The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, July 30th, 2004

Directed by Jonathan Demme
Genre: Action
Running Time: 2:10

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
The Manchurian Candidate
A psychological thriller in which a career soldier grows suspicious about his experiences in Desert Storm after a squad sergeant, and son of a powerful senator, becomes a candidate for Vice President.  View more >

R
violence and some language

Starring Denzel Washington, Meryl Streep, Liev Schreiber...  View more >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  1 14 See Now! Percent
Good  3 43 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  3 43 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  0 0 Stay Away! Percent
7 Total Reviews

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The Manchurian Candidate.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by  Jul 28, 2004
action packed enjoyed very much
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by VIP MemberAug 3, 2004
Toss up between Stay Away and Wait for Rental.

While it's not an awful film, I would not recommend it to anyone I know.

Film goes on way too long about nothing in particular. There isn't any real suspense and many questions are left completely unaddressed. I haven't seen the original, so I cannot compare it to that. On it's own, I didn't care for it.
[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberAug 4, 2004
Denzel Washington stars in this remake of the 1962 thriller by director John Frankenheimer, only this time the real enemy is cooporative greed not communist China. Washington is out to stop an assassination. Althought the 2004 version isn't as good as the 1962 thriller (believe me I saw both version) making comparison between the two is fun indeed. Especially Meryl Streep in the villian role. She comes off as very sexy, in other words she is hot. Liev Schreiber deserves an Oscar nomination. He nearly dominated the film.
[--- Good ---]by  Aug 6, 2004
This would be an awesome film if you have no clue what it is about. I felt it was too predictable, but that may be because I saw the original.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Aug 7, 2004
Not a bad movie, jut not as good as the original. Guess I expected maybe something new added.
[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Aug 18, 2004
...or at least do not pay full ticket price.
[--- Good ---]by  Sep 17, 2004



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.