The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Wednesday, November 10th, 2004

Directed by Robert Zemeckis
Genre: Family
Running Time: 1:40

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
The Polar Express
Academy Award® Nominee
Tom Hanks and director Robert Zemeckis (Forrest Gump, Cast Away) reunite for an inspiring adventure based on the beloved children's book by Chris Van Allsburg. When a doubting young boy takes an...  View more >

G

Starring Tom Hanks, Nona Gaye, Peter Scolari...  View more >

Academy Award® Nominations
Music (Song)
Sound Editing
Sound Mixing

Check out View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  7 88 See Now! Percent
Good  0 0 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  0 0 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  1 13 Stay Away! Percent
8 Total Reviews

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The Polar Express.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by   Nov 12, 2004
I am a reading specialist and a big fan of Chris Van Allsberg, so I was curious as to how this heart-warming Christmas tale would resonate on the silver screen. The movie was exciting and the artwork of the animation did justice to the artistic and literary talents of Van Allsberg. This is a holiday must for mom, dad and the kids.

Be sure to check the book out at your local library and recreate the magic with the kids at home in form of a snuggly bedtime story. Better yet, someone tell St. Nick to consider a copy of Polar Express (the book) for every child's stocking!
[--- See Now! ---]by   Nov 13, 2004
[--- See Now! ---]by   Nov 14, 2004
Do you believe? This is one of the best animated Christmas stories I have seen. It is great for the whole family.
[--- See Now! ---]by VIP Member Dec 8, 2004
"The Polar Express" is one of the best films ever made about Christmas. The computer animated film tells the story of a young boy who journey to the North Pole with the help of the conductor, with the voice of Tom Hanks.

The animation is beautiful from the emotions of the children to drifting of the snow. Adults shouldn't ber scared off by the G rating. The film's entertaining for the adults as well as kids. It is a beautiful film to be cherish. I love this film and I hope you'll love this movie just as much as I have.
[--- See Now! ---]by   Dec 10, 2004
I thought this movie was very good.
The graphics are great. They make you feel your on a roller coaster ride.

The tone of the movie is not as light hearted as most Christmas movies.
[--- Stay Away! ---]by   Dec 21, 2004
This movie was an assault on reason. The viewer is supposed to acknowledge that observation and logic (i.e. science) aren't the only means to knowledge. Sometimes you just have to have faith, then something becomes. So if some young, intelligent and curious child goes to see this movie, they'll get one more message from our culture that their mind is useless. I can almost see the curiosity and excitement about the world dissolving.

My sympathies to any child whose parent(s) want them to learn this lesson.
[--- See Now! ---]by   Dec 30, 2004
[--- See Now! ---]by   Dec 31, 2004
This was an excellent movie! I felt like a kid again watching it with my children! I loved that it could make you believe again ;-) Excellent effects, great story! I recommend it to everyone! It will be an awesome addition to our video collection!



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.