The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Saturday, December 25th, 2004

Directed by Wes Anderson
Genre: Comedy
Running Time: 1:58

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou
Internationally famous oceanographer Steve Zissou and his crew--Team Zissou--set sail on an expedition to hunt down the mysterious, elusive, possibly non-existant Jaguar Shark that killed Zissou's...  View more >

R
language, some drug use, violence and partial nudity

Starring Bill Murray, Owen Wilson, Anjelica Huston...  View more >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  2 29 See Now! Percent
Good  1 14 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  3 43 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  1 14 Stay Away! Percent
7 Total Reviews

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Dec 29, 2004
This film will probably win the Can film festival award. I've never like any of those and I didn't like this film either. It says comedy, it isn't! Pink Panther was dumb but at least it made you laugh. This film is just plain dumb. Bill Murray's days of SNL, Strips are gone forever and this film proves it.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Jan 1, 2005
I was looking for something fun to see, a comedy - even a dark comedy, but this movie was a bit more melancholy and depressing than it was funny. It had it's moments, but Bill Murry's character seemed too weighted down in misery to make this a light-hearted movie.

A bit slow, and wandering, with a romantic potential that held little interest. I enjoyed the few special effects of computer animated sea-life and wish they'd spent more time on that than some of the flat relationship scenes. If you enjoy Bill Murray, you should eventually see this flick, but you might want to wait for the DVD rental.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Jan 1, 2005
All the really good moments were in the trailer.

It's possible that there's a level of brilliance here that went way over my head. If there was, it wasn't well done.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by VIP MemberJan 13, 2005
Bill Murray is good, but "The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou" has low energy. I had a mixed decision on this film and I can't recommend the film. It could be more funny and charming, but it ran out of stream.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Feb 1, 2005
Wow. I just saw all the other reader reviews here and am apalled that nobody seemed to like this movie. I found it to be very, very funny. The entire cast is absolutely incredible. Bill Murray is a master of the subtle, wry wit that directer Wes Anderson uses in his films. Owen Wilson is very endearing and has great onscreen chemistry with Bill Murray. It was great to see him tackling some tough material after fluff like "Starsky & Hutch". Cate Blanchett is better here than she was in "The Aviator", and she has great chemistry with both Murray and Wilson. Willem Dafoe gives by far the funniest performance in the film (and one of the funniest of the year) as the German first mate Klaus.

I very rarely come near tears in a movie. Crying just doesn't happen to me. It's only happened twice: once for the sheer beauty of LOTR, and in "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind". But one of the final scenes -- the one in the submersible -- got to me. The bizarre special effects -- brought to life by the animator behind "The Nightmare Before Christmas" -- are haunting and the scene itself is incredibly touching.

Wes Anderson also has the distinction of putting in his film the most effectice death scene I've seen in along time. I won't ruin it for anyone, but the director doesn't use any tricks like swelling music or overdramatic shouting (NO! GOD NO!!!). He simply lets the scene be what it is without monkeying with it, and it is all at once surprising, subtle, and deeply tragic all at the same time.

So while I can understand how people can say the movie drags on (the whole pirate subplot seems to go on for too long, and the movie should have been around fifteen minutes shorter) so did the "comedy classic" of the Hollywood season, "Meet the Fockers". For anyone looking for a movie that provides lots of laughs, great characters, a great cast, and just something a little different than the average Hollywood fluff, "Life Aquatic" is your ticket. **** out of four, and one of my top five of 2004.
[--- Good ---]by  Apr 16, 2005
[--- See Now! ---]by  May 27, 2012

Reader VoiceMake Your Voice Heard!

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou.




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.