The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now


Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, July 30th, 2004

Directed by Jonathan Demme

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
The Manchurian Candidate
A psychological thriller in which a career soldier grows suspicious about his experiences in Desert Storm after a squad sergeant, and son of a powerful senator, becomes a candidate for Vice President.  View more >

R
violence and some language

Starring Denzel Washington, Meryl Streep, Liev Schreiber...  View more >

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The Manchurian Candidate.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by breeze Jul 28, 2004

action packed enjoyed very much 

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by Ron Higgins VIP MemberAug 3, 2004

Toss up between Stay Away and Wait for Rental.

While it's not an awful film, I would not recommend it to anyone I know.

Film goes on way too long about nothing in particular. There isn't any real suspense and many questions are left completely unaddressed. I haven't seen the original, so I cannot compare it to that. On it's own, I didn't care for it. 

[--- Good ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberAug 4, 2004

Denzel Washington stars in this remake of the 1962 thriller by director John Frankenheimer, only this time the real enemy is cooporative greed not communist China. Washington is out to stop an assassination. Althought the 2004 version isn't as good as the 1962 thriller (believe me I saw both version) making comparison between the two is fun indeed. Especially Meryl Streep in the villian role. She comes off as very sexy, in other words she is hot. Liev Schreiber deserves an Oscar nomination. He nearly dominated the film. 

[--- Good ---]by Tom K Aug 6, 2004

This would be an awesome film if you have no clue what it is about. I felt it was too predictable, but that may be because I saw the original. 

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by Grey Ghost Aug 7, 2004

Not a bad movie, jut not as good as the original. Guess I expected maybe something new added. 

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by spiritvox Aug 18, 2004

...or at least do not pay full ticket price. 

[--- Good ---]by Selena Sep 17, 2004



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.