Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Hulk
Filmmaker Ang Lee brings this comic book hero to the big screen, updating it for contemporary times. Scientist Bruce Banner's inner demons transform him in the aftermath of an experiment gone bad,...  View more >

Starring Eric Bana, Jennifer Connelly, Sam Elliott...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Jun 22, 2003
Personally, I think this just skates by with a 3 out of 4 stars. The CGI was better than I expected, but the drama and storyline was ultimately unconvincing. I was not moved by Bruce Banners struggle to cope with his issue. It simply was not that convincing, even in light of the fact that this is, after all, a comic book made into a feature length film.

After the very slow start (at least the first 45 minutes) there can be no doubt that Lee is trying to give us a little more in this movie than Hulking green CGI eye candy. But at the point that the action begins, all that I wanted for the remainder of the film WAS eye candy. Yet there was still some of that storyline interspersed that had never really moved me in the first place.
Jun 25, 2003
I wasn't expecting much from this latest comic book film, and it didn't disappoint me.

The Hulk character was very well done, my hat is off to the folks at ILM for another bang-up job!

Jennifer Connelly put in a great performance and her radiance gives you something to pay attention to even when the storyline dragged a little.

Except for the sudden braking action the movie does near the end, it's a well-done film for what it is. The scene transitions and split-screen camera angles are interesting, and in keeping with the comic-book genre.

If this type of movie interests you, it shouldn't be a disappointment for you either.
Jun 26, 2003
The director really messed up on this one. It is a movie based off of a comic for gosh sakes. Spider man nailed that concept, the Hulk did not. It was if the director was purposely trying to come up with some award winning drama based off of storyline alone. Unfortunately this did not only lead to a slow start and inadequet action but the story was not all that impressive either.

They should have renamed the movie "The Hulk's Father and His Poorly Written Character." This becomes quite evident in the first ten minutes of the movie wasted on photos of his scientific journals. They could have picked a better away to display the opening credits without putting the audience to sleep.
Jun 28, 2003
Jul 2, 2003
Awesome "hulk effects", but a confused plot hurt the film.
Jul 2, 2003
The special effects were very well done...all in all in was an entertaining time.
Jul 4, 2003
With all the hype this movie had gotten prior to its release i expected it to be the 2nd coming of the first "Star Wars" I rate this movie close to the movie magic that was created with that Leonardo classic " The Beach" or the stellar movie bout the cheer leader bank robbers.

This movie was HORRID, dont waste your money or your time, stay home and watch " This Old House" reruns and eat really bad food, because u would have saved yourself the agony of this movie.
Jul 4, 2003
Not an excellent movie, but at least enjoyable. Some unbelievable but then again, it's "Science Fiction" so anything is possible, right.
Nov 2, 2005
The worst movie that ever got adapted from a comic book. I read the hulk comic book as a kid and seeing the feature film version of the comic has let me down. there's plenty of talk and little action as we see Bruce Banner turned into the Hulk. there are two villians and both of them are uncredible.
Jul 19, 2012

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Hulk.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2017, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook