Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Ocean's Eleven
Less than 24 hours into his parole, dapper thief George Clooney gathers together 11 specialists to steal from three Las Vegas casinos owned by the guy dating his ex-girlfriend (Julia Roberts).

Starring George Clooney, Julia Roberts, Brad Pitt...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Dec 7, 2001
I loved this movie. The cast was exceptional, the acting great and I loved the plot. I will buy this movie when it comes out on DVD.

My only complaint is the soundtrack. There really wasnt one. It would have been even better had they put some really good music to it.
[--- Good ---]by  
Dec 8, 2001
We enjoyed this movie alot. also liked the cast they worked very well together. I think Clooney and Pitt are a great team and we will see more of them together. They have great chemistry.

I also was dissappointed by the lack of music in alot of scenes. It would have been more exciting if it did have good music.
Dec 8, 2001
Better than average but far from excellent. George Clooney has tremendous stage presence, and I think he carries this movie. The scenes he has with Julia Roberts will have you riveted to the screen. If they did a love story together for the big screen, it would do quite well.

I don't think Brad Pitt was right for this role, especially being placed opposite Clooney. Clooney overshadows him to the point that it seems odd because of Pitt's name and fame. Honestly, I think Pitt might have some kind of speech impediment. His dialogue scenes appear totally artificial. He has great presence because of his looks and he is a bright guy, but like I said, Clooney tends to dominate with his screen presence.

The movie gets much better as it progresses and as the action and suspense begins developing. There aren't too many twists and turns that make it over complicated, but I did get somewhat lost towards the end. If someone could explain the SWAT team scenario to me, I would really appreciate it! :)
[--- Good ---]by  
Dec 8, 2001
We went into this movie not knowing anything except George Clooney and Julia Roberts were in it. We were pleansantly surprised. All-star cast.

You have to go into this movie remembering one thing - it's a movie and you can do ANYTHING in movies. Which made it fun. If you're looking for realistic - stay home. If you're looking for something entertaining (lots of 1-liners), suspenseful, action, and some romance - this is the movie for you. Enjoy!
[--- Stay Away! ---]by  
Dec 16, 2001
this movie was soooo retarded!!!! it was so boring i almost fell asleep the only good thing was bradd pitt :)
[--- Good ---]by  
Dec 16, 2001
This was a a fun movie, but I can definitely say that it isn't for someone looking for more of a "thinking" movie (like Traffic or Erin Brockovich, Soderburgh's last two movies). You'll go, laugh at the jokes, enjoy the great actors and dialogue, walk out feeling good about spending an afternoon or evening at this movie, and then most likely not think about it anymore. It's pure fluff, but it's good fluff.

The first part is pretty much standard setup: main character sets out to recruit for his big heist. It's when the actual heisting starts that Ocean's Eleven really works well.
Dec 17, 2001
George Cloony leads a strong in this remake of the 1961 film starring Frank Sinatra. Cloony is leader of a group of experts who attempt to steal money from three casinos.

Not much of a movie, but I had fun watching Cloony and company did what Sinatra and company did 40 years ago. But I love Julia Roberts, ever time she's on the screen I couldn't take my eyes off her.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Dec 28, 2001
Ocean's 11 is the perfect escape flick for the season.

George Clooney once again plays the charming good-guy/bad-guy as he did in "Oh Brother" and "3 Kings," you can't help but love this character. The rest of the case rounds out nicely, with Brad Pitt really showing that he has some acting talent, and not just another pretty face. (Of course, how much talent is needed to play a couple of wise-guy Vegas boys?)

The movie, just like the original, was well stacked with the male movie hunks of the era, making it mighty fun to watch. The brief love interest adds a dimension to the plot that Clooney can't go without and ads some twist, but PLEASE, get Julia Roberts off the screen! That girl needs some serious lip reduction surgury and more than a few acting lessons. I think this pretty woman's day is about over, and I expect to see more of her on Life Time real soon.

Regardless of Robert's presence (mercifully short) this movie provides fun, action, and 1 1/2 hours of Clooney. What more can you ask for?
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 15, 2002
This movie has George Clooney, do you really need a review? I'd pay eight bucks to watch George Clooney blink for two hours. Didn't even notice there wasn't any music.
[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 23, 2002
The movie oceans eleven Starring George Clooney, Brad Pitt, Julia Roberts and other favorites is one of the best movies i have seen in a while of that genre. This movie is action, adventure, comedy, and crime all rolled into one.

It was filmed in two of my favorite places: California, and Nevada. Ocean's Eleven is about a man and his hand-picked crew who go to Las Vegas to attempt the largest casino robbery, of not one but three Casinos and get away with it.

The acting in this movie was wonderful, the only thing was that Julia Robert's had like 2 lines and they didn't show off her great acting ability. For other movie like this one watch Rat Pack I have heard they all very alike.
Apr 19, 2002
A very good piece of evenings entertainment.

Plenty of drama, laughs and action. A good plot. Solid performances by the stars and not too much straying from the main storyline. All together this makes for a movie well worth watching on the big screen.

The only minor dissapointment for me was that the ending left the door ajar for a sequal that will probably never be made. I hate loose ends, even small ones.

7/10
Any comments on my comments can be sent to fdperth@wiredcity.com.au

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Ocean's Eleven.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2017, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook