The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now


Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Wednesday, July 9th, 2003

Directed by Gore Verbinski

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl
Academy Award® Nominee
Set during the 17th Century in the Caribbean Sea, a tale about a gentleman rogue, Jack Sparrow, who teams up with the daughter of a governor to stop the evil plan of a ship of dangerous pirates. Led...  View more >

PG-13
action/adventure violence

Starring Johnny Depp, Geoffrey Rush, Orlando Bloom...  View more >

Academy Award Nominee® for Best Actor (Johnny Depp), Sound, Sound Editing, Visual Effects, and Makeup

04/23/2003 - Check out this View more information about this movie >


Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Good ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberJul 9, 2003

"The Pirates of the Caribbean," is based on another Disney attraction,this one opened in 1955 along with Disneyland. Now a feature movie is out with Johnny Depp in the lead. Depp is the type of actor who can give 110%. In other words, he can disappeared into his characters as the character of Captain Jack Sparrow. the film is full of high action as Sparrow and crew battle a group of dead pirates over some inportant gold coins which tip the scale of battle. The film is directed by Gore Verbinski whom the last film "The Ring," has offered very little of scares, but this film is fun to watch. Johnny Depp is the real star of the movie. Keira Knightlery is appealing as the heroine of the film. this is disney's first PG-13 movie, meaning that this is the first PG-13 movie that didn't go under the label Touchstone Pictures or Hollywood Pictures.the music score was done very well to keep pace with the film. "Pirates" is one afternoon of action and fun. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Katie Jul 9, 2003

This is one of the best movies I have ever seen. Although it is the classic good guys vs. bad guys plot, the movie itself is completely original. Great special effects and fight scenes. This movie also has the perfect mix of serious and funny.

The actors did a superb job: you can really believe that they are the characters the portray, which definitely helps a person to get into the movie. I can't describe in full how good this movie is, because to do so would be to spoil it for others. Go out and see this movie NOW!!! 

[--- Good ---]by Bman Jul 10, 2003

As a person who really doesn't care much for Johnny Depp, I was pretty impressed with his contribution to the movie. He kind of does an "Arthur" impersonation throughout but is still entertaining nonethless. The atmosphere is great and I thought the few references to the Disney ride were well placed. (ex. remember the dog?)

Orlando Bloom doesn't appear to be having as much fun as Depp but Rush is having the most fun of anybody as the over-the-top leader of the undead.
It's not the best movie I've seen this summer, but it was still a lot of fun and the crowd applauded at the end which I haven't seen in a long time! Our Wednesday night show was just packed with young chickies...gee, wonder why? 

[--- Stay Away! ---]by dom monahan Jul 10, 2003

Stupid!!!!!!! 

[--- See Now! ---]by trevajo Jul 10, 2003

Pure Fun and Entertainment!! If you what to have fun and cheer for the good guys, without doomsday looming, this is the movie for you.

Johnny Depp owned this movie and it would not have been as fun if anyone else were Captian Jack Sparrow. If you looking to be throughly entertained and have some fun and laughs, this is a must see. 

[--- See Now! ---]by cassady Jul 11, 2003

Everything you could want in a summer movie with a lot extra thrown in. See it for Depp's performance if nothing else. It's nothing short of brilliant. 

[--- See Now! ---]by BAMFRA Jul 14, 2003
[--- Good ---]by Bruce Lee Jul 16, 2003

An enjoyable movie, much to my surprise! Afterall, a pirate movie is nothing new, what more can be done, right? But, Disney somehow pulled this one off. They casted the right people with a good storyline to match! Johnny Depp was perfect! Bloom & Knightley had the right chemistry.

The only minor drawback was towards the end of the movie, where I was wondering how much longer will it take for that "curse" to END. I think it's worth paying $9.50, but if you can save a couple of $s, go see the matinee showing! (g) 

[--- Good ---]by Davis Jul 16, 2003

I do agree that this movie was much better than average, but it was no where near close to the best movie that I have seen this year. The plot is not bad. Jonny Depp is quite great at his role, but he cannot carry the movie on his own.

Havig Disney make this movie really takes away from the adventure feel. Durring the fight scenes, you want to see more. Sure there is plenty of fight scenes, and they look great(thank's to Jerry Brockhimer). But there is no blood durring the fight scenes, and I felt like I was watching a movie for kids. There was no swearing, and the actual killing was at a minimum. I suppose that I went into this movie expecting more danger and death. But the danger isn't felt, and the ghosts are not intimidating. I was not very impressed. But Johny Depp is great.

It is my recomindation that you see this movie at the cheap theatre. Cheap theatres in my area aren't getting the business that they need to survive, and some are closing down. May I just remind you if you can wait a month to see a movie, you can see virtually any movie on a screen the same size for 1/3 the cost, or less. I rocomend that you use these cheaper theatres for this film, and stop feeding the "Big Theatres." Who want's to stend $8, when you can spend $2? 

[--- See Now! ---]by Kasia Jul 17, 2003
[--- Good ---]by Moovy Jul 22, 2003

I think the script was left in the oven a little too long, but the acting was great, especially Depp's performance.

And if I may I'd like to add that Keira Knightly is one superbly fine piece of ***.

Thank you. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Tim Jul 22, 2003
[--- Good ---]by Katie Jul 29, 2003

Much better than I expected; laugh-out-loud humor and intense eye-candy for the Johnny Depp fans! 

[--- See Now! ---]by Ann Jul 31, 2003

Johnny Depp's performance was wonderful. It was like the Disney World Ride, but with lots of humor and special effects. Not just a kid movie, adults of all ages will enjoy the wit and performance of Mr. Depp. This is going to be a classic. Go see it at the movie on the big screen, the special effects will be lost and go unappreciated at home. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Scott Jentsch VIP MemberAug 2, 2003

The reviews I have read are true: Johnny Depp carries this movie to the success that it is. His depiction of Cap'n Jack Sparrow is very good, lending just the right amount of humor and mannerisms to provide the right thing at the right time.

I think what makes Pirates of the Carribbean successful is that it is a lot of fun, has some action, the CGI effects are done very well, and the acting by each primary character is very good. It does all this without insulting the viewer's intelligence, which is a rarity in today's comedies and action films.

I was drawn into the film, finding myself laughing at certain scenes. There are rumors of a sequel, due to the success of this film, and I would welcome another story centered around these characters and/or of similar quality.

Highly recommended! 

[--- Good ---]by Tom K Aug 9, 2003

Johnny Depp is awesome in this film. In a world of so few good pirate movies, this one shines. A bit formulaic and too long, the movie does entertain. 

[--- See Now! ---]by MooVee Dude Aug 9, 2003

Hands down the best movie I have seen in a long time!!! Great fun for all ages! Hope they don't ruin it with a sequel! 

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by Grey Ghost Aug 14, 2003

Will agree that this is the best that I have seen Johnny Depp in yet. It's entertaining but would wait for the rental. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Rosanne Aug 24, 2003

A great movie with lots of action dappled with romance and the supernatural. Fun for ages over 10. 

[--- Stay Away! ---]by John Sep 9, 2003

Long, boring. Wasted potential 

[--- See Now! ---]by js_dogg_2004 Oct 7, 2003
[--- See Now! ---]by Crystal Oct 20, 2003

this is a must see. Orlando and jonny both do a great job with thier characters. 

[--- Good ---]by Eric Oct 26, 2003
[--- Good ---]by Arlo J. Wiley Dec 21, 2003

In a summer of cliched summer blockbusters in which it's little that the viewer hasn't seen, Disney and Jerry Bruckheimer decided to dish out something truly unique: A seafaring pirate adventure chock full of zombies. Sounds bad, but it's almost great.

Johnny Depp is at his most charming best, turning in a remarkable performance as Captain Jack Sparrow, with Orlando Bloom and Keira Knightley doing good as well. The action is almost nonstop, and in the wrong hands, it could've been annoying and bombastic, but in Gore Verbinski's hands, it's a seamless blend of popcorn entertainment and Disney's traditionally rewarding storytelling.

Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl is an extremely entertaining fantasy adventure, and though it lacks the usual Disney magic, it still may become a classic in its genre given the proper time.

As for now, it's definitely one to pick up on DVD!

3.5/4 - Good 




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.