The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, June 27th, 2003

Directed by Danny Boyle
Genre: Art/Foreign
Running Time: 1:48

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
28 Days Later
After breaking into a primate research facility, a group of animal rights activists discover caged chimps. Ignoring the warnings of a terrified researcher who maintains that the chimps are infected,...  View more >

R
strong violence and gore, language and nudity

Starring Cillian Murphy, Naomie Harris, Megan Burns...  View more >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  3 23 See Now! Percent
Good  4 31 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  2 15 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  4 31 Stay Away! Percent
13 Total Reviews

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jun 28, 2003
Excellent movie. A man wakes from unconciousness to find out that all of England has been infected with a disease that turns its victims into zombies, save a few survivors.

Very creepy, and just a very well made movie.
[--- Good ---]by  Jun 29, 2003
Hollywood could take a few lessons from this movie. The main one being that it is possible to make a film work on the bigscreen simply with great writing and careful observance of timing and technique.

It's not a film that I want to see again, but it was worth my time. If I had to pick between Charlies Angels and 28 days, I'd pick 28 days. But then I'd pick just about anything over Charlies Angels......so anyway.....it's a good flick...go see it. ;)
[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Jul 4, 2003
Awful movie! Another zombines coming to get you story.
[--- Stay Away! ---]by VIP MemberJul 4, 2003
I read the other reveiw and had to add mine. STAY AWAY!

This movie just didn't do it for me. It reminded me of old stlye sci-fi movies from the 50's, with allot more blood and gore and very little storyline. Think twice before you go!
[--- Good ---]by  Jul 5, 2003
Somewhat formulamatic, but still enjoyable.
[--- Stay Away! ---]by VIP MemberJul 7, 2003
It looked like the author couldn't figure out what to do with the story after he set it up. The characters were predictable and empty, the filming was so horrible it was distracting (it looked like they used a digital camcorder -- can you say "Blair Witch?"). I went with a group and we all were unanimous: one of the worst movies we've ever seen. There was no saving it. Save your money. Don't even rent it.

And if you go, remember I warned you.
[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberJul 9, 2003
"28 Days Later" is a horror film by Danny Boyle. Here we got a director who knows plenty about how a horror film is done. And in the process he created a creeper. A man awoke 28 days later to see England being torn apart by people who were sickens by a virus that turn them into mad killers. "28 Days Later" is scary, but well-made.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jul 11, 2003
Genius Genius Genius. Aesthetically perfect...the music that builds up with the images in several scenes convinced me this movie is fantastic.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jul 12, 2003
Shining with gore, intellegence, artistic near-virtuosity and demented zombie-eyes, this is a DO NOT MISS and TELL YOUR FRIENDS (only the hip and brainy) to get in that theater and see it while it's BIG!
[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Jul 12, 2003
I can't remember the last time I saw a movie as bad as this one. Poorly filmed, weak plot and predictable character development resulted in one very disappointing movie going experience.

All the way through this flick I kept askin' myself "Where's it going?" It's tough to find something good to say about a movie that leads those present to be continually checking there watches hoping that soon it will be over.

Do yourself a favor and save your money and when you see it on the video store shelves...remember how precious your time is and leave it there.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Aug 8, 2003
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Oct 7, 2003
[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberNov 19, 2003
This was a good film, I enjoyed it.

I would imagine that the emptiness of London has more impact with someone who has been there, but the effect is still there. That eeriness which begins the film sets the tone for the entire movie.

Reader VoiceMake Your Voice Heard!

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for 28 Days Later.




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.