The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now


Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, April 2nd, 2004

Directed by Guillermo del Toro

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Hellboy
When a Nazi mystical experiment goes awry in 1944, the target of a wizards spell, the child of Satan, Hellboy is wrenched from his home, and adopted by U.S. agents who intercept his arrival. Raised...  View more >

PG-13
sci-fi action violence and frightening images

Starring Ron Perlman, Doug Jones, Selma Blair...  View more >

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Hellboy.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Good ---]by Maggie Apr 3, 2004
[--- See Now! ---]by lee Apr 4, 2004
[--- See Now! ---]by atoman Apr 5, 2004

Excellent! Very well done. Immediately engaging and did not turn cartoon-y like League of Extraordinarily Crappy Gentlemen. I'll admit I haven't read the graphic novels but, it seemed to be a good treatment. I think this is worth seeing a few times! Enjoy. 

[--- Good ---]by Grey Ghost Apr 6, 2004

Great graphics. Not a bad movie and not a great one either. Enjoyable entertainment. 

[--- Good ---]by Bob Apr 8, 2004

Well it was like SpiderMan. 0 -10 and 0 being bad I gave it { 5 + } You can take your 9 or 10 year old to it if they have seen SpiderMan then no big deal. 

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by Tom K Apr 9, 2004

There was a lot of talent behind this film, but it didn't deliver. I'm not a reader of the comic book and the movie did nothing for me. 

[--- Good ---]by The Jake Apr 10, 2004

It seems summer movies come earlier every year, and this year's first is "Hellboy." If you've seen previews, you know it centers on a big, red demon guy who goes around fighting slimy monsters. Sounds like a lame premise, but thankfully this movie takes it all on with a great sense of humor. In between the high-intensity action scenes (and during some of them) we get some one-liners that are better than those in a lot of studio comedies.

The problem with this is that in between the action and the one-liners, there isn't much time for plot. It has something to do with Nazi assassins and Rasputin trying to open a portal to Hell and release the Gods of Chaos. . . but it's not important. Anyone going into a movie called "Hellboy" expecting tons of plot exposition and brilliant twists and turns is going in for all the wrong reasons.

The characters are reasonably well-done, Hellboy especially is a very carefully-drawn character. Ron Perlman is a perfect Hellboy, and his romance with Selma Blair's pyrokinetic character has a bizarre sort of poignancy.

The big draw in Hellboy is the action scenes, and there are many. All of them work well, even if they aren't terribly original. We've seen big, slimy monsters duking it out with heroes before. At least the scenes in "Hellboy" are well-directed and feature decent special effects. There's also an uber-cool blade-wielding eyelid-less guy who provides a lot of cool scenes in the movie.

Anyone who likes comic book movies and/or is looking to gear up for the release of "Spider-man 2" in a few months will get a lot of enjoyment out of "Hellboy." Anyone looking for a thoughtful or original film should go see "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind."

As long as you know you're going to see this movie to watch a big red guy kick ass, you'll enjoy it. **1/2 out of 4. 

[--- See Now! ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberApr 12, 2004

"Hellboy" is got to be one of the best movies that is adapted from a comic book. Ron Perlman plays the tile role of "Hellboy" who smokes cigars and throws one-liners. He is part of a orginzation that fights evil, real evil. Not the ones that rob banks.This is a smart move that is exciting and intersting. A romantic sub-plot between Hellboy and Selma Blair that didn't get a bit boring. The villians are intresting and the threats of destorying the world is scary. "Hellboy" is one of the best movies of the year because of plot development, but this film can both entertain us and surprise us. Very few movies do these days. 

[--- Good ---]by Moovy Apr 18, 2004

The feeling that I got while watching this movie, was that "X-Men" 1 and 2 had a long shadow cast over it that affected it's freshness and likeability. Hellboy felt like X Men, too much to be an original film experience. Hellboy is finely played by Ron Perlman, and he certainly steals the show, which should go without saying anyway. The bad guy that Hellboy fights is pretty 2nd rate, which affects this movie negatively. If there's a sequel, he should be fighting a monster more like himself. 

[--- Good ---]by Scott Jentsch VIP MemberAug 31, 2004

I've never read the comic book, but I didn't feel like I had to in order to enjoy the movie.

Comic book movies can be pretty unfulfilling if you're not in that mindset, but I found Hellboy to be enjoyable due to Ron Perlman's take on his character. He never takes his role too seriously, but the humor doesn't go so overboard as to be annoying.

As long as you don't expect too much, this movie is entertaining and enjoyable. The sound is very good, and the effects are equal to the task. 




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.