The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, July 13th, 2001

Directed by Robert Luketic
Genre: Comedy
Running Time: 1:34

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Legally Blonde
Reese Witherspoon plays a blonde from California who has it all, including the affection of the cutest guy on campus. The only thing preventing her from becoming Mrs. Warner Huntington III is the...  View more >

PG-13
language and sexual references

Starring Reese Witherspoon, Matthew Davis, Osgood Perkins...  View more >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  6 50 See Now! Percent
Good  5 42 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  1 8 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  0 0 Stay Away! Percent
12 Total Reviews

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jul 18, 2001
This was such a hilarious movie! I would see it agian any day. Reese Witherspoon was a great actress. Go see the movie it's the best!!!
[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberJul 18, 2001
While I would love to rate this movie a "See Now", I just don't feel that it meets the requirements of the "See Now" category. However, that won't stop me from recommending it with a hearty smile and thumbs up.

After being stung by several bad movies in a row, I needed Legally Blonde in the worst way. From the trailers I knew what to expect and I knew that I would like what I was going to get. This film didn't disappoint me. Interesting characters and plenty of laughs had me leaving the theater with a happy feeling.

<A HREF="http://us.imdb.com/Name?Witherspoon,+Reese">Reese Witherspoon</A> is Elle, a University of California student about to be engaged to the all-American boy Warner Huntington III (played by <A HREF="http://us.imdb.com/Name?Davis,+Matthew+(II)">Matthew Davis</A>. Warner however has other plans.

Elle follows him to Harvard Law School in an attempt to win him back. That is where things really get interesting. Lawyers aren't supposed to be cheery and blonde.

While the storyline is straight and predictable, if you're looking for some lighthearted fun, this is it. I found myself laughing out loud (with the rest of the theater) several times.

Copyright 2001 - Ron Higgins
<I>No unauthorized publication or distribution without the consent of Ron Higgins.</I>
[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberJul 18, 2001
Reese Witherespoon is the biggest reason why I'm recomeding "Legally Blonde." she plays a blonde bombshell out west until her boyfriend broke off their realonship and head east to harvard. She follows him to law school where she became a lawyer with her wit and personality. Like Renee Zellweger, Witherspoon is not afraid of playing strong women roles. I like her dog, he doesn't talk.
[--- Good ---]by  Jul 21, 2001
Legally Blonde was funny, light,and unpredictable in parts. The development of Elle's character was well done. She was flighty fulfilling every stereotype that blondes represent. It was great how she stayed true to herself and her very weaknesses became her greatest assets. It seemed that she remained "too blonde" for too long, but that was part of the character development.

Generally I see a movie once and that is it. Legally Blonde has been on my mind since watching it. I would like and probably will go see it again.
[--- Good ---]by  Jul 24, 2001
Even though I don't have a soul, I still found this movie funny. It's completely predictable, yet charming, although definitely not realistic (no offense to blondes, but come on, you have to see how dumb this girl ACTS!)
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jul 28, 2001
iT WAS VERY ENTERTAING AND FUN TO WATCH. i BELIEVE SHE WILL BE ANOTHE mEG rYAN OR GOLDIE HAWN . hER TALENT AND LOOKS CARRY THE SHOW VERY WELL. i WASN,T BORED FOR A MONET.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jul 29, 2001
This was an excellent movie, it was very funny, go see it now!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Aug 4, 2001
This was the best movie ever!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Aug 10, 2001
Was afraid that it was going to be 'stupid teenage movie' but it really was done in good taste!

If you want to feel good after seeing a movie.. then this is the ticket!
[--- Good ---]by  Sep 30, 2001
I expected this to be cute but a little lame, but I came away thinking it was anything but lame. Unrealistic maybe, but it was lighthearted, cute and entertaining. Reminds me of the expectation/impression I got from Clueless.

Very cute film, and I love that the "unique" salon-nail-tech got the UPS guy.

Thumbs up!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Nov 21, 2001
A very funny movie. Yes it does kinda have that " Clueless" feel to it. But it is a good movie non the less.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by VIP MemberJul 21, 2003
A little too perky for its own good.

Reader VoiceMake Your Voice Heard!

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Legally Blonde.




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.