a space man who crashes on a planet populated by apes.

The film is fun to watch as Wahlberg stage a human revolt against the apes. Helen Boheran Carter is excellent as the ape who befriends Wahlberg.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Aug 17, 2001
I really liked this movie, and thought the make-up was GREAT! How did they get the lips to move like that?? Really cool! The effects and the sets were lush, too.

I must admit that I was disappointed in the ending. After this "epic" type film, I was left feeling like "huh?". I didn't think it added anything to the movie and was not amusing, clever, or a good setup for a sequel.

And I will admit that I was not caught up in the "love" relationships between any of them, and they could have gotten deeper into issues, even in a symbolic sense.

But I am generally a Tim Burton fan, and this is a overall a really good summer flick to see.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Aug 21, 2001
I was really happy to see that the movie creators stayed closely to the original plot of Planet of the Apes. They did add some explanations that left us confused when the movie came out way back when I was a kid.

I found the movie to be exciting, and it left me anxious for the sequel. Way to go guys, loved this one!!!
[--- Good ---]by  Sep 22, 2001
I would have to say that this movie was good. I enjoyed how they made the apes look. Much better than the original. The special effects were awesome and the movie itself kept me focused. I did like helena Carter in this movie. But yes i agree with most that the very end was pretty lame.

And thats why i gave this movie a "Good" rating instead of "See Now". But if you get the chance go see it.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Nov 5, 2001
This movie was way under par...and the mistakes were really noticable. I wouldn't pay too much for this one. Plus, what do Walburg and Ms. Ape woman have going on anyways??...that was pretty sickening!!
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by VIP MemberJul 21, 2003



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.