Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
Academy Award® Nominee
Five lucky children from different parts of the world win a tour of Willy Wonka's Chocolate Factory when they each find one of five golden tickets hidden in Willy Wonka Chocolate Bars...

Starring Johnny Depp, Freddie Highmore, Helena Bonham Carter...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Jul 16, 2005
Great movie, Jonny Depp was awsome!!!!!
Jul 16, 2005
Wow, our entire family was swept up into this film; it was very well done. We had loved the Willy Wonka movie from the 70's, and weren't sure why a remake was necessary, but this movie was even better--closer to the Dahl storyline, great special effects, and superb acting and casting. Extremely entertaining; fun music, and Depp to boot--his character reminded me of Edward Scissorhands crossed with a little Mr. Rogers--innocent yet a little creepy--very interesting and funny!
Jul 18, 2005
It was strange, Depp was weird. The kids loved it and I thought it was good, not a must see for me. They've seen it twice and want to see it again.
Jul 22, 2005
this is sure to become a classic. depp outdoes himself. well done, closer to the Dahl book than the original, and thoroughly enjoyable.
Jul 23, 2005
I thought there was only one scene that surpassed the original. See that one instead.
Jul 27, 2005
This is NOT your fathers "Willy Wonka"!!

Burton has pulled off another masterpiece of imagination. Depp's Wonka is much different than the (underrated) original played by Gene Wilder some 30-years ago. But what comes forth is a brilliant performance by a genuinely talented actor. This movie version of Roald Dahl's book stays truer to original work, yet differs just enough to where you're not sure where you'll be taken next. I did find the musical numbers by Deep Roy's army of Oompa Loompa's rather taxing on my patience (especially by the third one), but it did not detract from a most entertaining experience.

A must see for anyone who still loves candy!!
Jul 30, 2005
Very well done, good for all the family
Aug 3, 2005
"Charlie & the Chocolate Factory" is the 21st Century remake of the 1971 movie starring Gene Wilder. But this version is better, but darker than the 1971 version and close to the orginal novel. Johnny Depp's version of Willy Wonka is werider and funnier. In others words, Depp gave another memorable performance. Depp can adapted into his character very well. Director Tim Burton has kept this version closer to the book. the 1971 version has Wonka viewed as a businessman, the new version has painted a Wonka as a demented loner. You can compare the two movies as you like, but it was the 2005 Tim Burton version that is better.
Sep 3, 2005
Liked it but didn't love it as I do Willy Wonka's version. Glad I saw it. Johnny Depp did a good job.
Sep 30, 2005
Better than I thought It would be. If you are a Burton fan, you will enjoy it.
Oct 7, 2005
I liked it better than the original! It was nice how it stuck closer to the book
Nov 23, 2005
Dec 10, 2005
I really didn't want to see this movie when it came out. It looked weird, and even though I'm a Johnny Depp fan, he looked totally creepy. So, when it came to the Budget theatre, I went to see it (grudgingly) with one of my friends because there wasn't anything better playing.

But wow, was I wrong! Within the first few sequences of the movie I was completely sucked in, totally enthralled. This movie far surpassed what I had expected, and though I am a fan of the original, I'd say this one is better! I saw it twice in the theatre and bought it on DVD as soon as it came out! I truly love this version, I can't believe I almost refused to see it! Johnny Depp is brilliant as usual...I haven't been this pumped up about one of his perfomances since Pirates of the Caribbean! Definitely see this movie, you and your kids will love it!
Jun 6, 2006
I loved this movie!!! it was better then the oringinal!

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2017, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook