The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, April 19th, 2002

Directed by Joel Zwick
Genre: Romance
Running Time: 1:35

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
My Big Fat Greek Wedding
Toula Portokalos' family from the suburbs of Chicago promotes exactly three traditional values - Marry a Greek boy, have Greek babies, and feed everyone. From an early age, she is mortified by their...  View more >

PG
sensuality and language

Starring Nia Vardalos, Louis Mandylor, Ian Gomez...  View more >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  14 82 See Now! Percent
Good  3 18 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  0 0 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  0 0 Stay Away! Percent
17 Total Reviews

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  May 28, 2002
Thius is the most hilarious movie I have seen in a long time.I am going to see it again and I tell all my friends to see it now!!!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jun 12, 2002
This movie has all the elements: good performances, good story, and big laughs.
A refreshing break from all the "blockbusters" that are rolled out all summer.

A definite must see movie!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jun 28, 2002
Absolutely loved it! Having just gone through the exact same thing 9 months ago, I could relate and laughed my butt off!

I will see it again, this time with my husband, and also buy it when it comes out on video! See it now!
[--- Good ---]by  Jul 3, 2002
Since this film was made in Chicago, I'm partial to it. Of course it had ethnic overtones of the huge Greek family moving through their stereo-types as being loud, into restaurant businesses, involved with one another.

It was humorous as a non-Greek man falls in love with a rather plain, though good-natured, Greek girl. What ensues is how the family deals with this, and then absorbs him and his parents into their family.

There were a lot of laughs, especially when the brothers of the bride tell her fiance how to say things in Greek, but were really off base. It was a lot of fun, light-hearted somewhat like "Return to Me". It's a good film to take Mom and Dad to see if you want a night out at the movies because there's nothing offensive in it.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jul 5, 2002
I loved it
[--- Good ---]by  Aug 4, 2002
Its kind of a "chick flick" but a very cute movie. It was very funny. Some of the family members were a total hoot. I would recommend it.

The only problem I had with the film was the casting of the lead couple. I would have enjoyed the movie more if there was another person in the title role (prefer not to say if it was the male or female).
[--- See Now! ---]by  Aug 24, 2002
I have heard statements on the TV from reviewers that said this was the summer's sleeper hit. I believe that this is the summer's feel good hit. A day after I saw this movie I am still thinking about it and smiling. My husband went along only because I dragged him, he ended up liking it as much as I did. On the fifty some mile trip back to our home, we talked and laughed about it the entire way, and the first thing I did when I got home was tell my neighbors to see it, emailed my friends about it, and called my Mother and told her to go see it.

This movie made us feel like we were a part of it. Now I wonder how we can wrangle ourselves invitations to a Greek Wedding.
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP MemberAug 28, 2002
I had to wait four months for my Greek Wedding. The film was release last April, and played in Battle Creek and Grand Rapids before it finally opened in Kalamazoo and it's worth the wait.

"My Big Fat Greek Wedding" told of a plain looking woman who got her degree and fell in love with a nice man. The film tells of pride in not only family, but in religion and culture.

It's funny and well written. It's a must see. "Greek Wedding" made my day.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Sep 2, 2002
This was a good movie. No plot to wounder about, just good humor and fun.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Sep 6, 2002
My wife and I had a great time at this movie. People at work were discussing it as well...all with positive comments. It is simple and joyful and the ethnic slant is something that I could relate to.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Oct 4, 2002
Just saw the movie and can't stop laughing about it! It's in some ways like "Moonstruck" on steroids.

It's not a chick flick either. My husband was laughing as much as I was and we are still snickering. Bring lots of Kleenex (and windex)!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Oct 31, 2002
One of the best movies I have seen in 2002. It's been awhile since I've laughed that hard during a movie. A simple movie yet very well done. I really enjoyed it.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Oct 31, 2002
It was so funny that I started to cry. I would go and see the movie more than once. I would even buy for my personal enjoyment at the privacy of my own home. I could be mad before the movie and leave laughing. I would like to see a sequel made about the movie.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Feb 15, 2003
Wow, what a surprise! I went to see this with no expectations at all, and came out truly satisfied. This is just a very nice change of pace movie from all the violence that is out there. Take your favorite person and enjoy!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Feb 25, 2003
Funny movie, worth the investment!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Mar 12, 2003
We laughed out loud thoughout the movie -- Great fun!
[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberJun 30, 2003
It's a nice, pleasant comedy that is well-paced.

I think one of the main reasons this film was such a sensation is that everyone was so surprised by a movie didn't have a big budget, didn't star multimillion dollar cast members, and didn't have a huge promotional budget.

It's a relief that the American public is still able to catch hold of such a film and show the studios that it's the story that matters, but it's disheartening to realize that the lesson was not learned and put into action.

All that aside, My Big Fat Greek Wedding was a good film and well worth seeing. Enjoy!

Reader VoiceMake Your Voice Heard!

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for My Big Fat Greek Wedding.




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.