The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, December 14th, 2001

Directed by Wes Anderson
Genre: Comedy
Running Time: 1:50

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
The Royal Tenenbaums
Academy Award® Nominee
An estranged family of geniuses reunites unexpectedly and suddenly one winter.  View more >

R
some language, sexuality/nudity and drug content

Starring Danny Glover, Gene Hackman, Gwyneth Paltrow...  View more >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  3 43 See Now! Percent
Good  2 29 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  2 29 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  0 0 Stay Away! Percent
7 Total Reviews

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The Royal Tenenbaums.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Good ---]by  Jan 4, 2002
This is a season for weird movies! But what makes this film enjoyable is the excellent cast and the slight of hand of director Wes Anderson.

The Tenenbaums are a really dusfunctional family, complete with incest and paternal abandonment. But somehow the father, Royal, played by Gene Hackman, decides to return to the fold. Some guys are just jerks and Royal has little competition for the role. Of course, he has to be somewhat redeemable.

And he is as he gets to know his two grandsons, albeit by providing them with plenty of ground for mischief, rule-breaking and vandalism. The humor in this film is not side-splitting, but subtle. Somewhat too subtle as the film drags at moments.

The Tenenbaums survive re-marriage, attempted murder, the death of Buckley and a lack of commitment to anything. Maybe they should not survive, but the film seems to be saying that there is always another side to be considered and there some truth may be found.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Jan 5, 2002
I was disapointed in this movie. I thought with the cast it would be much better.

I realy dragged for the first half and than it did pick up a little. It was very predictable.

I was glad when it was over. I guess this has a dry sense of humor that was lost on me.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Jan 5, 2002
I was really excited to see this movie, because the previews made it look really good. I was disappointed.

At first I thought it was just me, that maybe this just wasnt my type of humor, but then I paid attention to the rest of the audience in the theater and nobody else was laughing either. There were a few amusing moments, but overall a waste of talent (especially Gwyneth Paltrow, whose character could have been played by anyone off the street).

I'm curious to see what others say about this movie, but it sure wasn't for me. I can't figure out what about this movie made our local newspaper give it 3-1/2 stars.
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP MemberJan 10, 2002
Anyone for Tenenbaums? The film "The Royal Tenenbaums" is very weird and mostly it's very funny.

The film center on an dyfunciational family the Tenenbaums, who three of their children achieved early successes. When they got to adult, their lives fell apart. The head of the family (played brilliantly by Gene Hackman) got the family back together again due to his declining health.

The film has sharp wit and yes, it's very funny. More funny than the last ten failed comedies combined. It's never a dull moment at the Tenenbaums. It's sharp humor gave this film the edge.
[--- Good ---]by  Mar 23, 2002
Quirky characters, dry humor. Good acting, good screenplay. Almost a "see now!", but it'll play just as well in the living room as in a theater.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Mar 30, 2002
I can't say that I'm suprised about the reviews here for this movie. Gee, guys seem to like it and women don't. That's verrrry shocking. So we either have a better sense of humor or we're just pigs!
[--- See Now! ---]by  May 27, 2012



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.