The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now


Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Wednesday, July 2nd, 2003

Directed by Jonathan Mostow

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines
A new Terminator is after John Connor (now 25) to finish the job the others couldn't. This new machine is as relentless as her human guise is beautiful, and John's only hope for survival is the...  View more >

R
strong sci-fi violence and action, and for language and brief nudity

Starring Arnold Schwarzenegger, Nick Stahl, Kristanna Loken...  View more >

05/20/2003 - There is a new trailer available, check out the Movie Trailer link in the sidebar to view!

04/23/2003 - Check out the View more information about this movie >


Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberJul 2, 2003

"Terminator 3," is the most disapointing of the three movies. Sure there are special effects, but what I saw is more of the same. Arnold Schwarzenegger is back as the machine who his is again top protect John Conners. This time Conners has a companion, played by Claire Danes. The villain is another machine and like Terminator 2, it's a advance machine who can changed shape. Not a credible villain. I was bored by some of the movie. Even the sloggen that Schwarzenner utters "I'll Be Back!" is a little old. When that Terminator franchiase is put on the auction block, you know that something's wrong. "Terminator 3" lacks surpises and without Director James Cameron, the film has nowhere to go but down. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Eileen VIP MemberJul 2, 2003

Terminator 3 was a fitting sequel in the Terminator series. I thought I would miss the Sarah Connor character and Cameron's directing. I was wrong.

Terminator 3 was a blend of action, comedy and special effects-- the same formula used in Terminator 2, but different enough to be unique. The end of the movie brought to mind the poignant storyline first brought to our attention in Terminator 1, but it wasn't a repeat of that story.

It was the movie that had to be made to set us up for Terminator 4-- I'm all set for the next one! See it now! 

[--- See Now! ---]by Pam Jul 4, 2003

It was great! Can't wait for Terminator 4.

See it now! If you wait till it's on TV you miss out on so much! 

[--- See Now! ---]by CAV Jul 6, 2003

If you are a "Terminator" fan this is a must see and for those who just go along for the ride it's well worth it, as the special effects are great. I await T4. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Joshua Jul 6, 2003
[--- See Now! ---]by Carebear Jul 6, 2003

Lots of action. A bit more violence than I like, but I like this one as much as the first two. 

[--- Good ---]by shelbel.mke Jul 7, 2003

More plot than I was expecting, and an interesting ending. If these were novels instead of movies, the story could continue naturally -- but realistically, how many more can Arnold do? Worth seeing on the big screen. 

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by BAMFRA Jul 8, 2003

Decent, doesn't come close to the level of T2 of even the first Terminator, though. Good action, decent story, could have been a lot better though. 

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by trevajo Jul 8, 2003

The ending is Great!! If you didn't have to sit through the rest to see it... It's very apparent that James Camron had nothing to do with this film. It stars off very slow and gives little explaination to the actions od the principal players. It borrows much from T2, but does not have the same intensity or suspense. If the whole movie was written as well as the ending you would have a movie that surpasses T1 and T3. But alas, it's not to be and hopefully, they won't be back! 

[--- Good ---]by Ron Higgins VIP MemberJul 9, 2003

T3 didn't have the same impact that T2 had. The story line didn't advance as well and the technical achievements weren't as great.

However, it's still a good movie, just not up to T2 standards. The story line doesn't hold together as well, but it's a Terminator movie, so you know what to expect and don't need a whole lot of plot in order to race from one car chase scene to the next, etc...

There were plenty of moments that made me laugh out loud, or want to yell, "Yeah!". It was a fun ride and I didn't expect the ending to go where it did, so that was a plus.

This is the type of movie that is meant to be seen in a theater with a nice big screen and a good sound system, so treat yourself, but your life won't be missing anything if you decide to pass on this one. 

[--- Good ---]by Bman Jul 10, 2003

Ah-nold is back! Chase sequences really rocked and the laughs were there, but not as good as T2. The casting of the new John Conner actor and Claire Danes still having me scratching my head but the fire engine chase made it all worth it.

Don't trip over yourself rushing out to see it, but do see it on a good screen because the experience, especially the sound it worth it. 

[--- Good ---]by Scott Jentsch VIP MemberJul 11, 2003

This one just misses getting a See Now! rating, but it's definitely worth seeing in a theater with good sound and big screen!

Ahnold is back as Terminator "classic" while beauty Kristanna Loken plays the latest upgrade of the Terminator series, with a couple of new gadgets and a pretty sadistic disposition. The new T-X doesn't have much to say, so it's good that Loken can act with facial expressions and very short phrases classic to this series. When she says "I like your car" she's not just expressing an opinion, you've just lost your car!

Claire Danes and Nick Stahl are a little weaker in their roles, but once I got past that, they were fine and didn't get in the way too much.

As far as action goes, this latest installment has what it takes. The crane chase scene goes a little long, but it wreaks quite a bit of damage, and even gives Arnold a few licks in the process.

Any movie series in its third installment can't take itself too seriously, and T3 has just enough referential humor to keep it from being campy while still taking some time to poke fun at itself.

The ending caught me off guard, and it's actually quite in keeping with the first two movies after I thought about it a little. Of course, the door is firmly wedged open to have sequels, since there seems to be an endless supply of time-traveling conduits in the future, and the original Terminator just keeps on coming.

As with any action movie, if you wait for the budgets or VHS, you'll be missing a lot. Get to see this while it's in a good theater and enjoy the ride. If not, plan on a purchase of a good home theater system to enjoy it at home to its fullest! 

[--- Good ---]by Moovy Jul 11, 2003

T-3 isn't nearly as good as #2, in my opinion. There's quite a bit of humor thrown in this latest installment, and the female machine is excellent.

I believe that one has to let their guard down somewhat and just enjoy it for what it is, because there are many opportunities for criticism if you let yourself go there, especially when it comes to Arnold's more aged appearance.

Definitely not a 'See Now!', and definitely not a 'Wait for Rental'. I'd see it in the theatre if I were you. 

[--- Stay Away! ---]by moviegoer Jul 14, 2003

When you run out of good ideas, stop making the movies. There was noting new or original about this entire movie. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Bob Cissne Jul 17, 2003

Arnold still has it although the movie could have been better. Best of the summer action flicks. Set up well for terminator 4 - shouldn't wait so long next time. 

[--- Good ---]by Tom K Jul 21, 2003

Not as good as the first. Not nearly as good as the second. Still worthy of a big screen viewing. 

[--- See Now! ---]by lotr fan Jul 23, 2003

this move was awesome! as for moviegoer im wondering how thats possible... nothing new but nothing original... hmmmmmmmmmmm 

[--- Good ---]by js_dogg_2004 Jul 26, 2003
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by Ann Jul 31, 2003

Arnold is aging, this movie was a real flop. Not as clever as other terminator movies. Entertaining, and a little scary for the youngsters I would not bring anyone under 8 to this movie. The special effects other than the street scene, where an entire street gets demolished are average. I've seen better and expected more from this one. It will be fine at home, a good popcorn movie. 

[--- Stay Away! ---]by MooVee Dude Aug 9, 2003

The ending of this movie is the WORST in the history of movies! How Hollywood would even let that appear in a movie is shameful! Avoid T3! I won't be back. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Eric Oct 26, 2003



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.