The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now


Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, December 9th, 2005

Directed by Andrew Adamson

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
Academy Award® Winner
Four children find a magic wardrobe that transports them to the mystical world of Narnia, a once peaceful land of talking beasts, dwarfs and giants. However, Narnia has been frozen by the evil White...  View more >

PG
battle sequences and frightening moments

Starring Tilda Swinton, Rupert Everett, Dawn French...  View more >

Based on the story by C.S. Lewis, and is the second part of the series.

Oscar Winner for Achievement in Makeup

Oscar-nominated...
View more information about this movie >


Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- See Now! ---]by Richard Nov 29, 2005

A masterpiece brought to the screen, simply awesome !!! 

[--- See Now! ---]by Sinamax Dec 10, 2005
[--- See Now! ---]by The Reviewer Dec 10, 2005

Excellent movie! Special effects were a little fake. This film follows the book very closely. Any one who loved the book will love the movie. For those who never read the book: This movie is still awesome! I wouldn't recommend this film to kids that are 4 and under because there is quite a bit of violence. But, if your kids have already seen star wars then this movie shouldn't be a problem. This film is a classic and is awesome to see on the big screen! 

[--- See Now! ---]by gman Dec 27, 2005

This is one review that I have really been looking forward to writing. Itís seldom that I enjoy a movieÖany movie, as much as I enjoyed this one. From beginning to end the whole experience was nothing magical.

Yes, I have read the C. S. Lewis classic which Iím sure contributed to my enjoyment but I have to say, even had I not, this would have been one wonderful movie going experience. I attended with my wife and two grown kids and the verdict was unanimous. This has to be one of the, if not the, best movie of the year.

What is remarkable about it is that there are so many levels that it can be enjoyed on. Weaved within the fabric of this marvel is a decidedly Christian message that will be sure to touch the hearts of many who enjoy the ride. With that said though, it must be pointed out that it is not necessary to understand all of the Christian metaphors, symbols and allegory to still enjoy the movie.

Purely as a fantasy adventure it spins an enthralling story that will be sure to entertain anyone who truly loves a masterfully made flick. The performances are superb. The cinematography is remarkable and the special effects and characters are just plain fun. Do yourself a favorÖsee this movie on the big screen. You wonít regret it. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Bernard Dec 27, 2005

An outstanding movie that should be seen in on the big screen to appreciate. This is well worth the admission price, and I don't say that too often..... 

[--- See Now! ---]by Steve Dec 28, 2005

An amazing film for people who have read the books. The visual effects are flawless. Might be hard to follow for people not familiar with the topic. I cannot wait for the next one! 

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by Tom K Dec 31, 2005

Alongside Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings, this is definitely a second rate fantasy film. Children will probably enjoy this more than adults will. 

[--- Good ---]by George Jobson VIP MemberJan 12, 2006

A fine adaption of C.S. Lewis novel about a group of kids who traveled to Narnia to help the Lion liberate Narnia is very good. I follow the story easily because I saw a television version of the same story on PBS many years ago.the special effects are terrific and I like the film alot. Not enough for a strong recommendation, but I like it enough for a Good rating. 

[--- Good ---]by The Jake Jan 17, 2006

"The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe" is a movie that CS Lewis never wanted to be made, and it's easy to see why. What comes across as fantastical and thrilling on the page ends up looking pretty silly onscreen. Twelve-year-olds wearing chain mail, riding horses, and slaying monsters just doesn't look right.

However, the first two acts of "Narnia" are very well-done. The film builds a mystery around the wardrobe before all of the children fall in, and from there it's a thrilling chase as three of the children race the minons of the evil White Witch to try to save their wayward brother Edmund. Once Edmund has been redeemed and the movie gets hot and heavy into the Christian allegory, it fails pretty miserably. It seems that the director (and probably the studio) really wanted to be making "Lord of the Rings Part 4" but had to settle for this, and the result is a pale imitation of a better film franchise for the final third.

The special effects are a mixed bag. Some of the creatures look great, but Aslan looks goofy and there's one shot of some giants that looks like something off an early '90's TV movie. The acting is good, especially the young actress who plays lucy and Tilda Swinton as the White Witch.
Go into this movie expecting "Lord of the Rings" and you'll be disappointed. Go in expecting a decent action-adventure and you'll enjoy it. But if you haven't seen "King Kong" or "Goblet of Fire" yet, I'd reccomend either of those before this for your fantasy fix. Just don't try to read the religious allegory into it, or you might realize that "Narnia" can easily be interpreted as being ten times more anti-Semitic than "The Passion of the Christ" could ever hope to be. **1/2 stars out of four.

For those interested, here are my top 5 movies of 2005.
1. King Kong - A flawed film to be sure, but so breathtakingly gorgeous and thrilling that the flaws don't matter. Peter Jackson continues to do the one thing no other director in Hollywood can figure out to do: he shows us things we've never seen before.
2. Batman Begins - A brilliant adaptation of the comic book, borrowing liberally from many different sources and taking the hard-edged, badass, Frank Miller approach to Batman. The best comic-book adaptation ever made.
3. Serenity - The most fun I had in a theater all year, to be sure. A fan of the series, I was devestated to see this flop in the theater. Do yourself a favor: rent it at your local video place. You don't need to be familiar with the series to have a great time with the best sci-fi extrvaganza since "The Empire Strikes Back".
4. Munich - Spielberg's most mature and ultimately most moving film, he doesn't ever get bogged down in sentimentality like in "Schindler's List" or flag-waving patriotism like in "Saving Private Ryan". He tells the story of one man's struggle between doing what is right for his country and doing what is right for all of humanity. Thrilling, heartrending, brilliantly acted.
5. Sin City - The most visually stunning movie ever made. Period. That alone gives it a special place in my heart. "Sin City" is a film noir explosion - it packs every element of that old genre into one movie and then blows it up with ten tons of dynamite, and the result is a heart-pumping ride that will disgust the weak-stomached and politically correct but thrill everyone else. 

[--- Good ---]by ziger123 Jan 30, 2006

I, 12 year old son and 14 year old daughter liked it. They've read the books, I have not. They said it falls short of the books like so many movies do, but we all enjoyed it. 

[--- Good ---]by CRoessger Feb 3, 2006

Good movie for the family. 

[--- See Now! ---]by Oddbit Feb 11, 2006



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.