Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
X-Men: The Last Stand
A "cure" for mutancy threatens to alter the course of history. For the first time, mutants have a choice: retain their uniqueness, though it isolates and alienates them, or give up their powers and...  View more >

Starring Hugh Jackman, Patrick Stewart, Ian McKellen...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

May 27, 2006
WOW, what a good movie. I want to say what a great end to the X-Men series, but I am not so sure that this is the last one. If you enjoy any of the X-Men movies, you MUST see this one. This movie has some great new characters introduced and a lot of twists and surprises. A definate MUST SEE NOW!
May 28, 2006
May 28, 2006
This was a very good X-men movie only proving that the x men movies just keep getting better and better this is a must see and must own when it comes out on DVD this series should conintue for years to come
May 30, 2006
If you liked the previous X-Men movies, then you will most likely be pleased with this latest installment. We see familiar characters, a few new ones, and quite a bit of mutant-on-mutant battle scenes.

The story picks up on plot lines from X-Men 2, so if you haven't seen it in a while, you may want to pop it in the DVD player before you see this one. They don't do much hand-holding or flashbacks to bring you up to speed, so a familiarity with previous events will be helpful.

The plot is very weak and full of plot holes so large you could drive a large truck through them, but I wasn't in it for the plot. I expected that, so it wasn't a problem for me. My primary interest was watching what they did with the mutant capabilities and how each used their talents for good or evil.

There is the now-obligatory destruction of a familiar landmark that must be on an action movie checklist somewhere, but if you think about it at all, you realize that there was no real need for doing so except for the fact that the CG guys probably thought it would be cool to do, and the director must have agreed.

Staying through the end credits will provide an additional scene that may or may not affect your enjoyment of the movie. I typically stay through the credits of all the movies I see, and I'm usually one of the only people to do so. Word must have spread about this additional scene, as about a third of the audience stayed through the end credits to watch it. Personally, I don't think it helped the movie any and probably weakened the impact of an earlier scene and the plot line of the X-Men series.

If you like the X-Men movies and characters, this movie is worth watching. If you're unfamiliar with the series, see at least one of the first two movies to determine whether it's something that appeals to you. If you're looking for a smart and edgy action movie based on a comic book character, rent last year's Batman Begins.
May 30, 2006
SEEEEEEEE NOOOOOWWWWW!!!!!!!!!!!
Jun 1, 2006
Awesome film. I rate this at least as high as the other two X-men movies.
Jun 2, 2006
Awesome action, fun, a little sad. I really liked this movie. I like how they built up Jean as such a major character. I want to go see this movie again. One downside is that it was a little short, it could have been like twenty minutes longer. But it was still awesome from start to finish.
Jun 3, 2006
The best X-Men film yet. Stan Lee created the X-Men way back in 1963, at the time of Civil Rights movement, as it changed to a new direction.Lee knows where the wind blows in the political world. The first movie is good, the second is better and the third is even better. The film is the cloest to Stan Lee's vision of how this comic should be done. "The X-Men" is my favorite comic. I read it along with my other comics from 1972-1987. when I had to give it up, I had to give up "The X-Men." My only regent is giving up on the X-Men. It has action. It has story. It has all the excitment. Something "Mission Impossible III" doesn't have. It has an incredible cast and stuff you rememberd from reading the comic series. People who read the series will love the movie, even people who never pick up an X-Men comic will like it as well.
Jun 3, 2006
this is 1 of those movies that u have 2 c in theatres 2 get full effect
Jun 8, 2006
With the exception of not having enough time to do more origins and a few unimportant Mutants this movie is great!!
Jun 10, 2006
See it while it is on the big screen.
Jun 11, 2006
I hesitated to say "Wait for rental" here because honestly, this sort of spectacle works best on the big screen, but it's really not worth shelling out 10 bucks. It seems that when Fox chose the new screenwriter and director for the 3rd film in the X-men franchise, they chose to downgrade drastically. What we're left with feels perfunctory: the last film made a lot of money and ended with a cliffhanger, so let's make a sequel!

The story has a lot of potential: there's a cure for mutation, some want it, others don't, some are willing to kill to ensure that no one gets it. The problem here is that, for some unfathomable reason, in the age of 2 1/2 hour Da Vinci Codes that go on forever (and ever and ever and ever), this flick is considerably less than two hours long. Tons of new mutants are introduced and killed off, and we don't care because they have maybe 30 seconds of screen time each. Even Angel, who looked so promising in the previews, is entirely pointless here. In fact, not one of the new mutants, save Kitty, should have been included. They're pointless.

It's not just the new characters that suffer. Wolverine feels like a parody of Wolverine from the first two movies. Rogue has a huge emotional crisis in this film that has about five minutes of screentime: we're not given enough time to care. Majo characters are dispatched, we should be sobbing in our seats, and it's all too easy to shrug it off. Even the whole Dark Phoenix subplot, so tragic and emotionally charged in the comics, is used here as an excuse for cool special effects.

This movie had huge potential. It should, however, have been at least forty minutes longer, so we'd actually care about what was going on. In a time when nearly every comic book is being adapted to a movie, and every one of those movies has to be compared to the likes of Batman Begins, X2, and the Spider-man films, X3 just doesn't cut it. As an end to a trilogy, sure it wraps things up, but not in any satisfying way, because by the time we get to the end we don't care anymore. Cool action scenes, cool special effects, but precious little else to make this film worthwhile. A huge disappointment. * 1/2 out of 4.
Jun 15, 2006
This is a sswweeeeeettttt movie!
See the sequels first!~
It will Help!!!
See it now!!!
Jun 19, 2006
One of the worst movies of this year. It ranks in with the HULK, catwomen (holly barry), dare devil. I mean what did the writers think they were doing???

Now I wonder why Brian Singer and his writers left, not just to make the superman movie, (could of been a cover up) because the company that has the right to the movie didnt want to make a good movie with a good story and brian and company didn't to be responsible making horrible movie, but any how can the writers destroy the story so bad???

Actions was pretty cool, but the rest of the movie sucked big time, especially if your a fan of the comic. I read that Avi arad was a producer and i'm shocked he let this happened. They messed up the franchise and future X-Men movie they might make. I won't see any other X-Men related movie unless if Brian directes and writes it. The only reason the movie did good because everyone expected to be the best compared to the last 2.

The writers should be banned for writing this crap and shouldn't write again, especially for a comic to movie. One word DISGUSTING!!!
Jun 23, 2006
Jun 28, 2006
Jul 4, 2006
Aug 7, 2006
Aug 21, 2006

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for X-Men: The Last Stand.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2017, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook