The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, May 30th, 2003

Directed by Andrew Stanton
Genre: Comedy
Running Time: 1:41

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Finding Nemo
Academy Award® Winner
A tale which follows the comedic and eventful journeys of two fish, the fretful Malin and his young son Nemo, who are separated from each another in the Great Barrier Reef when Nemo is unexpectedly...  View more >

G

Starring Erica Beck, Albert Brooks, Willem Dafoe...  View more >

Academy Award® Winner for Best Animated Film

Academy Award Nominee for Writing, Original Score, Sound Editing
View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  14 70 See Now! Percent
Good  4 20 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  1 5 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  1 5 Stay Away! Percent
20 Total Reviews

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Finding Nemo.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by   Jun 1, 2003
[--- See Now! ---]by   Jun 2, 2003
Awesome Animation. Great for all ages. Loved It!
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP Member Jun 3, 2003
"Finding Nero" is my early contender for one of the best films of the year. Pixar has again created a world where nothing is impossible. This time it's the undersea world. The film is not only funny, but it's touching and wonderful. Marlin and his son Nemo were seperated when Nemo was captured by underwater men. Marlin and Dory (voiced by Ellen DeGeneres) began to search for Marlin's and along the way they met a group of weird sea creatures. The film is well-made and hip to the bone. I don't usually use the (!) that much. But since summer will be a long one for the summer movies. I rewarded "Finding Nemo" it's highest rating, because I want everybody to see this film. It's funny, amusing and a joy to watch.
[--- Good ---]by   Jun 9, 2003
I thought it was pretty slow moving in some spots, but overall worth the price of admission. The animation was great.
[--- See Now! ---]by   Jun 13, 2003
Excellent film with knockout graphics. I highly recommend this one.
[--- See Now! ---]by   Jun 14, 2003
One scarey part (sharks) for little kids, but very enjoyable movie. Be sure and stay for the credits...cute stuff!
[--- See Now! ---]by   Jun 22, 2003
it's a great movie for all ages and i think everyone should go to see it. i laughed through basically the whole movie. it has a lot of really smart humor in it and i would go to see it again and again. in fact im going to buy the movie when it comes out.
[--- See Now! ---]by   Jun 23, 2003
The animation was awesome! Pixar does it again. But in true Disney fashion, they could have done away with the sad elements (dying parent and dragging on the sad ending). My 3-year-old didn't flinch at all at the "scary moments". My 6-year-old caught onto the sad parts.

My husband and I had fun trying to figure out the voices. And the one-liners are all through the movie.

Fun for adults and kids! See it on the big screen!
[--- See Now! ---]by   Jun 28, 2003
WOW! An extraordinary incredible animated masterpiece!!! Very entertaining for both kids & adults. The animation is astonishing! Goes to show, ya don't need fancy FX stunts, explosions, guns & violence to make a HIT movie.

This should get multiple awards in it's categories, come this awards season! I haven't seen an animated movie in a long long while, and this one just might be da best animated movie yet!!!
[--- Good ---]by   Jul 1, 2003
This movie has a great draw for both adults and children alike. Parents- you'll be able to relate to that poor dad clownfish! I even teared up a little---sheez, it's only a cartoon! I am a sucker for a happy ending.

Best parent/child movie out there right now.
[--- See Now! ---]by   Jul 4, 2003
[--- See Now! ---]by   Jul 9, 2003
The animation in this movie is totally great! This is an EXCELLENT movie for all ages. People from two to sixty were laughing out loud in the theater.

It was funny and has a cute little message, as most animated movies have. GREAT movie!!!
[--- See Now! ---]by   Jul 10, 2003
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by   Jul 16, 2003
Why must I be the only one that thinks that Ellen De Gennorus is so annoying? I couldn't stand her. Having a fish that can't remember anything is a horrible thing to have.

This movie is too long. there are no good charicters besides the ones in the tank, and the turtles. All the critics like this movie, but I didn't enjoy what I was seeing. The movie seemed to have sections with different new section, for every chapter in a story, so kids don't fall asleep. This is a childs movie and shoud be treated that way. If you are above the age of 11 and are male, you would enjoy something with more enjoyable charicters, and a better story. But the grafx are great, and so are the turtles, and the sharks have a few funny moments.

Typical Disney movie, but not as good as the Toy Stories, A Bugs Life, or Antz.
[--- Good ---]by   Aug 9, 2003
Slightly upset that Pixar didn't do an animated outtake reel at the end of this movie - like all the previous Pixar films. Not as good as Toy Story 2 or Monsters Inc, but it is still a GREAT family film. The animation is fantastic!!! However, the plot dragged in a couple areas.
[--- See Now! ---]by   Sep 13, 2003
Don't wait to borrow someones kid, this movie is great for adults too!
[--- See Now! ---]by   Oct 26, 2003
[--- See Now! ---]by   Dec 21, 2003
Finding Nemo is the perfect example of how to make a film that caters to both adult and children alike: Add in breathtaking visuals to make the kids' eyes goggle and to stun the adults, an entertaining story, appealing and fleshed-out characters, and comedy for general tastes. With that recipe, you get an instantly classic family flick.

The voice acting is great, especially Ellen Degeneres as Dory, the fish with short term memory loss. She brings her wide-eyed role to life through her cheery and enthusiastic voice, resulting in the best, most appealing character in the whole film.

Hilarious, touching, and entertaining, Finding Nemo ranks as one of the best animated efforts from the Walt Disney Company. As of 12/21/03, it holds the #76 spot on my Top 100.

4/4 - See Now!
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP Member Mar 22, 2004
Finding Nemo is a movie that you will want to see again and again, especially if you have little kids. Like the rest of Pixar's films, such as Toy Story and Toy Story 2, there are plenty of things for kids and adults to enjoy so neither are left out when seeing it. This makes for a great family film to watch over and over again (and if you have kids, you will see it over and over again...)

A word of caution for smaller children and children who are more sensitive to scenes of suspense, danger, and loss. There are scenes that caused my youngster to be afraid, starting with the opening scene. There are a few more with equally scary undertones, so you may want to watch it first if your child picks up on such things and gets worked up about them.

I have yet to go through all the extras on the DVD, but what I have seen are very good, and the "Aquarium" feature (where you can turn the menu backgrounds into a screensaver sort of image) is pretty cool all by itself.

Finding Nemo is proof that someone at Disney has a screw loose for letting Pixar go. I wish the folks at Pixar many years of prosperity and I look forward to films they do, no matter what studio they work with.

If you haven't seen this film yet, you owe it to yourself to pick up a copy. This is one worth owning!
[--- Good ---]by   Sep 19, 2012
The movie is good just like the first release. I don't think the 3-D was worth it though



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.