The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, September 19th, 2003

Directed by Len Wiseman
Genre: Action
Running Time: 2:01

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Underworld
A fast-paced, modern-day tale of deadly action, ruthless intrigue and forbidden love, all set against the backdrop of an ancient feud between vampire and werewolves in a timeless gothic metropolis.  View more >

R
strong violence/gore and some language

Starring Kate Beckinsale, Scott Speedman, Shane Brolly...  View more >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  5 45 See Now! Percent
Good  4 36 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  2 18 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  0 0 Stay Away! Percent
11 Total Reviews

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Underworld.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Sep 19, 2003
AWESOME! You must see this on the BIG SCREEN!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Sep 22, 2003
If you loved Blade and the Matrix you will love this movie. And unlike the others out there who think its a ripoff of these 2 movies are idiots. Just because they use stop motion filming in "some" of the movie does not make it a ripoff. Anyways....Awesome movie. Its been along time since i have seen a werewolf done justice. The howling was the last movie i have seen where they looked cool. And not like dogs (American werewolf in Paris) or just stupid masks. Go see this in the big screen and don't listen to the stupid people who like to pick apart movies.

PS. Sorry to say but every movie is a ripoff of some other movie. Its called progression.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Sep 24, 2003
Through about an hour, I was thinking "see now". A bit later, I was thinking "good". By the time it was over, definitely a "wait for rental". The plot just got increasing lame as the film progressed.
[--- Good ---]by  Sep 25, 2003
Well... I can't say I was too impressed with this movie. I'm not sure if I even enjoyed it that much. I love the Blade movies. I was expecting action like that. What I got was something less intense, less bloody, and less exciting. The movie didn't have the type of action required, or the acting power to back it up. Most of the time watching, I was thinking, "They should have someone other than Beckinsale playing the lead, she didn't strike me as a warrior. Look at her, short, skinny, sexy. But not strong, buff, or angry.

It was a big fall from the blade movies, but the design was flawless, and the camera-work was well-done. Some of the acting was not bad, and the story was good enough. The action wasn't too fun to watch though. But it is worth Matinee prices, if you feel the need to see a goth movie with Vampires and warewolves.
[--- Good ---]by  Sep 25, 2003
An interesting movie. Some people say that it's got too much plot, but I happen to like a plotty movie. It doesn't concentrate entirely on showing as much blood and gore sprayed about in the most specially effective way; it's actually trying to tell you something. It captured both the vampires and the werewolves rather nicely, and the action is good; the werewolf transformations are rather neat. The political game I've seen, read, and heard in everything vampiric has been preserved, yet twisted slightly to be its own type of vampire legend.

Overall: not for the guy who judges a movie by metric liters of blood, but certainly not a low-key drama.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Sep 25, 2003
If you enjoyed "American Werewolf in Paris", "Blade", & "The Matrix" then this is a definite hit on your list of "Must See".
[--- See Now! ---]by  Sep 27, 2003
[--- Good ---]by  Sep 30, 2003
I think this movie comes through as a strong 'Good'. In my opinion, that's saying alot when one considers that the genre this movie exists in has been beaten to death and back.

Blade had a fun element to it, whereas this film comes across as much more serious and dramatic. It may be considered an 'original' vampire/werewolf movie, if that is even possible today. It was a worthwhile trip to the theatre.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Sep 30, 2003
If you liked movies such as Interview with a Vampire Tomb Raider, or Queen of the Damned, you would like this movie. Its got the mystery of the immortals, and the action of Tomb Raider!
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by VIP MemberOct 1, 2003
Kate Beckinsale is one of the most talented actress that came from England in years. And she is appealing in leather, making her one of the sexiest woman that I ever sat my eyes upon. But that's the good news. Now the bad news, She's the only good thing about this movie. "Underworld" is a idea that went out of control. A group of Vampires are at war with a group of Werewolves. This premise alone could have work, but not director Len Wiseman. He turned that premise into a gorefest with plenty of overacting. I was turned off by this movie. My advice: Just stare at Beckinsale to get your money's wroth.
[--- Good ---]by  Oct 21, 2003



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.