The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, August 10th, 2001

Directed by Alejandro Amenabar
Genre: Horror
Running Time: 1:54

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
The Others
Nicole Kidman plays the mother of two sick children who takes them to a remote island mansion to care for them. While there, she begins to realize that all is not well in her new home, and they are...  View more >

PG-13
thematic elements and frightening moments

Starring Nicole Kidman, Elaine Cassidy, Christopher Eccleston...  View more >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  4 33 See Now! Percent
Good  4 33 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  2 17 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  2 17 Stay Away! Percent
12 Total Reviews

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Aug 13, 2001
I really enjoyed this one!! Not exactly the quality of the "The Sixth Sense" but it's pretty close. They found a different angle where others had tried and failed! The casting was just right and the acting was superb! I'm glad I saw this during day light hours :)

Nicole Kidman was great but the young actress playing her daughter was just as great!! I don't recall the youngster from other films but expect to see her in the future.

I highly recommend this movie to those who enjoy being startled, and are comfortable dealing with issues of the after-life!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Aug 13, 2001
This was an excellent movie and didn't need swearing, nudity, or the gore. I am a big horror movie fan and this was the first horror movie that I have ever screamed at.
[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Aug 14, 2001
Awful movie. It completely lacked originality of thought or substance in plot and moved 'terribly' slow.

Just as I was ready to fall asleep (which occurred several times) there was a ghost to slam a door and wake me back up (YUK!) These movies exploring communication with the dead just aren't my cup of tea. The Sixth Sense was original and well made, though communication with the dead, however sweet it is portrayed on screen and in pop culture, is not all it's cracked up to be.

What the world needs now is someone like Diogenes, who walked through the street in the middle of the day with a lantern, "Looking for a good person." More common sense and less sixth sense.
[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Aug 14, 2001
This is the worst movie I have seen all year !!!. It moved very slowly. Nothing of great interest happened until about 1 1/2 hours into the movie.

This movie tries to be a movie similar to The Sixth Sense but falls flat. I was not scared,frightened or anything. I wish I would have brought in more money so I could have ran to the Concession stand a few times.

If You want to sleep in a quiet theater this is your movie. If you are one of the very few people who actually liked Blair Witch Project this bad movie might impress you.

Stay away,please......
[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberAug 24, 2001
In this thriller, Nichole Kidman plays the mother who cares for two sick children in an haunted mansion where weird things happened. This filmm has a shocking ending that rivals "Planet of the Apes." "The Others" is a good scare movie.
[--- Good ---]by  Aug 26, 2001
It was creepy, well made and fun. It was not scary, I was expecting to see more of a 6th Sence or a What Lies Benieth. It was kind of exciting. Kidman did a great job with the movie.

Definitly worth the price of a cheaper theatre. But not worth .50, But close.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Aug 29, 2001
Very very good movie. If you want to see go to the theatre first. You need the dolby surround sound to the full impact of the hushes voices and intense silence.

I liked this movie for the background you get. It leaves nothing hanging. Plus it has a great twist that just makes it even better. Go see it if you liked Sixth Sense. It goes back to the old version of horror making. No blood and gore. Just sounds and inuendos that makes your brain scare you instead of your eyes. Great Movie.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Sep 24, 2001
We found the movie fast moving and off your seat kind of movie. No chase to talk here it's to good to miss a word. All actors were very good. Ending great!!
[--- Good ---]by  Sep 27, 2001
Slow, but still interesting and entertaining. Kidman is excellent.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Sep 30, 2001
I saw this with my sister and 3/4 of the way thru we looked at each other wondereing what else we could have done with our day. Almost but not quite as bad as when we wasted time watching Eyes Wide Shut.

The end is interesting but doesn't make up for the rest of the film.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Mar 22, 2002
After reading several reviews about "the twist" at the end of the movie, I was excited to see the movie. Well, it was nothing like The Sixth Sence (but what can be like that). It was a shocker, it was unexpected, but not a "Holy Sh!!" type climax.

The husband coming home was confusing. Was this the big "twist"? Ends up it was not? I still don't know why he came back. (I saw the movie months ago and as I sit here today - I dont remember why he came back, how did it advance the plot?)

This is definately a 'thriller' not a horror movie, as it was long and 'gothic'.

Not a bad movie, but not a must see on the big screen. Worth a rental!!

2 stars out of 5
[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberJul 21, 2003
I didn't see the twist coming, very well done.

Reader VoiceMake Your Voice Heard!

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The Others.




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.