Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster

Remove ads with our VIP Service

Share This Page

Mystic River
Academy Award® Winner
Three friends who grew up in working-class Boston drift apart after a terrible tragedy. Years later, brutal events reconnect them. Jimmy’s 19-year-old daughter is coldly murdered. Dave is a...  View more >

Starring Sean Penn, Tim Robbins, Kevin Bacon...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Oct 22, 2003
"Mystic River" is a powerful movie directed by Clint Eastwood, (his best work as director) is a film that is getting Oscar buzz. You don't have to hear the buss. You just have to see it for youself. The film is about an unspeakable crimes and those who are in search of redemption. This film is as powerful as the river that goes though Boston. Sean Penn, and Tim Robbins lead a strong cast. This is Penn's finest performance of his career. The same could be said for Robbins. It's going to be sad if neither of the two performancers got Oscar nods. Penn is no fan of the Academy Awards, but his dislike of Oscar shouldn't be counted against him. Eastwood also did the music score, which is also powerful. "Mystic River" is a must see film. A powerful motion picture that shouldn't be ignored.
Oct 25, 2003
Eat lots of popcorn and try not to fall asleep as you watch this very depressing, confusing film..........
Oct 28, 2003
Oscar Domination

March 2004 may set Oscar history. I predict this will be the first time The Best Actor and Actress nominations will be dominated by men and women from one film, “Mystic River”. A film that could easily be unnecessarily complex and confusing is turned into a film that is masterfully majestic and moving on all levels.

Three childhood friends are torn apart by an unspeakable act and in adulthood are brought back together by an even more heinous event. The score was beautifully placed in key parts of the film. Eastwood's direction and fast pacing of the film was executed masterfully. The acting pure and simple surpassed Oscar worthiness. Each character was three-dimensional and at times you didn't know whom you felt for most. The entire movie was focused and tied everything in perfectly. The chemistry of the actors bounced out of the screen and into viewers' hearts and souls. At the end of the film, the audience stood and applauded the film. “Mystic River” is a well-written novel that was done justice on-screen. This is a must see film.

Bravo “Mystic River”.
Oct 30, 2003
Several Oscar worthy performances - including Sean Penn, Tim Robbins, and Marcia Gay Harden. Strong plot. Well written. Great characters.
Jan 31, 2004
Not bad but Penn could have stayed in Iraq
Mar 2, 2004
Well written and some strong acting. Particularily Sean Penn. I do not personally care for him but, the his acting is very real and strong in this part.
Tim Robbins I feel did a better job in "The Shawshank Redemption". But, I feel he played the part as it was written.

Overall, it keeps you guessing and guessing. Even though I figured it out well before most. It has it's twists and turns that keeps you guessing.
Mar 8, 2004
This is a awesome movie. It keeps you guess the whole time. I was a little confused by the ending but otherwise I loved this movie and would see it all the time. Sean Penn was unbelievable in this movie.
Jul 19, 2012

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Mystic River.

New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search

Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2016, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook