Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Catch Me if You Can
Academy Award® Nominee
An FBI agent (Tom Hanks) has made it his prime mission to bring a con artist, and the most successful bank robber in the U.S. (Leonardo DiCaprio), to justice, who manages always to stay one step...  View more >

Starring Leonardo DiCaprio, Tom Hanks, Christopher Walken...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Dec 26, 2002
This movie is fun, funny, and enjoyable. It has light tone, as if nothing in it really matters all that much. But that's also its main problem. The whole movie was so light, airy, and fun to watch that when an emotional highpoint came near the end of the film, I found myself having a tough time really caring that much about the main character. I liked him well enough, but the tone of the movie didn't go well with the heavier drama that came near the end of it.

Besides that, though, this is a really fun film with some great performances, especially by Tom Hanks as a frustrated FBI agent.

This is a Steven Spielberg film that isn't a huge cinematic event. It's not a must-see, but if you're looking for something to do come Saturday afternoon, check it out.
Jan 4, 2003
Catch me if you can...............is a true story.......

A must see......unbelievable that this could really happen. Another wonderful movie with Leonardo DiCaprio and Tom Hanks........
Jan 7, 2003
Two mice fell into a bucket of cream. The first mouse drowned. The second mouse kicked its legs until it churned the cream into butter, and it crawled out and lived. Director Steven Spielberg's Catch Me If You Can tells the story of both types of mice in this cat-and-mouse detective drama based on the life of Frank William Abagnale, Jr.

The script contains major holes, but audience members forgive unexplained details because of screenwriter Jeff Nathanson's intricate and well-written script. Every event and clue has a satisfying albeit predictable payoff, and the continuous scheming of Abagnale (Leonardo DiCaprio) keeps the viewer constantly wondering what will happen next. Nathanson began with incredible material from Abagnale and Stan Redding's same titled novel, and he, Spielberg, and the cast turned this unbelievable history into an engaging film enhanced by a convincing and laudable performance by DiCaprio.

Catch Me If You Can is told in retrospect to add to the outlandish nature of the situation. Abagnale first appears as a scruffy but very young man-one with peers who rightfully act like teenagers with juvenile preoccupations. But by this time people have already called Abagnale a teacher, a doctor, a pilot, and a lawyer even though he never received any legitimate training in any of the professions. He has traveled the world, intimately known numerous women, thrown fabulous parties, made wedding plans, hoarded large amounts of money, and figured out how to elude the United States Federal Bureau of Investigation. Abagnale has lived a lifetime-or more accurately stated, many lifetimes-and done so all before his twentieth birthday.

Spielberg and Nathanson presented DiCaprio with an actor's dream. Abagnale is a criminal, but he is a lovable criminal with good intentions and a desperate need to escape his loneliness. The character's choices drive the plot, but his personality makes the movie. DiCaprio delivers an awkward performance as the sixteen-year-old Frank, but one cannot criticize too quickly as the character must have struggled outside of his alter-ego existence. Abagnale slips into the shoes of a twenty-eight-year-old physician with ease, but his own youthful sneakers never seem to fit. Abagnale's multiple roles require him to learn and imitate a variety of professions, but his disposition remains constant. His charm woos the women, and his confidence and masterful use of language persuades even the greatest skeptic to believe his assertions. DiCaprio's performance defines smoothness, and his choices illuminate the humanness of a man who chose a life of crime in order to escape a reality he could not accept.

Tom Hanks plays Carl Hanratty, the FBI agent duped for years by Abagnale's trail of bad checks and Christmas Eve phone calls. His acting is only surprisingly adequate as the no-nonsense government agent, and is certainly not noteworthy. The part does not demand much versatility, and Hanks' obvious reactions and other mediocre acting choices elicit little sympathy or interest in Hanratty's persona. He is legitimately ultra-serious and focused on his career, but Hanks fails to create a sufficient amount of dimension in a character purposely written without a lot of apparent depth.

The cat-and-mouse game and Abagnale's unusual situation provides over two hours of quality entertainment, but the many subplots and themes complete the film and make it memorable despite its minor flaws. Jennifer Garner joins the cast to add more star-quality to the picture in a superfluous role, and Martin Sheen also appears with a bit part as a rich and influential attorney. Christopher Walken completes the list of celebrities with an admirable performance as Frank William Abagnale, Sr., who teaches his son how to be the mouse that churns the butter and lives but who ultimately drowns in the cream. Nathanson wrote a story about a long game of hide-and-seek for the screen, but he also wrote a story about complicated family dynamics, love and loneliness, and the complex relationship between a criminal and his lawful pursuer.
Jan 9, 2003
"Catch Me If You Can" is a film based on the real life faker who impersonates anyone from a airline pilot to a lawyer, only to impress women and stole money worth over a million dollars. Tom Hanks plays a FBI agent who on his trail.

This is the first film since "A League of Their Own," inwhich someone other than Hanks had more screen time. I love the music score by John Williams. This film has captured the spirit of the 1960's.
Jan 22, 2003
I seen a preview of this movie and just knew that it would be a great one. I finally had a chance to see it two weeks ago and yes, it was a cool movie.

I can't remember the last time I liked a movie so much, but then again any
movie with Tom Hanks in it is gonna be a good movie. I enjoyed how the movie kept clipping along, it wasn't hard to follow and it kept you guessing at what will happen next. I will be purchasing it when it comes out on DVD.
Feb 10, 2003
This movie is a total Chick-Flick from beginning to end. VERY BORING especially if you're a guy. Tom Hanks also could have done better acting in this one. Same as Leonardo.

Guys, if your wife wants you to go to this movie, run away as fast as you can!
Feb 12, 2003
Mar 1, 2003
This movie keeps your attention. You're always wondering what is going to happen next.
Mar 8, 2003
This is worth seeing, but I was disappointed that some of the great music in the preview trailers did not actually make it into the film. I thought the previews were better than the movie itself.
Apr 4, 2003
Nov 28, 2003
Considering the talent involved in this movie, I expected a better film. Catch Me If You Can is not a bad movie, it's just such a lightweight movie that it is nothing more than a cute story that takes 2 hours and 21 minutes to tell.

This doesn't mean that it's not worth watching, however. It is an enjoyable film.
May 27, 2012

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Catch Me if You Can.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2017, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook