Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster

Remove ads with our VIP Service
A Beautiful Mind
Academy Award® Winner
Based on the true story of John Nash, a brilliant mathematician and Nobel prize winner, who struggled through most of his adult life with schizophrenia.

Starring Russell Crowe, Ed Harris, Jennifer Connelly...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 2, 2002
There have been a couple of films this season concerning illusion and reality. There is a point in A Beautiful Mind where the viewer wonders if this film will try to become philosophical.

However, director Ron Howard does not wonder in that area. In fact, he makes visual the experience of a schizophrenic. Since the particular schizophrenic is a real person, Dr. John Nash, a Nobel Priuze winner, the film has even more relevance. Unless one was aware of the details of Nash's life, one had the feeling one was in another movie that simply wanted to confuse. But Howard paces this film in such a way that the viewer becomes aware of the illusion as Nash does.

The final twenty minutes of the film tends to be a little sloppy emotionally, especially when compared to the hard edge Howard had maintained. Yet the film stands out as one of the best in the December Christmas season. And Howard reminds us that a film director's job is to tell a story, not be a philosopher.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 5, 2002
What an excellent movie. When I saw the previews for it, I expected the majority of the story to be about his work with the government, but when it turned out that the story was really about his mental illness, I was pleasantly surprised.

Russell Crowe was outstanding in this film, and deserves an academy award.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 5, 2002
This is a very good movie- I would probably give it 3 stars- but what really makes it shine is the acting- it is superb, especially Russell Crowe who is magnificent, his best work yet. Also great is Paul Bettany who plays the roomate.

I recommend this movie to anyone who loves to watch great acting.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 5, 2002
This was a great movie! Russel Crowe was excellent for this movie. He's a great actor and had a great cast behind him.

The story line was very different and kept my interest throughout the movie. There was never a second when it was boring.

This movie deserves many awards. I highly recommend this movie to anyone!
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 5, 2002
This movie was amazing. I would definitely reccomend this movie to anyone, except little kids.

Russell Crowe was a terrific actor and deserves many awards for this film. I can't say a whole lot more about this movie or it will give it away, but all I can say is that you have to go see this movie, it is by far the best movie I have seen in a long, long, long time.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 6, 2002
This true story takes place in 1947. John Nash is a student at Princeton. John is a genius at math and has this brilliant mind where he see things in geometric patterns..for instance he see pigeons eating crumbs from the ground but he see these pigeons creating a 'defined geometric pattern' as they go about their task of eating.

John see his friends tie as beautiful shapes and light rays coming off of it... He see men playing football as a pattern, as well as even a man stealing a purse has a pattern...

(Some believe that all things are based on geometric shapes, its called sacred geometry!)

John is unlike his classmates. John talks about how classes destroy ones mind and he tells his friends how is wants an 'original idea' It seems to be his main thrust while a student at the school...

John is lacking in social skills. He talks about how 'his odds improve' with creating friendships with the girls with each attempt...

He calls sexual intercourse 'fluid exchange' and does not have very good luck with that line!

There also is this funny line that says, "I have respect for beer"...well, this line is funnier in the movie...

In time John becomes a Professor (John has a life span of 47 years in this movie...well, anyway John falls in love with Alicia a student at the school. Alicia talks about God as being a Painter because of all the colors... She is a good match for John's brilliant but erratic personality and of course they marry... but John paranoid hallucinations become more acute and John goes into a Mental Hospital. John and Alicia go through some painful, heartbreaking times together... but John manages to weed out certain delusions he has... and he learns to stay away from stress which can cause his delusions...

John believes that everything is connected as we are all "part of the same subject"... math is the art form... and the most important discovery is the equation of love...

I really liked this movie and give it a ***1/2 stars...

John and Alicia are still married. Dr. John Nash is a Professor at Princeton
to this day!
Jan 8, 2002
Russell Crowe, naturally, has a great screen presence, but he is also a brilliant actor and he shows it here. He will more than likely win an award for his performance in this film. If you are intrigued by human genius and mental illness (who isn't?) and how they tend to overlap sometimes, you will definetely enjoy this film.

The only thing I wish they would have done differently, is to more clearly evidence the enormity of Nash's intellect, or gift for mathematics, as compared to his peers, or the average smart-guy.. I know this is hard to do when dealing with the complexities of mathematics, though. it just seemed like the director may have assumed the audience knew a little more about nash than they did.

Either way, though, this is truly a great one. It's worth your time and your money.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jan 14, 2002
I was just totally absorbed by this film. The real suspense is that you begin watching this film confident that he is experiencing reality. After a while, you begin to wonder...

A marvelous performance by Russell Crowe. I'd recommend this film for teens and adults who have a grasp on mental illness. It's very powerful and moving, but doesn't have any embarassing situations of overt sex, foul language or violence.

This film is a real treat, an Academy Award winner.
Jan 16, 2002
"A Beautiful Mind" is a terrible thing to ignored in this powerful drama directed by Ron Howard. His best work as director.

In it, Russell Crowne stars a John Nash a mathematican who struggled with schizophrenia. He later won the nobel prize in 1994. This film is about his life and his work. A personal bio of a genius who was nearly destroyed by his mental illness.
[--- Good ---]by  
Jan 17, 2002
A realistic story that, as it essentially unfolds through the eyes of the protagonist, flows well and keeps the audience interested. This simple fact is paramount to the film's success, otherwise I fear it would be too monotonous. But, the technique is employed well and fits quite nicely.

The "main draw" of the film is Russell Crowe's acting ability, and this is really a stage in which he is able to showcase a facet of his talent. It is certainly a different role from the bruising but compassionate Bud White of 'LA Confidential' or the focused revenge-driven Maximus from 'Gladiator.' Everything surrounding him in the film, while not mearly window-dressing, is clearly geared to pushing this simple idea. Given the purpose of the film is to tell a one man's story, not to ponder metaphysical and philosophical answers to perceptions of reality, focusing on Crowe is appropriate.

The development of the love interest for Crowe's character, John Nash, seemed to be rather contrived, be it a factual account or not, particularly the early stages of the romance. By the later part of the film, it is a non-issue, but it does raise an eyebrow of mild confusion early on.

The film is certainly worth seeing, although I wouldn't call it an immediate "Must See" unless you wish to have a working knowledge of the nominees come Oscar time. The film will be nominated for certain awards, based solely on Crowe's performance. Not the best film of the year, but certainly a worthy entry.
[--- Good ---]by  
Feb 6, 2002
I found this movie to be very inspirational. This not only reflects on how someone can overcome certain problems.

I am a younger person but look at this movie as a way to realize what real goes on out there. I would hope that people would go out and see this and they would see the reason for me saying this.

The movie is good and I would watch again.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Apr 4, 2002
Dragged on way too long. Kind of very sad. I did not feel good after watching this movie. The marriage was totally premature and unrealistic.

Basically, this was an actor who got prime time because of his role in the Gladiator, which was an excellent movie.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Apr 9, 2002
Like many movies, this one works best if you don't really "get it" immediately, like "The Sixth Sense" and "The Crying Game."

The director (Ron Howard) succeeds in making you feel the doubt and disorientation of the main character, who is never quite sure what's real and what's imaginary. In addition, there is a visual style - a way of making images transcent what they represent - that makes a movie like this into visual literature.

Alan Parker has made that sort of imagry a major part of his work, and Ron Howard seems to be picking it up. It's worth watching more than once - and that's rare.
[--- Good ---]by  
May 19, 2002
Definitely a good movie. The good thing about it though, its not one of those movies that you have to see on the big screen in order to enjoy it. It doesnt have special effects, just a great story.

Either on the big screen or on your little t.v. at home this movie is sure one those that you would enjoy watching.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  
Jun 9, 2002
Best Picture my bum... This was an OK movie, not fantastic in any means.

You should see it on video, It's not worth both your time and money. Kind of enjoyable, but long and drawn-out. It's good, but I wouldn't ever want to see it again.
[--- See Now! ---]by  
Jul 10, 2002
This movie could also be called A beautiful movie. A very moving and powerful production. Ron Howard turns in his best directed movie yet. Russell Crowe is amazing as John Nash, a man who falls into the darkness of schizophrenia. Jennifer Connelly shines as Nash's wife.

Astounding movie. Well deserving of every award it received.
Nov 10, 2003

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for A Beautiful Mind.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2017, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook