The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, January 20th, 2006

Directed by Terrence Malick
Genre: Action/Adventure
Running Time: 2:30

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
The New World
Academy Award® Nominee
Inspired by the legend of John Smith and Pocahontas, this classic story is transformed into a exploration of love, loss and discovery, both a celebration and an elegy of the America that was--and the...  View more >

PG-13
some intense battle sequences

Starring Colin Farrell, Q'Orianka Kilcher, Christian Bale...  View more >

Oscar-nominated for Achievement in Cinematography

2006-01-13: Wide release changed to 1/20/2006
2005-12-14: Photos added to Photo...
View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  1 20 See Now! Percent
Good  1 20 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  0 0 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  3 60 Stay Away! Percent
5 Total Reviews

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Jan 23, 2006
Poca-hocus-pocus!

The New World is one to avoid. Somewhere in the midst of pensive looks, voice-overs, and wind-blown foilage I think there is a story. The trouble with finding it is the changing point of view in the film. The beginning of the movie with its cacauphonous sound-track is a foreshadow of the confusing visuals to come. First we seem to think this is a story about John Smith...later, he disappears and Rebekah takes over...then, Christian Bale takes over act III. Who's movie is it anyway.

Only once did the filmmaker elicit an emotional response from me, that being when Pocahontus saves the Jamestown colony from certain starvation in a brutal winter. But, that brief emotional spark is quickly doused as the filmmaker recovers from his momentary digression into story and entertainment.

This movie seemed more a case of a filmmaker attempting to utilize every device in the same movie at the loss of continuity and cohesion: voice-overs every so often from whomever, change of point of view every 30 minutes, and long scenery shots followed by quick-cut action perspectives.

I thoroughly enjoyed the sound-effects throughout the movie, but was crushed when as the movie finished, I realized the sounds of crickets weren't part of the movie, but rather coming from the audience.
Kennyj
[--- See Now! ---]by  Feb 3, 2006
[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Feb 4, 2006
I must thank Terrence Malick and Sarah Green for producing and directing this remarkably effective cure for insomnia. I can’t remember the last time I got two and a half hours of uninterrupted sleep. I would like to also nominate these two for an Academy Award for being the most thoughtful and considerate. Picture this…the credits roll and all that can be heard are crickets. Kind of summed up the whole movie, but I thought…how nice, they didn’t want to do anything to wake up the audience.

Oh, and a special thanks to the featured critic. All questions aside about who may have paid you off, I am grateful for your praise of this movie. I’ll not name names, but Mr. B…without your three out of four stars I may never have gotten all that badly needed sleep.

Also, I’d like to thank my wife for nudging me when I snore, although, I’m told by those who managed somehow to stay awake that I wasn’t the only one.

Yawwwwwnnnnnnnn….Is it over?
[--- Stay Away! ---]by VIP MemberMar 1, 2006
This movie is the best sleeping aid I can think of. Buy the DVD and play it before you go to bed. Rest assured, at no time will the director ever disturb your slumber. If there is something like a war or throwing a table that might wake you up, don't worry: the director will mute the sound and place a pedantic dialog over the top to soooothe you to sleep. There is no exciting story to distract you from your trip to sleepyland either, so don't worry about getting engaged. The official reviewer says it requires "patience", but do not let him fool you: there is nothing to wait for, if you wait the entire flick, you'll realize there was nothing to wait for.

Let me put it another way. The official reviewer gave it three out of four stars. It is up for an Academy Award. Look at history (for both of them) and tell me... is it going to be a good movie, or worshipped because it is so uniquely /bad/?

Hey, don't say we didn't warn you.
[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberApr 10, 2006
"The New World" is a beautiful motion picture about the retelling of the story of Pocahontas in a different way. I don't want to compare this movie with the Disney version ten years ago and I won't. This new version tells the story of Pochahontas in a different way. This story is tolf with Pochahontas in the center of the story, not as a supporting player. Q'orlanka Ktlcher gives a strong performance in her first major role. Watch ing this movie is a joy for me, especially watching the performance of Kilcher is the best reason why I'm recommending this film. Director Terrance Malick really puts together this beautiful movie. Also I like the music score. It's too is wonderful.

Reader VoiceMake Your Voice Heard!

How would you rate this movie?
[--- See Now! ---] [--- Good ---] [--- Wait for Rental ---] [--- Stay Away! ---]

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The New World.




Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.