The BigScreen Cinema Guide Now Showing The Marquee Gift Shop Search Help
 
Have an Account? E-Mail Address Passcode
| Register Now

.

Remove ads with our VIP Service
Opened in Theaters: Friday, December 7th, 2007

Directed by Chris Weitz
Genre: Action/Adventure
Running Time: 1:53

Share This Page

Add to FacebookDigg ThisSave to del.icio.usSave to GoogleSubmit to Yahoo
The Golden Compass
Academy Award® Winner
Lyra Belacqua is an orphan who lives happily in Jordan College, Oxford, playing with local boys and terrorizing the professors. However, when Lyra overhears scholars discussing a plot against her...  View more >

PG-13
sequences of fantasy violence

Starring Nicole Kidman, Dakota Blue Richards, Sam Elliott...  View more >

Academy AwardŽ Winner
- Achievement in Visual Effects

Academy AwardŽ Nominee
- Achievement in Art Direction

Based on author Philip Pullman's...
View more information about this movie >

Reviews Summary

Rating # %  
See Now!  2 22 See Now! Percent
Good  4 44 Good Percent
Wait for Rental  1 11 Wait Percent
Stay Away!  2 22 Stay Away! Percent
9 Total Reviews

Looking for more opinions?

Check out our Featured Movie Reviews for The Golden Compass.

Please Note: Reader Reviews are submitted by the readers of The BigScreen Cinema Guide and represent their own personal opinions regarding this movie, and do not represent the views of The BigScreen Cinema Guide, or any of its associated entities.

[--- Wait for Rental ---]by  Dec 9, 2007
[--- Good ---]by VIP MemberDec 13, 2007
"The Goldern Compass" is an exciting adventure about a youg girl with a magic compass who went north to free a bunch of kids who are held against their will. Nicole Kidman is the perfect villioness, Dakota Blue Richards is the perfect heroine. Not as good as the Lord of the Rings movie, but it gets a passing grade. I heard the religious groups are calling for a boycott of the movie. I say, people should not be told what to see by people who did not see the film. Boycotts do not work. the reason for the boycott is simple, they want their names to be mention in the paper. My advice: ignore the boycott and see "The Golden Compass."
[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Dec 14, 2007
[--- Stay Away! ---]by  Dec 31, 2007
[--- Good ---]by  Dec 31, 2007
Would have rated a "see now", but the plot is a bit difficult to follow and there are a couple of holes in it.
[--- Good ---]by  Jan 1, 2008
Well, I saw the movie, and lo and behold, I didn't become an atheist. Wonders never cease. The movie was good too, I have a feeling it would suffer in comparison to the book, but for someone who hasn't read them (yet), it was very entertaining.
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 6, 2008
This movie is very exciting! I love that there are polar bears in it and that they fight, acutally the fighting scene between the polar bears was the best part, it was funny! Anyways, just go and see the movie for yourself! It's worth it, and I can't wait for the next one to come out!!!!
[--- See Now! ---]by  Jan 12, 2008
[--- Good ---]by  Jan 19, 2008
Not wonderful, but not awful either. It was worth sitting through! I'm glad Nicole Kidman was not in it much because I don't like her!



Home - About Us - Ad Info - Feedback
Journal/Blog - The Marquee - Movie Links - News and Events - Now Showing - Reader Reviews
Customize - VIP Service

The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a service of SVJ Designs LLC. All graphics, layout, and structure of this service (unless otherwise specified) are Copyright © 1995-2014, SVJ Designs. The BigScreen Cinema Guide is a trademark of SVJ Designs. All rights reserved.

'ACADEMY AWARDS®' and 'OSCAR®' are the registered trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.