The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, September 19th, 2003

Directed by Sofia Coppola
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 1:45

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
Lost in Translation
Academy Award® Winner
A tale concerning two Americans, who meet in Tokyo: one is a washed-up TV star, in town for a TV whiskey commercial shoot, and the other is the very young wife of a photographer. They both end up...  View more >

R
some sexual content

Starring Bill Murray, Scarlett Johansson, Anna Faris...  View more >

Academy Award® Winner for Best Writing (Original Screenplay)

Academy Award Nominee for Best Picture, Actor (Bill Murray), Directing
View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  3 43 See Now! Percent
Good  1 14 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  2 29 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  1 14 Stay Away! Percent
7 Total Reviews

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Lost in Translation.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by VIP MemberOct 8, 2003
"Lost in Translation" is one of the best movies that I saw this year. Bill Murray gave an outstanding performance as an American who achieve celebrity statues in Japan. He does wine commerical and his face can be seen everywhere in Japan. But Murray has his own concerns, not with the custons in Japan, but in communicating with his family back in the states. Another American who entered the scene is played by Scarlett Johannsson in a star-making performance, played an American who is Murray's love intrest. The film is directed by Sofia Coppla, whose is already becoming a cinematic genius. She is following the footsteps of his father Francis Ford Coppla. "Lost in Translation" is a one-of-a-kind movie. A joy to behold.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Oct 11, 2003
Bill Murray is awesome. Great cinematography. So far, best film of the year.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Oct 23, 2003
Time for someone to tell you the truth about this movie. Its success is largely due to the huge amount of spin-doctoring for Sophia Copolla. This movie is not hilarious as so many of the reviews indicate. Bill Murray's perfomance is outstanding, but it's largely a reprise of his role in Rushmore. Scarlette Johansson's performance is as annoying as her misguided character.

The funniest moments of the film come when Murray is confronted with the strangeness of the Japanese culture. We've seen that done before. The concept of a love relationship between these two is absurd. It's not father-daughter, it's more like grandfather-daughter.

The movie takes forever to go just about nowhere. Ignore the spin-doctored reviews that are only giving a nod to Sophia Copolla's nepitism, this is a very average movie and at the end of the day rather boring.
[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Feb 5, 2004
This is not an enjoyable movie. I had high hopes. But when all is said and done, this $3million success doesn't have much of anything, except for Bill Murry, and he can't save this. I do believe my time would have been better spent doing other things, like showering.
[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberJul 29, 2004
This movie is not for the impatient audience. The performances are very good, and the underlying theme is worthy of exploration, but the pacing can be difficult to take, especially in the first half of the movie.

For example, 40 minutes into the 105 minute movie, we're still watching the main characters bored out of their skulls in their hotel rooms and around Tokyo. Maybe it's the caffeinated, drive-through, get-on-with-it society we live in, but that's much too long since we got the point about 20 minutes earlier.

As I said, though, the performances are great. Bill Murray deserved the Oscar for his turn as an actor with a going-nowhere career and a dull home life while still keeping some level of a sense of humor and sanity in the process.

Scarlett Johansson lights up the screen, both with her presence and her performance. I'll have to look up some of her other films on Netflix and give them a try, as she did an excellent job (easily equal to Murray's).

This is one of those movies that does better on DVD because you can gain a greater appreciation for it by watching some of the extras. Here is an opportunity for the principles in the movie (director, etc.) to explain what they were trying to achieve and hope that we all get from it. Perhaps with multiple viewings, a greater appreciation of the slow pacing can be had.
[--- See Now! ---]by  May 27, 2012
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Oct 13, 2012



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.