Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now
Movie Poster
View Photo Gallery

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Patriots Day
In the aftermath of the 2013 Boston Marathon bombing, Police Sergeant Tommy Saunders joins courageous survivors, first responders and investigators in a race against the clock to hunt down the...  View more >

Starring Mark Wahlberg, John Goodman, Kevin Bacon...  View more >

Add Movie to Favorites

Seen It?

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Reviews Summary


Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

Jan 12, 2017
A stunning film about a recent event in U.S. history. Near perfectly filmed and written, with amazing performances by all involved. Emotional scenes were heart-wrenching. Intense scenes had the entire audience holding their breaths in anticipation. Director Peter Berg delivers yet again.
Jan 18, 2017
Jan 18, 2017
Jan 20, 2017
Patriots Day is a compelling recount of the events in 2013 surrounding the bombing of the Boston Marathon by two brothers, the efforts of law enforcement to investigate and find the perpetrators, and their eventual capture.

The movie works largely as a police procedural drama, but added depth is provided by the movie's look into the lives of some of the people involved. This is where the real strength of the movie comes in.

I would say that biggest weakness is the use of Mark Wahlberg's character to provide an amalgamation of several people involved in the investigation. Instead of allowing this to be an ensemble piece, we're given Wahlberg's Tommy Saunders as the central character that takes us from beginning to end. Perhaps it helps to move the story along and provides focus, but given the other cast members (including John Goodman, Kevin Bacon, J.K. Simmons) on the law enforcement side, I wonder what the movie would have been like without his character. He does serve to illustrate the personal impact on those in law enforcement during this incident, so it's difficult to complain too much.

I wasn't all that interested in seeing this movie going into it, but I must say that I am glad that I did. It's worth watching, and better than the marketing makes it out to be.
Jan 24, 2017
The question that I asked while seeing "Patriot's day, is is that too soon after the horrible events of April 15, 2013. I may have ask the same question about the film "Zero Dark Thirty." But like Zero, that movie has come off as powerful. I can recall the events after I hurried home to my TV after hearing on the radio. The first thing I did was turn in MSNBC to see what happened in Boston. "Patriot'
Day" recalled the events in Boston and the attempt of police and the FBI to track down the people that was responsible for what happen. Mark Wahlberg may have played a fictional character in the movie, but he gave such a strong performance, making him the biggest presence in the movie. If those who has sit though the news coverage of the bombing, Even you watch the coverage on those all news network, you get something out of it, But sitting though this movie, you will have a clear understanding of how the people of Boston went though on that horrible week. yes, what happened in Boston is terrible, but it also shows the people of the city who made a strong defiance over tragedy. And this movie shows city pride though the horrible events on April 15, 2013.
Feb 15, 2017
This movie was so good. At first I thought I was going to see a movie about what I saw on the news on TV but it seem to start off that way. Was a well done movie - so good.

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for Patriots Day.




New Movies - Box Office - Favorite Movies - All Movies
Coming Soon - Search



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2017, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Find Us on Facebook